Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Petit Monstre

by LeoM - Compo Entry

This is a small game about a boy playing in his room.

For play, just click one on the screen and everything should follow.

Voices are records of my nephew Gabriel and my sister, thanks to them. I wasn't present for the records, so he was very free and relaxed on what he was saying, some elements have been designed just to stick to his records. ;)
They are in French but their is English subtitles for those who doesn't understand a six year old child roaring in French. ;)

I just started learn how use the unreal engine this week, so I keep the gameplay very simple, with not a lot of elements to be able to finish the game on time and refine as much I could.

Exports are for Windows, Linux and Mac.
Thank to dydx for building the mac package [ http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=38961 ]
For Linux you need to go PetitMonste=>Dino=>Binaries=>Linux and run the "Dino" file as an executable. It's may launch. Maybe you will need to do this
"On Linux, if you can't lauch the executable (Dino), that's likely because you have to be in super-user mode.
Open a terminal go in super-user mode (su/sudo) and make a : chmod +r+o+x Dino, this will allow your current user to launch the Dino file. "
and Thanks Nomis_Tempar for this help too. [ http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=44631 ]

Hope you will like play it as much as I liked to make it.

Post compo projects :
- A start and end menu ! (I try to make one but it broke all my interface 2h before the dead line, so I stopped for tonight)
- A speed run version with timer. It's probably one of the shortest games on the ludum dare, why not makes runs on it ? ^^ (It's possible to finish it in less than 5s)

Post-post-compo :
- A girl version, with new voice, others sentences, room, objects etc...
- Some animations for the legs (less static) and maybe the hand too (squeeze a bit the doll sometime maybe)
- A third person version, where we play the dino without the hand, free of his moves ! :p

Source files from UE4 project are also online, before a cleaner package consider this as under a CC-by-sa-nc license, so for personal use and study only. (I don't want to hear my nephew on a sound bank)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#37Mood3.97
#37Graphics4.28
#66Theme4.09
#96Audio3.57
#117Humor3.58
#189Overall3.53
#210Innovation3.43
#397Fun3.12

Comments

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Nice DOF I like the graphics

jk5000 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:57pm

It is very beautiful and a great story.

muit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:43pm

It really gets you in the childhood. Cool voices, a bit more of player interaction would be cool, but anyway nice work.

terop says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:59pm

looks nice.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Just excellent.

Arnage says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Great interpretation of the theme.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Pretty neat little physics box, felt like it had an artistic angle. Very cool!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Adorable little game, and a lovely use of the theme! Unfortunately, all the physics objects were a little overwhelming for my poor computer, but I like what you've done here none the less!

Shinmera says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:20pm

I can't run it as I don't have DX10. Too bad!

gene-z says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Excelent... very good work

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Oh no, no Mac version :( looks great

LeoM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Need a mac to compile a mac version... If somebody with the UE4 on OS X is motivated, I can upload all the raw files so he can compile for me ? ^^
I'm working on the Linux version right now.

Resonious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Perhaps my laptop (running linux) is too graphically incapable, but the game was unuseably slow on it. I will give this a shot on my Windows machine at home later tonight!

LeoM says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:31pm

You success to start the Linux version ? How do we proceed for ?

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:15pm

THIS WAS MAGIC! A MAGIC MY OLD GRAPHICS CARD SAW IN 5 FPS, AND STILL - MAGIC!

kakarotsan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:08am

No idea how to run this in Linux.

LeoM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:12pm

I succeed to run it on a Linux Mint, but graphics are... different !
It's like the same game, but with acid ! (I upload a screen)
For Linux you have to start the "Dino" file as executable, you can find it on PetitMonste=>Dino=>Binaries=>Linux (easy !)
And as on all the version, it's still slow but ok ! ;)

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:27pm

I think I'm gonna play this again and again for a while ;)

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:46pm

On Linux, if you can't lauch the executable (Dino), that's likely because you have to be in super-user mode.
Open a terminal go in super-user mode (su/sudo) and make a : chmod +r+o+x Dino, this will allow your current user to launch the Dino file.

Strike says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:38am

More like an interactive story than a game, but very well executed. Good interpretation of the theme.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:44pm

The mood is perfect and I was lucky enough to be french so I understand what gabriel said :) I regret you didnt add a gameplay with objectives, gameover and stuff ( = mum is calling XD )

LeoM says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Thanks for all your comment. :) :)
For the game being very simple it's a choice, as I said, I started play with the unreal engine just 4 days before Ludum Dare. Already make the dino move as a wanted and setting up all the sounds with good hit box and subtitles was already a big challenges for me. So a prefer to keep just a few elements and make them as good as I could rather than add some draft features.
I'm pretty proud of myself ! And thanks again for all your encouraging comments! :)

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:25pm

It's cute little story, the graphical quality is top notch but there isn't much gameplay involved. Still a nice glimpse back to childhood.

glerikud says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:40am

I really liked this idea. It was fun. Sadly it's a bit too short, I wanted more of it. :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:46am

Very cute!

dydx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Hey, fellow UE4 developer! I'd be willing to build a mac version for you. Email me at christopherjkim@gmail.com

dunin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Good mood, funny french voices!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Nice idea. A good global work: 3d graphics are the better of this Jam I think. Sfx are sooooooooooooo cuuuuuuuute. Nevertheless this game kill my config :'(

"bien joué"

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:12pm

C'est fabuleux, j'adore :) !

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Beutiful, just Beutiful. Très bien!

AAGH Games says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:30pm

This was really nicely done, I love the perspective down on floor-level giving you a nice view of the monster's rampage. The voice work really added to it as well, and it was just a lot of fun to play. Excellent entry!

dydx says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:25am

A great concept, executed nicely. Really cute art and sound.

I'd only suggest adding some way to turn down the graphics quality... it seems the gpu requirements are too high for many people.
I think that would be allowed under the "porting" rules, so you don't have to wait til the post-compo version.

yuigoto says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Nice! This has some really great potential! Keep it up! :D I can already imagine it like a childhood-play-simulator-platform game or something along these lines. :)

The audio in french, with the subtitles add something very special in the game.

And the whole experience reminds me a lot about my childhood. :3 Now I want some blocks to play here! XD

My PC is a bit slow and my GFX card isn't the best one, but it was a nice play, really! :D

Congrats!

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Cool game the graphics were marvelous and the voice acting was quite cute! It is unfortunately not much of a game, but it could be something really cool!

01101101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Cool little experience, not a "game" as such but still interesting, and nice graphics :)
If you add a timer, try adding some kind of challenge as well for it to be relevant.

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Aaaa, .NET 4. Not accepted.

guoboism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:29am

Graphics are nice! I think monster is all part of us, even when we are just kids. It's the primitive desire to destroy things.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:11am

Very cute, very simple.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:12am

Beautiful game. It almost felt 'too real'? if that's a thing. You definitely captured the memories we have playing with toys as a kid, and put it in a package where we can still enjoy those things and relive that. The graphics and depth of field was amazing. Great game!

JoeProgram says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:47am

Very cute - just wish the framerate was better!

Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:13am

You made me a kid again! That was magical! :)

dregamr says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:55am

Jajajajaja!!!!
I love it!!
The game is awesome and unespected!!!
The ending is...excellent. ;)

OadT says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:02am

Cool and very well executed idea

PnDAA says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:27am

Too short :'( I loooove the sounds and nice graphics.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:41pm

This is a hilarious interpretation of the theme. Great job!

kakarotsan says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:10am

Thanks for explaining how to run it on Linux. Once you told me what to run and that I had to make it an executable, it was a piece of cake.

Excellent atmosphere.

celisoft says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Really funny game!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Beautiful entry and wonderful interpretation of the theme. I especially love how much your nephew's and sister's voices brought to the mood and feel of this childhood-simulator; I certainly felt nostalgic playing this :)

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:22am

This was a great start, would've loved to have seen a more complex game, can't wait to see what you do next time if this is only a week into unreal, fantastic!

Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:20am

Very lovely game. Fantastic graphics and amazing setting, was such a good idea. Loved it!

bodsey says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I really wanted to test this so I did as soon as I had my hands on a PC :) Wow, incredible work for a compo. Great idea also. I wish there was at least a bit of "meta-loop", why do you want to leave the game ? Plus there was enough content to have several levels (one level = one day maybe), it's a bit disappointing that it ends so fast. But amazing job overall, I think you're a contender for the podium ;)

Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Very whimsical, cute game. I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/De5lc4U-4hg

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Cool aesthetic anfd funny gameplay. A great entry for a great interpretation of theme. Thank you ++

Pierrec says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 8:43am

Very cute! I love it!

Slothmachine says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Idea and the visuals are really great in this one!

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Great visuals & a unique interpretation on the theme. Was actually quite fun to play - great job :)

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:02am

Rather short, and not very fun, but the models were good and the overall it was still well-made.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]