Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Looks Dead

by samfreeman05 - Jam Entry

Controls:
-Mouse to control cursor
-Middle mouse to recenter mouse cursor
-Left click to select object/creature
-Right click to unselect object/creature
-R key to restart level
-Enter key to continue (when prompted)

Description:
Looks Dead, is a monochrome puzzle game where you have to prevent the "hero" from reaching the goal. To do that, you must use little eye's monsters to kill him. The "hero" can only jump if there's a monster in his way, but his ability to jump could also be used to trapped him using the monsters who also have their own unique ability (for this version there is only one creature called a Walker).



Programming and graphics: Samuel Allen / Samfreeman05.
Music made with abundant-music.com and GXSCC.
The game was created using the Supowerpower game engine created by Sparklin Lab.

I hope you will like it and don't forget to leave your feedback.
For any question, you can contact me on twitter: @samfreeman05

Have a good day!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2355Coolness0%

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:49am

Unfortunately, I found the mouse controls very unresponsive. This severely hampered the gameplay experience.

fmdud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02am

Why can't I rate this on audio? The sound was great! There was an issue selecting the monster but once I figured it out it was an interesting puzzle that got in and got out super fast. Like it a lot.

crazyrems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:10am

That's a nice game. Mouse selection is really frustrating, and also the fact that all of your creatures are removed from the level when you lose. But that's still a nice game!

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:29pm

The music is really cool, damages whatsoever so short. Nice game

madalaski says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:23pm

While the overall fun of the game was slightly ruined by the very accurate and sensitive mouse controls, it was very innovative with each level offering multiple solutions and being overall, very well designed.

RiaDelva says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:56pm

very nice idea :) I would love to play more of this!

GBGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:10pm

I am using Firefox 40.0 on Ubuntu 14.04 64-bit. It seems like the mouse cursor won't actually follow my mouse, so I couldn't play the game.

Bocodillo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Very fun game with a great idea behind it. Loved the graphic style too.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Why didn't you put the music category? It's great! D:
There are some weird button hitboxes but in overall is great!
I like the core mechanic and the graphic! Gameplay is smooth and enjoyable!
The lenght it's a pity but I would really like to see an expanded version of the game!
Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]