Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monsters vs. Aliens

by tweedle - Jam Entry

Some dumb aliens have been receiving Earth's broadcasts of classic monster movies for decades...
Believing the monsters portrayed are planet Earth's ultimate champions,
the dummies infiltrated our solar system and are seeking out Earth's champions for ultimate battle!

Gameplay & Controls:
2D Platformer, Sidescroller, Shooter

Left Mouse Click = Shoot
Right Mouse Click= Special Attack
A & D = Move
Space Bar = Jump

By: Josh Watson, Stephen Roper & Taylor Dunn
Follow us on Twitter @ZamboniMacaroni

Tech:
Game Maker
Adobe Illustrator
Ableton Live 9
Spriter Pro
Github
Windows & Mac OS X

Game Updates:
We have a lot of functionality we plan to add in later, stay tuned!

8/25/15:
We've uploaded a bug-fix version! (v1.1)

**special attack meter now reads correctly -- can now fill to 4
**star animations in the title/menu screens now work correctly -- they were supposed to be more sparkly
**restart functionality -- restarts the level, rather than the whole game
**tuned the health mechanic -- it's less hard
**launches fullscreen 1080x1920 -- not windowed

No new features, you still can't crouch or unlock anything - as we didn't get that in over the weekend...

Let us know if you find any other bugs and we'll get'em squashed!
We're working on some ports!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#155Graphics(Jam)4.15
#353Audio(Jam)3.20
#465Humor(Jam)2.90
#560Overall(Jam)3.18
#569Mood(Jam)3.05
#570Theme(Jam)3.40
#643Fun(Jam)2.90
#804Innovation(Jam)2.66

Comments

rotpar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:57am

Love the art style.

tobbez says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:09am

The unskippable intro is really annoying, especially since you have to sit through it between every play. Art and music are quite good.

Would have been nice with variable height jumps (and to be able to stand on slopes, rather than fall into them).

Aevek says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:24am

Loved the art style and music, just let me walk on slopes please?

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:00am

Loved the art!
Absolutely great style. Huge fan of the enemies breaking into pieces!

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:37am

Wow. Super unique art. Love it.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:29am

Love the art

LordKawaii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:38am

I had a hard time getting this game to run, it crashed twice (though it might just be that I'm running Win 10)

Those problems aside I really liked the art and being able to play Universal Monsters was fun!

maguera93 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:51am

Awesome art!

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:17am

Beautiful original art, plays well, could go far with some polish. Nice work.

eric777 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Art = amazing. Audio quite good too.

On my first play I wasn't sure I liked the slow moon-gravity thing, but after I started getting the hang of it, I really liked that aspect. It felt a little like I was in Ender's Game in the arena, floating around and using gravity & inertia while doing things like shooting that are typically 1G. That was cool.

I was not able to complete the first world. I think I need more health pickups! Also, for some reason left-shift didn't crouch for me at all. Not sure why. I think I might have been missing a key control mechanic needed to do better than I did.

Nicely done!!!

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:47am

Great artwork and audio! Couldn't get past the first level though... I can't dodge the bullets effectively >.< I'll try again later!

m3_on says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:37am

The are style is fantastic! It reminds me of day of the dead stuff and I found myself getting pretty addicted to the game. As I kept climbing up the level, seeing all the different types of bad guys...very cool and impressive all that you guys got done!

tGiant says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:35am

It is an okay game. Lots of bugs with the collision detection of the player. Also the gravity of the player feels too slow.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:07am

Great looking and fun. Pretty hard.

Cerberus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:15am

the graphics were good, great style, the controls were hard and a bit stiff. the gameplay felt kind of slow. nice work overall

Wefiends says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:37am

Really tried to get into this one because of the lovely art, but it was too hard to even get past the first level. Something about the weight on the jump, and the unpredictability of the bullets made it a bit more frustrating than enjoyable for what the game asked of the player. Love being able to pick characters and would've loved to see more of the levels. Good job overall, I think everything could be fixed with a few number adjustments.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Loved the art style. Pretty fun platformer.

block97 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Art and music are very nice. I really disliked how floaty and imprecise the jumping felt a times though.

Drunkteam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:41pm

when i tried this, my screen just when bluck for like, five minutes. I had to restart the computer. What am I doing wrong?
The art looks amazing, bt

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:49pm

The art is really nice and consistent. The game needs some more work wrt difficulty and controls.

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Art and music ared good!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Haha, hey fellow Dracula includers, I really enjoyed the gameplay and the refreshingly unique graphic style you used. I look forward to seeing any updates too. Nice work!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Alien design is super-cool, but the game was too hard for my taste.

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:43pm

FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
Looks and sound fantastic, except for the jump sound which is rather too echoey. The gameplay, however, isn't great. As many people here are saying, slope collision doesn't exactly work. I'd say, however, that the game is too hard in a bad way. A lot of enemies kill you before you can react and the player is too large and too slow to reliably dodge. Jumping is incredibly slow, so you're super vulnerable in midair. The enemy variety, however, is great. Not necessarily fair enemies, but the fact that there's so many types of enemies in such a short level is great.

I reached the first (only?) boss and partway into the fight, this happened:
for object obj_boss_1_body:

Unable to find any instance for object index '9' name 'obj_test_body'
at gml_Object_obj_boss_1_body_Step_0

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:34pm

The plot kinda sounds like the premise of "Pixels: The Movie". ^^"

The yay:
- art style
- audio

The nay:
- gameplay feels too slow and inert, making it way harder than it should be
- unpredictable bullets don't help, either
- crouch and pause are "locked" for whatever reason
- title screen stays for too long and cannot be skipped

Overall, it could really, really use some polish and balancing. As it is now, I've managed to reach the first boss after a few attempts, but couldn't complete the map.

tweedle says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Wow, thank you all so much for the feedback (both positive and negative)! It has been incredibly helpful, and we plan on making some major changes to our game design based on these comments. So keep 'em coming!

@ yokcos700: Thanks for reporting that bug! We'll be sure to squash it.

@Sunflower: Good call out on the unpredictable bullets. Going forward we are going to give bullets a timed shot interval instead of a random number generator. Crouch and Pause are locked because we didn't have time to implement them into the game. We thought it would be funny to just show them as "locked."

@BeardoGames: Dracula is best!

@Wefiends: Thanks for the feedback! We plan on spending a lot of time on difficulty and balancing.

@tGiant: Good point. Collision detection was something we struggled with. We'll be sure to work on it!

It means the world to us that you took time to play our little game. Thank you!

jordinuco says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Graphics are very good! A little buggy, but it´s very replayable, or so I think... good job

HeyZeus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Awesome, love the art style.

RoboNebula says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:08pm

The Art Style is awesome

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:27pm

While this game looked pretty interesting I couldn't get it to run! I waited for several minutes after booting up the game and I was stuck on a white screen, it's a shame because this looked quite promising!

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:36pm

I really loved the art style, fantastic all around. Slopes had me a bit confused, I'd say just implement walking up slopes. The double jump was fine, but your platforms require the player to use every last inch of jump height (At least with Dracula), leaving very little room for error and making it more frustrating than it has to be. Also make the intro skippable. Other than that, great fun! :)

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:05pm

I love the art style, although I'll admit it was awkward for me to play on a laptop with a touch pad. The game crashed in the more polished version when I got to the end of the first hallway and was shot by one of the aliens. I'd think it would be neat if I could use the mouse to aim because I had a few cheap hits from the enemy on account of the slow jumping. I definitely see a lot of potential from this and would love to play more if a final version is released.

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 10:45am

Nice, but too difficult

Sep 12, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Beautiful graphics! I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/3UFkqjoD81E

jsmars says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Really nice menus and style, but I thought movement was a bit too slow

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]