Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You are Awake

by frokes - Compo Entry

Welcome to "You are Awake"!
This is my 3rd entry to Ludum Dare and it is made in pure HTML and CSS! No JS, JQuery, nothing!

I went for this "less serious" aproach because i did not have the time to sit down and code the entire 48h. So I made this little adventure game in about 10 - 15h.

I recommend you to use the web version instead of the ludum dare player because of scaling and some transitions showing up incorrectly in the ludum dare player.
I hope you enjoy and every kind of feedback is welcome!

frokes

NOTE: In theory this game should run on any device that has a "mainstream" browser. Tested in Firefox and Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Mood3.63
#149Theme3.89
#296Audio3.09
#329Innovation3.22
#482Overall3.11
#751Humor1.95
#799Fun2.48
#852Graphics2.17
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

filiph says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:04am

I am torn. This is a great experience, and part of it is the slow pacing of it, but sometimes I wish I could make it go at least a little bit faster from time to time. (That would require JS, I know.)

Speaking of which, the technological feat of making something like this with only HTML+CSS and no JS deserves major kudos.

The other suggestion I have is to have a bit more interesting choices, especially at the start. Choosing between door/floor/wall doesn't really thrill, and combined with the slow pace, I think you'll lose quite a lot of players.

To be clear, I liked this. I liked the audio effects and the "lighting". Shows promise.

Raspadsistema says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:11am

Love what you did with so few technologies. It seemed game got stuck after "Oh no!! Hahaha, they were never able to do that..." but what needed to be done is scroll down to see continue button

Zenkerdus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:14pm

This made me inspired! The changing background colors were fitting for the scene you were describing. Reminded me of "He Who Journeys Eternity: Lost Odyssey: A Thousand Years of Dreams" on Lost Odyssey on Xbox360.

Some minor issues:
- Continue button doesn't seem to appear sometimes. I think you had to scroll since the ludum iframe doesn't fit perhaps.

- You can see text by Ctrl+Alt.
- Small typos.

My browser: Chrome 44.0.2403.157 m

frokes says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Thank you for the feedback so far! I'm sorry about the typos, my english is far from flawless. A friend of mine already pointed out the thing about the text showing up when pressing Ctrl+Alt or Ctrl+A but I consider it to be a minor issue.
Oh and that the text sometimes is outside of the frame bugged me for a long time and i have not found a perfect solution yet... ...just use the "web" link for now, it should be fine there.

Again, thank you for your feedback!

snooze82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Less is more :)

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Very nice story, the sounds and colors are sufficient to create an immersive ambience. I liked it a lot!

Jawesome says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Very theme related, but not the best i've played

Valicitor says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Oh man, why is it that a heartbeat can make any situation tense? Good text adventure

Meursault says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:04pm

You create great atmosphere with very little. I especially like what you did with the theme.

daveh says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Great sound effects and you convey a lot of atmosphere with colour and pacing of the text.

boardtobits says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Crazy impressive that this is just HTML/CSS. Nice work. The pacing was good for the most part, I found (a lot of time I find myself sitting and waiting through animated text).

Story was good, though I did wonder for the first few frames if I was going to be making any decisions. Made up for it at the end though.

Nice work!

HThomson says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:41pm

I liked the audio at the start, it helped initiate the immersion, something that's often hard to achieve with a text based game. However the timing was frustrating, having to wait for text to fade in and out without having any way to skip made it really hard to stay engaged.

Goutye says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:45pm

And I died :<
Original entry, and like as well this kind of game. Liked it!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Strange adventure, but a cool experience which I liked. I can't say that mood was great because all is really minimalist, but I was in full immersion during all the game. The goal is reached. Thank you for this entry ++

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:15pm

I love the games like this. You a good story-writter. Interesting story, some choices "what to do". Good game.

Zeriver says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Impressive, mood is definitely the strongest side of this game, also great sound effects building tension.

Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Really awesome job. Major ups for making something like this with only HTML+CSS. Awesome experience!!!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Great experience!
the sounds, the ambiance, the writing, it got me chilled for it.
Thanks and good job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]