Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monstrus

by rouflaquettes - Jam Entry

In this game, you must eat the little boy. But be careful to his parents !!!

The game was made with 3 friends who wanted to learn how make videogames, in 12h.

We hope you will enjoy it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Theme(Jam)3.88
#337Graphics(Jam)3.78
#469Audio(Jam)2.94
#478Fun(Jam)3.12
#511Humor(Jam)2.81
#560Overall(Jam)3.18
#599Mood(Jam)3.00
#715Innovation(Jam)2.76
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

eLLectron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:36am

I really wanted to play but OS/X links to the windows version :<

rouflaquettes says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Sorry about that, now it must be fix :)

Kalm004 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:31pm

I liked it, it's a simple idea but it fits the theme! Maybe I was waiting a little bit more for the ending. But overall it was quite good!

DarkBoulevard says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Nice! I found some bugs like the player wouldn't get on the stairs or the npcs would get stuck. But anyways It was very enjoyable! I really liked it!

nomand says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Looks like you guys had fun making this. Very simple, not much to it. There are a few really frustrating bugs, especially dying while coming out of camouflage.

Patomkin says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:42pm

A surprisingly good entry. The only big problem would be NPC hitboxes - I must have died, like, 10+ times while thinking that I'm out of their range and going out of hiding...
Anyway, liked it a lot :)

SKT says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Fun game but there are some bugs, I get stuck sometimes. I like the graphics and the music.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Wow, quite a good result for your first game. Nice graphics and sound, and simple but difficult gameplay. I wasn't able to get to the second floor, is that a bug?

jk5000 says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 8:50pm

A pretty fun game to play. Only problem is it has a bit too many bugs.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]