Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Agent

by solarexplorer - Compo Entry

Not just anyone can take on a tough mission. You must first be evaluated.


The game features moral questions and riddles. Select the letter you think is best. I hope you enjoy!

(web link should work on Chrome or Firefox)

-- Tools --
Language: JavaScript
Engine: Phaser
Art: Gimp
Music: Garageband

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#218Innovation3.41
#293Mood3.24
#353Audio2.96
#681Graphics2.63
#799Overall2.70
#904Theme2.19
#909Fun2.07
#1537Coolness42%

Comments

Arcadonauts says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:54am

Not really my scene, but thoughtfully produced and aesthetically consistent.

Kaadmy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Nice game, unique gameplay and graphics.

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Nice atmosphere, I enjoyed it. I gave up when I had to start over after picking the wrong letter. Would have been nice with further indication about what the letters stood for!

gcrsaldanha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Endorsing @Arcadonauts and @Jakob37
Consistent graphics and audio, awesome!
But the gameplay is a lot of try-and-fail without feeling I'm learning something.. You should give more indications..

Congratz!

wijnen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Nice game. I had to guess quite a bit, which means redoing the whole sequence, but there was a charm to that. :-)

kaitokidi says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:37pm

it generates curiosity to know how it will end, but the system is not really intuitive nor funny because the letters can have too many words, and starting all over again is not a nice point in my opinion, maybe with a more elavorated story and better words it would be more interesting, keep working

Wumbo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Addicting

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Interesting way of storytelling, it was a little frustrating to start all the way over for messing up.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Almost more of a story than a game. But I liked both answering questions by shooting answers and having to guess answers based on the first letter (was proud of myself for working out the six-sided one).

Though, once the game ended, it just kind of sat there. Probably good to have a restart or something (I was curious what other answers might get me). Nice work overall!

solarexplorer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone. Sending the player back to the beginning was a last minute change to increase the difficulty (I wanted to allow but punish using a "try everything" strategy).

killersnoofie says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:48am

hmm.. cool concept kinda hard

kfarwell says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:54am

There isn't a whole lot of gameplay, but it's really well made and thought through well.

ziege says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:35pm

That was interesting. Enjoyed it.

Taldius says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Nice atmosphere, it's not my type of game but I enjoyed playing it.
Good job!

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:10am

interesting presentation for this type of game!

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:35am

Nice packaging for a riddle. I Like the presentation (gfx + music). It is a bit cumbersome to start over from the beginning every time after a wrong answer though, takes a lot of time.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:49pm

The way the game was presented was quite interesting although most of the gameplay was just guesswork and I felt more could be added (like branching endings if you chose a different choice rather than being forced to start over if you apparently picked the "wrong" choice)

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:11am

Great story mechanic. Some nice audio too. Great job!

undefinist says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:11am

Interesting concept, but I feel most of the time it's a guessing game rather than a riddle.

pixzleone says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Nice atmosphere. I liked the riddle solving!

reiknight says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Nice mood and audio

Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:26am

Well, kinda too short.
On the other hand, I like it kinda.

Creative Sectors: Kardfogú

cudabear says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Interesting, but somewhat boring. It really sucked to have to redo all of my progress when I made a wrong choice because I wasn't sure what the letters meant. It also sucked that picking the wrong thing is an instant gameover. I think it would be better if this was a choice type thing, where going against the flow is fine and has an end case. For the scope of the compo though, this works well and has a nice look to it. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]