Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Blob

by RougeRogue - Jam Entry

I wasn't planning on releasing this since I was far from done (only the tutorial and hills stages were complete and I was missing a lot of the juicy effects I wanted) but I felt like I had to upload something after working on this for three days. Anyway, here it is. It's a sandbox game where you can control monsters who all have different abilities.

Controls:

-You can choose a level when you're near the blob king with the space key and cycle through levels using the W and D keys.
-A and D to move
-Space to control/exit a monster
-W to use ability (when controlling a monster)
-Escape to exit the level
-T button during level preview sequences at the beginning of Hills and village

Creatures:

Batmon/Birdmon:

Small bat/bird-like creatures with one eye. They show no signs of hostility and neither does anything else to them. Their ability allows them to toggle between flying and walking and thus allow them to avoid any obstacles in the way. They can sometimes be found inside certain crates.

Demonrammer:

Bull-like creatures with ram horns and other devilish parts. They are hostile to the player and humans and will ram them if they see them although ramming a human will cost them some hp while doing the same to the humans. Being attacked by one of these will mean instant death, so it's vital to remain hidden/be in control of a monster around them. You can hide behind certain objects to avoid being seen by them. They have a total of 10 hp and have the ability to dash to cross gaps, break crates, or inflict damage onto humans. Ramming into another demonrammer will cause it to get knocked back.

Humangobbler:

Large yellow sludgy creature. Despite its name, the Humangobbler actually shows no hostility toward any other than the player; however, it can consume humans and dead demonrammers and attack living demonrammers while chasing the player. Their ability is to eat which can damage living demonrammers and eat humans and dead demonrammers. They have a total of 20 hp.

Human:

Unlike other creatures, a human cannot be controlled. The knight variation has a total of 5 hp and will range attack any monsters including the player while running. The citizen also has 5 hp but will not do anything other than standing in place.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#256Audio(Jam)3.40
#398Theme(Jam)3.61
#412Innovation(Jam)3.15
#418Graphics(Jam)3.60
#707Mood(Jam)2.87
#773Humor(Jam)2.29
#859Overall(Jam)2.83
#1001Fun(Jam)2.33

Comments

alexrus07 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Interesting idea, but definitely needs work and content. The game was confusing to get into for the first couple minutes. Neat monster designs and charming graphics!

Kakureta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:01pm

The art wasn't bad. The game is cool but it needs more content.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:04pm

This game was an interesting concept, but it's clear you ran out of time. It's incredibly glitchy and very confusing, why does my bull keep going backwards? Why is my bird so jittery when it flies? Why did I die randomly during/before the hills stage (I seriously don't know what's killing me at all.) The camera doesn't keep up with the character and I just generally feel slow and not in control.

The graphics are nice, though, and the monster design for the bull and general scenery was creative and colorful. The village, however, looked awkward.

Overall, it's a nice idea and a good first attempt, and I hope to see more from you in the future!

Vladirien says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:27pm

The graphics and the music are great but it feels light on the gameplay side

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:41am

My biggest criticism is that I got killed right at beginning of the level by a bull after waiting 20 seconds for the camera to focus on me, and then each time you die, I had to wait for the camera again.

On the plus side, the graphics are pretty nice.

MrMordem says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:10am

Good game, i like the whole take control of various monsters concept, music and graphics are really good, will surely be great with more content :)

I had a crash in the village when i was using one of the brown dashing monsters and had this when i ran into a villager :

FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_demonrammer:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get 100168.hp(100022, -2147483648)
at gml_Object_obj_demonrammer_Step_0

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Good concept, too bad you couldn't finish in time.
Had the same error as MrMordem.

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:49pm

I've noticed the complaints about the camera and remembered I forgot to mention that you can press the T button to skip that whole sequence. Also I have no idea why that bug with the demonrammer is showing up... The variable is announced at the create event so it shouldn't have any trouble finding it. I'll look a bit deeper into it though! Thanks for the feedback!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:08pm

The yay:
- art
- different creatures
- audio

The nay:
- no clear goal whatsoever (except in tutorial)
- gameplay feels clunky and glitchy

It could definitely use a lot of polish and tweaking. ^^"

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:16am

Great gameplay mecahnic of taking over other creatures and using their abilities. Also great audio! Maybe have an idicator over the creature's heads to show what is controllable

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:16am

Nice idea, but I didn't really understand what was going on or my goal. (Also my entry had a similar idea if you wanna check it out #ShamelessSelfPromotion) I did really like the art and the design of the different creatures, though!

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:26am

That #ShamelessSelfPromotion was successful. I'll go check yours out and then go to sleep since it's 5 am here right now XD

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:04am

Loved the graphics, reminded me lots of Another World which is one of my favourite games. I also felt the gameplay while a little clunky was really well thought out. Over all it was a great game I enjoyed playing it!

Tselmek says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:45am

Really nice graphics and cool music. The mechanics are interesting but the content needs a little bit of work. Good job!

Reccy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:59pm

It's a neat concept and I enjoyed playing it, but it definately needs more content. You should keep working on it :)

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I think I might have glitched the game during the village level (I possessed one of the bat creatures and flew all the way to the end then dispossessed it and ended up getting stuck in the air) but I actually like idea of possessing various creatures and using their unique abilities to progress through the game.

Yrr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:38pm

I keep getting gameovers during the cutscene at the start of the hills level :/

superpatch says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:38pm

I see the concept, and it surely could be a great idea for a full game. I also liked the graphics. It needs something more, but it has great potential.

Gatobot14 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Like the graphics and music, the idea was cool, cant finish playing beacause of this
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_demonrammer:

Push :: Execution Error - Variable Get 100168.hp(100022, -2147483648)
at gml_Object_obj_demonrammer_Step_0
############################################################################################

DragonGino says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:01pm

well the importantly is that you have the basic game mechanics. the art is fine there is notting to worry about.
the idea itself is great but it need more content to it.and sometimes the game-over bug out.example i am dead but i don't see the gameover press R to restart.

Reisen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Interesting mechanics, will be great with some proper level design.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Woa nice idea!
I like the control mechanic and the gameplay is smooth and enjoyable. Maybe a little too easy.. ^^'
Well done RogueRogue!

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:32pm

It's quite an interesting idea, reminds me of Kameo: Elements of Power. Graphics are nice and the concept is fun, but it sure could use more variation :)
One thing that disturbed me the most was level intro which didn't pause the game; I died several times and wasn't sure what happened.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Loved the visual style!

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Cool game idea and background music. Nice entry!

abcdef65g says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:38am

The game is really cool! The graphics are charming and the music is great. It could use some goals to achieve but I understand it's a sandbox game.

Taking it further, I could see a very interesting game where you explore areas and control all kinds of monsters.

Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:15pm

The idea behind this entry is great, as are the graphics. I didn't rate this in Overall or Fun out of respect for it being unfinished. Hopefully you can finish it up sometime soon!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]