Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The Devil's Daughter

by SinclairStrange - Jam Entry

I FINALLY MADE IT!
*sips his tea*

This was extremely tiring yet amazingly fun game to make in 72 hours. I'm shattered now but I'm hoping it'll be worth it in the end!

Anyway before I go on about the game, I highly suggest you download and play the WINDOWS version! The web/flash version is cut down and runs slower, so if you want the true awesome experience play the WINDOWS version!

So, what's it about? Well basically the Devil's daughter wants a new pair of shoes and her dad isn't giving them to her... Cue, collecting souls.

I wanted to do more with the game, a couple of extra levels and a intro dream sequence but time and energy was against me so sadly that had to be scrapped. Maybe next time.

So the controls are basically

(You can turn down the sound or mute by using the +/- keys)

WASD/Arrows to move
Mouse - Aim
W or Up Arrow - Jump
Left Click - Shoot gun.

Anyway I hope you enjoy and have fun!

-Joel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Overall(Jam)4.38
#12Fun(Jam)4.19
#12Audio(Jam)4.35
#20Humor(Jam)4.28
#21Graphics(Jam)4.65
#43Mood(Jam)4.11
#72Theme(Jam)4.12
#376Innovation(Jam)3.20

Comments

ManuelGF says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:13am

Nice game. Actually, I loved the cats-shooting weapon.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:20am

This was hilarious. Very cheeky, with well-implemented platformer controls. Nicely done!

LordKawaii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:28am

I love this game. The voice acting is priceless! <3

ThisIsDaniel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:28am

Difficult platformer, beautiful artwork and amazing soundtrack :D

togie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:29am

AWESOME. lol... conker final has a rival lol

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

Really nice game. Great style of art and fun to play.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02am

How do you even do this in 72 hours?

The attention to detail is stunning, the gameplay is amazing, it's incredibly well polished and the voice acting gets the sense of humor across really well.

I'm stunned.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02am

I love the visual style of this game. Extremely well done. The level design was good. My only complaints are the controls were a little iffy and the character's voice got annoying after a while. Other than that, this is a very well made game.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:58am

We loved your game and featured it in our top five favorites here: http://blog.synsugarstudio.com/my-top-5-favorite-games-of-ld33-so-far/

Aiursrage2k says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:25am

Wow someone should hire this guy if thats what he can do in 72 hours...

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:08am

Really nicely polished, great game!

ALobker says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:44am

This game is hilarious!

Acerio says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:00am

This reminds me of Meat Boy like graphics. I love this so much. It's a classic XBLA indie game, but not on XBLA and not classic. :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:05am

So naughty. :D

Reyn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:06am

Excellent

reckhou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:11am

Nicely done with dark humor. Although control is a little bit of clumsy but well done!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:45am

PROFANITY LASER!
I'm sad to lose my weapons when going through the portal though...

pereubu says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:49am

the design is polished and the weapons really enjoyable. I'm just not a big fan of the voices :>

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:54am

Great GAME! It's megaman + metal slug and character like battleblock theater.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:27am

The amount of stuff that this entry gets right is staggering. The graphics, the sound, the theme and style, it's all fantastic.

A bit of polish on the gameplay and some more content and I'd buy this.

Lane says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:28am

Pretty hilarious. Too dark for my tastes. Insanely polished considering the timeframe.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:28am

Really nice art style and hilarious audio

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:54am

Best entry of Ludum Dare I've seen so far! The amount of content (and extremely well made content I might add) is astonishing. The art style is perfect for the sort of game this is and it looks great, too. The music is well made and oldschool and the gameplay is not the most innovative idea ever but it's polished almost to perfection. It's also funny and has a charm to it that few LD games have. Overall, as I said, best entry I have seen so far! Only problem is the fact you jump with W. I really wished there was a dedicated button for it.

Dibasis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Amazing game! Thoroughly enjoyed playing it and you should be proud of what you have accomplished :3

Ithildin says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Wow...Impressive visuals, really detailed.

Gameplay felt polished, too, but the controls felt a bit stiff on the Newsgrounds version and at times I had problems differentiating interactable items from the background (the best way to ensure what was what was to shoot at everything, so nothing too biggie)

Great job!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02pm

This game is plain awesome!
The voice acting is sublime.
The jump + wall jump controls are very polished
Lots of content: map elements, enemies, cat gun!!!

The criticism I would give is that some map elements are hard to see, like the black bouncing tiles.
Also the enemies could try to shoot at you, not just move randomly and shoot whatever direction they move.

Anyway, there is a lot of stuff there, and considering the little time we had, its amazing.

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Ok, this game is just like Kitty Cannon: Awesome!! :D

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:43pm

This game is amazing, I don't have the words, just...beautiful job !

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:57pm

This is some high quality shit bitch!

Not the most original of games, but: Graphics: Awesome. Art style: Awesome. Sound: Awesome. Great game overall. Gotta love the self ironic comments and the fourth wall breakage!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Excellent visuals & presentation, although the voice acting got annoying pretty fast. Loved the weapons. :P Excellent work for 72hrs!

Beege says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:01pm

This game is awesome, I love it! Well done in making such a polished game in 72 hours.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:15pm

there's a lot of great games, but not many that are great AND look complete, hardly surprising with only 1 weekend, but you seemed to have pulled it off. The voice acting in particular was epic. Love the profanity laser xD.
Note to those who wished for a dedicated jump key, i much prefer it this way, when your other hand is busy with aiming, having both keys about touching is much more practical for wall jumping, i find.

t4u says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Soooo pretty + I love the style(orange, white,black).

silentlamb says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:35pm

I'm speechless, awesome entry! I only wish the text bubbles wouldn't vanish so fast, I couldn't read some of them in time.

Visuals, audio, humor, mood. You got it all!

Strike says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:59am

Awesome game. Congratulations on the art style and the look in general. Audio is great and the different in-game comments add to the fun. Profanity gun and kitty launcher are just wonderful.
I'm maybe a bit retarded because i couldn't get how to use the wall jump properly for en entire game. It made the vertical level and the last one so difficult. My hands hurt now, but i beat the game. Hopefully there are infinite lives. Thanks a lot for that ;)
Interesting level design too. Big plus for the one with the key where everything goes into planning in the first trip.

One of my favorite game of this LD33 !

Inateno says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:25am

Is that a LD game seriously ? What a game men ! This is fu***ng awesome, level design is really well designed (especially the one when you have to get the key and come back, make me cry first time).

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:25am

Super polished game.

Too long, and the platforming difficulty is too high for the controls. The walljumping is more frustrating than anything I've seen so far in LD.

Which is a shame, I was incredibly impressed by the visuals and number of mechanics for a jam game. But now I just want to break something. The level with the 1 wide pillars with spikes at the top, with the falling blocks and bullet hell from the ceiling was my breaking point.

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:28am

To add, don't get me wrong, I still gave a very high rating, because the game is amazing. I'm just disappointed to be leaving it in anger instead of amazement. I was mindblown during the first 3-4 levels. Amazing artwork.

Pedrito73 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Great game!

xvw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:35pm

A fucking awesome production ! nice gameplay, very nice mood, nice concept ! Exceptionnal Job ! Thanks for the game !

derr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:32pm

A W E S O M E. I love her! Great voice acting and nice visuals. The controls feel nice too. Good level design and pacing.

And dat kitty cannon!

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:50pm

So this is brilliant. I can actually see it being released commercially if you can fix up some of the control issues (I found jumping from one wall to another unbelievably difficult) but yeah, unbelievably strong idiom, fantastic audio, lot of fun. Nice!

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:52pm

That was amazing. Excelled in every area. Just one question though: What the hell is a 'dildohead'?

Yrr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:00am

Looks great, plays great, sounds great.
It's pretty great.

Suese says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:36am

Amazing solo work. Keep it up!

LeoM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:39am

Very nice one.
I've been blocked at the lvl2, the area with the double jump spike walls. I cannot beat this.
I'll try again later.

elemel says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:01am

Well done! Especially like the content (art and voice acting). It's amazing that you were able to accomplish all of this in the short time available.

Possible improvements:

- Wall jumps should be triggered by jumping close to a wall, not by jumping while pressing against the wall. This would make it a lot easier to alternate between walls.

Sypanite says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:14am

That was great! Very impressive taking into account the limited amount of time.

tobbez says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:31am

I must say I am impressed with the amount of content. Level 8 was much harder than the boss the difficulty progression is fine until then so boss needs a buff. Most of the weapons are useless since the long invulnerability make extra bullets not do anything.

NAL says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:41am

Utterly incredible.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:41am

There graphics and sound are amazing, good job!

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:55am

Excellent game. It isn't trusted that for LD33 it was very much written a code. Whether this game will be finished further?

fullmontis says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:58am

The amount of graphical polish in the game is astounding! Seriously it looks like a completed game. You did a great job on the visual design. Audio is lovely too. Controls were a little clunky to be honest, and gameplay wasn't super challenging, but I feel those are easily fixable. Great game!

flatgub says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:05am

Probably the best game i've played so far! Felt like a proper professional released game! I'd definitely pay money for a fuller version of this! My only complaint is that the climbing level with the springs was ruthless, and the level after that was near impossible!

K.Chplr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:24am

Great platformer. I liked the music and most of the weapons (not the flamethrower)

mzmiric5 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:29am

This game is awesome and huge. I love the art style and the audio, the levels are well designed and it plays nice. It's very fun to both play and watch others play.

Granat says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Very polished and nice looking game. Sometimes hard to actually see what was going on due to the colors. Some other ways of separation between foreground, background and eye candy would have meade it easier to play.

nassi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Felt really solid and complete all around. The map with the key was an interesting design and the other maps were also pretty different from each other so it didn't get too stale despite the basic run & gun gameplay. Humor and aesthetic was the best part for me.

Like some people have already mentioned some graphics were hard to see. Also the final boss could've been more interesting / harder in my opinion. Had some problems with jumping away from a wall too, but nothing too major. I would've also preferred it if the weapon pickups were static instead of random. Maybe there could've even been hidhden areas (like the area in one of the maps near the start with a weapon box in it and jump-blocks in the ceiling, didn't figure out how to get there) which would've contained some easter eggs or the best weapons in the game. But even as it was, it was really impressive for 72 hours.

lemer says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:58am

Awesome game with really nice gameplay and graphics. I liked the hilarious weapons. Very funny.

Hippomancer says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:28pm

This game is the full package. Well done :)

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Hilarious and really well-made! I like the crass jokes and the shooter elements.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Real cool graphics, audio and ambiance :) well done on your frontpage and game! simple and detailed!
Neat!

Tselmek says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Really hard game but with a lot of depth. The mechanics feel nice and the weapons are really great. Won't talk bout the graphics, they're awesome.

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

tweedle says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Absolutely brilliant! I have no idea how you were able to churn out this level of polish and quality for the jam, but you did! Hilarious game, great mechanics, awesome style, inspired weapons - really good!

struffy says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Really great character - love it - register the TM now ;)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:16am

In your opinion, what is the best weapon and why did you choose the profanity laser?! Hahaha, this game is simply awesome, Overall 5/5.

theshadowteam says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:29am

So red and devil..hard platformer,good game

HappyHour says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:47am

Incredible level of polish on this one!

Larzan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Wow, great visual style and audio, great entry.

pi_pi3 says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:42pm

This is a solid, fun and good game, however it lacks the innovation element.

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Fantastic game, one of the best games I've played on this jam. It was quite addicting but I found it to be quite difficult!

Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Psssst- You are on today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKciP1W-aKk

sergicollado says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Really nice graphics and so fun game, so polished I love it!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Good stuff. Really difficult and a lot of content.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Ohh!! So many 5* :-), crazy good game!! Congrats!!

someone says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Awesome game, great job!

randoman says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:31am

Amazing game! Very fun to play, controls are great and that humor... Very nice job!

Slothmachine says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Really nice art with such limited color palette. Well done.

sydream says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Solid entry, though a classic platformer but so much polish and absolutely super humorous loved it.

UekiShurei says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very polished! Even though perhaps it's a bit too hard for me, I still enjoyed playing it. The voiceover actually adds to the game's enjoyment, when voiceover is usually difficult to pull off well, especially in 72 hours.

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 9:55am

nice shot & run. Faster movement would make it more fun. nice art

axoona says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 7:06pm

very polished game, good work!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Hilarious, extremely polished, great voice acting, amazing visuals and great gameplay. I have no idea how you did all this within 72h, it's just impressive.

Literal Games says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:15am

Wow! Extremely impressive work. I loved the particles and the persistence, really great game feel!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 1:11pm

How is that not a full game?! It works great, it sounds great, it looks great - it is awesome! Too bad I'm not so good at platformers and stopped at lvl 8...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]