Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Nimble

by Lynx - Compo Entry

Dash through the suburbs, city, and out-lands in search for a tasty treat to bring back to your family.

Beware, not to misstep though, as a mistake will draw too much attention with all those pesky civilians around...maybe give them a good scare while you're at it!

--------------------------
*****RECORD HOLDER!!!!!*****
--------------------------

-City Block-

Bam191: 4.334 **(S S)**

-Suburb's Edge-

Mike Mezhenin 20.528 (Unknown and Unconfirmed yet)

ImTheZiggy: 20.668 (S C)

Bam191: 20.835 **(S S)**


--------------------------
--CONTROLS--
--------------------------

ARROW KEYS: Select correct one to dash to next hiding spot

SPACE: Scare all civilians within range / Restart Level

ENTER: Begin / Select Level

ESC: Exit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#8Graphics4.64
#25Audio4.06
#46Overall3.91
#48Mood3.92
#73Fun3.78
#129Innovation3.61
#263Theme3.70
#294Humor3.11

Comments

RisingPixel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:03am

Very awesome graphics!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:58am

I'll get that S rank on speed one day :D

dustinaux says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:06am

Very nice graphics and great polish! :)

snarf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:07am

Graphics are godlike

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:10am

beautiful game.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:14am

These kinds of key combination racing games are always fun, also both the look of the game and the music is very neat.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:12am

Cleverly done game with nice use of the theme. The art was one of the best I've seen so far, the colours just worked so well together. I've noted this down on my list of favourites so far.

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:34am

Hey, Lynx! Hello, remember you from LD31, my orange theme supporter! ;)
Nice game, as an expected. Good gameplay and graphics, but i want more levels of this ;)
Tried to speedrun levels, its too hard for me
Best for me - A level speed ;) Very interesting!
On this LD now i am created beat-music-game, check! ;)

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:01pm

I like this one! It's very original, and the art and sound are great.

Good thinking with the level select, I think that works well for LD.

At first I thought I had to go when the policeman-looking dudes weren't looking, so I was getting scored badly for speed. But then I figured out they can't do anything to me. I AM ABOVE THE LAW.

Great job.

iossif says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:50pm

i had to play slow to enjoy the awesome soundtrack. need to grab the track from the source.
btw: everything else is very nice as well.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Impressive art style, gameplay is very inovative too, great job.

Jared Sartin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

NICE!

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

I'm not very good at games like this, but I like it a lot. The art and mood are phenomenal.

ladybenko says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Simple and fun idea, well executed!

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Wow, that's super fun. Great job on this guy!

Ulydev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:06am

What could I say ? Your art style is incredible.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Nice graphics very good game :D

superfreak says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:11am

Amazing! LOVE the artstyle and take on the theme would play this for hours with more levels A++ <3

JHM says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:17am

Nice art !!!

Wefiends says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:29am

A fantastic compo entry, really impressive. The art and music were fantastic, as well as the gameplay. Really good job.

gty says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:29am

Great graphics and sound, loved it! (:

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:50am

Beautiful art, really nice music, fun and challenging gameplay, polished game... What is there not to like? :)
I'm always a fun of this kind of rythm/keyboard game (see Promoted, my LD24 entry ^^) so I really enjoyed Nimble.
Great work!

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:25am

such beautiful colors and a great mood! loved the game mechanic.
awesome work!!

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Very pretty, and fun! I wish there were more levels! :D

Maramasa says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Simply awesome!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:10am

Awesome game. Loved the aesthetics. I loved seeing how each object would look when a monster was hidden inside. The two tone color palette gave it a really cool feel. Subtle details like the glowing floating orbs (fireflies or fog?) gave it a nice night feel and ambiance. Awesome game!!!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:15am

Great ambiance,

Aug 28, 2015 @ 2:29am

Amazing game! I really like what you do =)
Also it was nice to chat with you on Twitter!

Thank you for making games!

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:19am

Really cool mechanic! Graphics and soundtrack are also great. My best rating was A-C

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Graphics and audio were outstanding! Fun gameplay

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:17pm

20.528, oh yes.
Cool game. Maybe you should've incorporated the scare in the final result somehow; like, minimum amount of scare required to complete the level?

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Love the art and sounds. The thinking required to process which key is next makes it a nice challenge.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:49pm

The game mechanics are really great and the graphics are top notch. It reminds me of Tap Toads but had a way deeper mood. The scare-people mechanics doesn't feel entirely integrated to the game but it is great fun. Good job!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Hey David here from before,
really cool game, love that the gameplay is so simple & responsive. The art also does a really good job at supporting the theme and fantasy too.
I could totally see this being successful as a mobile game with swiping controls. :)
Cheers,
David

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Great graphics and awesome idea. I loved how smooth it was. Very innovative as well. Could definitely see more!

allinlabs says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:37pm

My goodness this game is good

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:31am

Very solid game, fun mechanics and nice graphical style.

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:55am

This art's really great and the mood is fantastic, I'm just mildly sad that such cool atmosphere was "blown" on what is essentially Guitar Hero without the rhythm. I like it anyway though.

Clurect says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:57am

The music was so jammin' I want more of the music

euske says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:14am

Good atmosphere overall. The graphics and audio is fitting perfectly.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Very fun, and graphically stylish. The music in this entry is incredible, but I think most people aren't going to hear it since it restarts with the level instead of continuing to play. Fantastic work, keep it up!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:45pm

the presentation is really polished, but I found the gameplay to be a little bit shallow and poorly executed in places.
My biggest gripe is that I can't really "queue up" inputs without failing. If I try to press "up" while in the animation to arrive at a "left," the game just fails me because up isn't *technically* the next button in front of my character. In a game whose primary mechanic is a test of player's input speed, it feels a little silly to be penalized for providing inputs too fast.
I also found the scaring mechanic to be a bit clumsy for two reasons. The first is that performing a scare covers up your entire screen for a few frames (which are precious things in a game as quick as this) in an abrupt and awkward fashion, which makes it feel like a generally clunky thing to do. The second problem with scaring is that, when a character is scared, this is only indicated by a fairly subtle change in their animation which is easy to miss when you're trying to read the entire screen at a quick glance. It might help if scared characters were color coded to make it more clear who you have and haven't scared yet.
That aside, this is still a very nice start to a game which could quickly turn into an addictive time-killer with just a bit more attention to detail on the mechanics.

SpringCabal says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:15pm

I liked the graphics and mood felt good combined with the audio, but the gameplay got boring fast. It's too repetitive and I'd get frustrated if I failed, especially late in the sequence. I think some sort of combo mechanics would make it more fun.

Headmade says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:13am

Outstanding visuals! It's a joy to look at.
Though I wish there was more to the game than just quicktime events. It's well made but lacks depth. But maybe that's too much to ask from a Ludum Dare game.

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:02am

Great graphics and audio. The overall presentation is absolutely wonderful. I admit that this game doesn't quite fall under my taste. I struggled a bit with the interface, in that I didn't know the left-most key was what I was supposed to press. In addition, I took me a while to notice that I actually had to be hiding before entering the next key. To me, the latter felt counter to the game I was expecting, which was a game where you type in the keys as fast as possible without error. It feels like it's trying to be rhythmic in that sense, without the timing.

block97 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:36am

Really fun and challenging speedrun game! Great music and clean art style. I really enjoyed this one!

magenta says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:06am

Really nice, bold graphics. Have you played BishiBashi? I think this would suit the trashcan level. Possibly change the rules a bit so it becomes either a rhythm and memory game so the pacing allows us to appreciate the wonderful visuals that's getting skipped at the moment cause you're focusing on the arrows.

zuurr says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:43pm

real pretty to look at and very fun gameplay

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Good idea, good graphics but something is still missing. I think the mechanic was too simple for me. I don't usually like games without depth but it's a personal opinion don't worry I will judge it fairly.

Vem says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:16am

So pretty...

Getting an S left me satisfied with the game.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Awesome art and atmosphere! Great game mechanic, but i wished there would be additional challenges.

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Wow! Great compo entry. Fun game and it looks AWESOME. Great job!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:15pm

The visual style is just great! Music is pretty awesome too. Everything seems really polished. The gameplay reminds me of rhythm games, but without the need to be in time. It works well, but there could be some more variety other than just pressing the arrow keys and sometimes space. Maybe even something small to mix things up, like having to press two buttons at the same time every now and then could improve the gameplay.
Overall, I enjoyed this a lot nonetheless, good job!

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:34am

Very good and well polished game. Merely more levels and more health would make this perfect.

CtrlAltTea says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Amazing art and music, the mechanics are quite interesting, great idea and execution!

Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Cute graphics, fun game! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/WVNLcoTqal4

Sep 10, 2015 @ 11:41pm

This is an awesome concept executed really well. The art style is really really really nice. Very polished for a compo entry. Well well done.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:43am

Meet cookie monster playing dance dance revolution! :D lovely!

Sep 11, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Wow, this is a very polished game, especially for a compo entry. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]