Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Beast Mode

by madcapacity - Jam Entry

Beast Mode is game where you are trying to become the beast of the gym. Out lift the entire gym collectively to achieve monster status. Throw weights at other bros to stop them from earning points for the gym.

Rules:
1. Lift to gain points
2. Lift more than everyone else combined
3. Throw weights to disable other bros

Controls:
Left/Right Arrows - Move
Up/Down Arrows - Jump/Squat
Q/W - Raise Arms (Hold to throw)
A/S - Lower Arms
Z/X - Pickup/Drop (Must Squat to Pickup)

Shane Berezowski - Programming/Game Design/Character Design
Twitter: @ShaneBerezowski

Justin Luk - Game Design/Art
Twitter: @madcapacity

SFX - ChipTune by Tom Vian (http://sfbgames.com/chiptone/)

Music
Intro song -
About 10 Hours Looking At The Ceiling (Azureflux Arrange) by Irisu Syndrome
(licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License.

Gym song -
Beast Mode by Azureflux
(licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike License.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Humor(Jam)4.06
#48Innovation(Jam)3.94
#156Mood(Jam)3.69
#172Fun(Jam)3.58
#174Overall(Jam)3.67
#327Graphics(Jam)3.79
#603Theme(Jam)3.36
#1268Coolness48%

Comments

vividhelix says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Well done, bros!

tehPHEN says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Great mix of lifts and bro-ness monster lifting.

Lee1121 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:18am

This is great

Warxen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:21am

Definitely a very monstrous minigame, I wish i could deadlift that much in a short time. Well done guys.

FlamingKiwi says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:31am

I can now say for sure, I do lift.. bro

shiroookami says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32am

Great game, I love the overall theme!

plusultra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32am

This is excellent. Truly excellent. I have always wanted a game to show me what it is like to CRUSH AT THE GYM

Pierce_Z says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:00am

Awesome, when can I do leg day?

pixelgriffin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:21am

It was a bit of a mess for me to get into the controls, but the game is quite funny and really interesting! The learning curve certainly pays off.

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:22am

Swoll game, bro!

zillix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:27am

this is amazing. very creative! the presentation is fantastic, and the game is hilarious.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:50am

My fingers gained muscle from spamming up and down. AWESOME!

ninjacharlie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:51am

Ha! Interesting take on the theme. Shoulder pressed with 3 plates to lift more than anyone else. Good job :D

Gil4 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:29am

Hilarious concept, lifting game making you train your fingers.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:11pm

BRO!

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Funny idea :-)

Could figure out the throwing though, and after a while my dude only lowered one arm and I couldn't pick up anything anymore.

But the game looks and sounds pretty cool!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:49am

Nice mechanics and graphics. It's kinda hard to learn but a good entry. Take some stars, son!

Hectigo says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Too easy to score by just lifting massive weights repeatedly, there should be more benefit to throwing them around to make it more fun. Another easy improvement would be to hilight weights that are about to be picked up. Still, memorable time at the gym.

shawn42 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Well designed and fun game. It took some getting used to, but I could definitely improve over a reasonable amount of time. Love the bro-ness!

Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Funny, cool game. I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/WVNLcoTqal4

LandoSystems says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 6:47pm

A little easy to game the system and the controls could use some tweaking but its a neat gameplay idea. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]