Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Beats of Nightmare

by Insality - Compo Entry

Beats of Nightmare

Controls
====================
Move: A-D or arrows
Jump: Space
R: Restart
Esc: Exit

Description
====================
You are the Nightmare, the essence of shadow. Can you run through your mind barrier to the Light? Challenge for you and your master-skills! Complete all 3 levels! The Runner Game with opposition Light VS Darkness.
Try yourself at online highscore with other people!

Rules
====================
You can jump at middle by pressing Spacebar
Jump recharge by pickuping orbs
Pickuping orb in a row increasing your score multiplier, otherwise decreasing
Upgrade yourself in menu by collected orbs
Get highscore! Complete the game!

Some information about
====================
My second game on Ludum Dare
Used tools: Unity, FLStudio, Paint.Net and my musical instruments
Game has a difficult that i wanted, game is beatable! And it's more easier than my first entry.

====================
IMPORTANT. READ THIS
====================
IMPORTANT: Sending your statistics aviable only in STANDALONE version!!! So please, if you can, play in Windows or Mac version.
There is Online highscore and statistics site, link below!


Glad to see any feedback, i spend a lot of energy to create this!

And more important thing: Have Fun! And be careful ;)


Update 1: Removed the high obstacles, which sometimes close the camera view

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#8Audio4.23
#99Fun3.69
#125Mood3.59
#142Overall3.65
#159Graphics3.80
#520Innovation2.91
#668Humor2.25
#930Theme1.93

Comments

nicotuason says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:50am

Beautiful artstyle and awesome soundtrack! The music makes this game really fun to play. I just found it difficult sometimes when some of the obstacles would block my view.

bwafflecone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:04am

Cool soundtrack, really sets the mood for the game! The obstacles were a little hard to see sometimes though.

Gaius Baltar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:23am

Awesome game! I got like 30000 points and my heart was racing, the pointer thingy was going really fast and the lights were all over the place. Also, the music worked with the whole game flawlessly.
One of the best submissions this LD for sure.

Insality says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:31am

@Gaius Baltar, i had spectate on you records, you now is Number One at highscore ;) Thanks for playing standalone
Are you know, what you have a personal page?) http://45.55.134.136:5000/ld33/info/Gaius

KodingNights says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:55am

Cool but theme?

Jajo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:08am

So difficult, but enjoyable.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:14am

Interesting game, but the repetitiveness of the soundtrack, as well as non-obvious dead-ends combined with the camera speed made for a frustrating time.

I think if the perspective was either directly behind, or directly above it would work a lot better, the almost fish-eye nature of the camera was very disorienting.

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:18am

It's a well done endless runner, bit too difficult for me if I may say. Audio and Arts nicely done in their abstractivity. However sadly enough I can't see the theme.

Split82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56am

Omg this was intense :D I suck at these kind of games, but I enjoyed it anyway. Good job.

tuben999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:08am

The feel of this game is amazing! really good soundtrack and overall design of the game. some obstacles is a bit tricky tough. Keep up the good work! ;)

uthamon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:49am

I dig arcade-style games with electronic music, so this was a bliss. This mechanic with jumping to center is what makes the game unique, really, really good. Would be great if you would expand it, more music etc.. Congrats.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:37am

I love it! My fav entry so far.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:38am

Really difficult! Love the music.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:39am

great audio integration and graphical theme

Grhyll says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:06pm

That's... wut?? I didn't know I was THIS bad '_' My best score is around 10 seconds, I systematically die there. I have tried at least a dozen of times, I find it insanely difficult ^^' It's a shame, because the screenshots look quite promising about what can happen later, and the music seems good, but I am incapable of avoiding those obstacles... Maybe there is something I haven't understood (after saying this I have retried one time and reached 14s! Because it was a different, much easier layout at the beginning...). You should just add an option to let less skilled people enjoy it too ^^'

conormn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Holy moly thats a tuff one. Very polished tho!

ronsap123 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Beautiful graphics! Awesome game!

daveh says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:02pm

This game has a lot of style. The audio is great and works well with the cool shadows: having you be chasing the light was a really nice idea. I'm terrible at this kind of game but kept trying because I wanted to see my name on the scoreboard. ;-)

DaleP says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:00am

At the moment I’m not able to play it because the web version seems to require a login, and when I try to download the standalone, Google Drive errors out (infinite redirect loop). Any chance you could upload it somewhere like Itch.io or Dropbox so it’s publicly available?

#hashtag says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:33am

The music is enjoyable, and the gameplay is pretty fun. I think the angle of the camera made it a little hard to see how to evade some obstacles, which made the otherwise pleasant challenge of the speed and controls a bit frustrating.

Kaltic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16am

I always like the games that a built around their soundtrack. The visuals are quite nice and the thumping of the world/music really engages the user.

It was fun though it became quite difficult to navigate certain sections and it didn't feel like user error, but difficulty to tell where to go based on the visuals. Maybe I just missed some visual clue though.

It still doesn't really fit the theme much.

Insality says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:39am

Thanks for your all feedback!
About high obstacles: this was an idea. So, seems was unlucky one..

I have updated the game by removing this annoying high obstacles, so lets try it again!
Also i switched hosting to itch.io (for web-version) and to dropbox (for standalones)
Good luck!

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:18am

Awesome sounds and global feeling ! But it's very very hard :P

Wevel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Really run game, quite difficult but the music is awesome, you can't jump on the web version unfortunately.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Great fun little game with cool graphics and music :D Loved it!

Lynx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:03am

Hello orange theme supporter, I do remember you! Glad to see that I corrupted...er I mean that you took up music influenced gaming haha...

Very cool game! I don't know if it was just me, but jump wasn't working for me....but it was still super cool! Wonderful music too!

Insality says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:29am

Thanks for all feedback! again ;)
What is mean, what jump is now working? There is one rule: Jump is recharging by pickuping orbs. I testing game in different browsers, all is working well.
May be i should did it more obviously, my mistake

camlang says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:17am

Nice runner, man. Cool beat effect and graphic style. It can be good game. But theme dude. It's far fetched in your game, from my point of view.

Anyway it's very cool entry for compo. Good job.

DaleP says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:44am

This is a very challenging game but it’s also addicting to keep practicing and getting better at dodging each obstacle type. The music and graphics work really well together and get adrenaline pumping. I thought the controls seemed a little too twitchy as I’d often crash into the side of openings while trying to line myself up, but I don’t play endless runners much so maybe that’s just me.

Strike says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:54am

I love games like Super Hexagon, Boson X and Velocibox. This one fits there perfectly. I would have just jizzed in my pants if collecting orbs was sync with the beat. But I can imagine this would have make the level design a hell to build. I'm just wondering how it fit the theme, but the game is so great that's the only thing i can complain about. Good job on the art style and music too.

sergicollado says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:46am

Great sound ang graphics, I love it

Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:58am

Nice graphics and light effects, but I don't see the monster.

guoboism says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Great game! The visual is so styled!

saucygames says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:02am

cool

Aevek says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:59am

I played this a lot. Its challenging in the exact right way, and the instant restarts and randomized levels kept me playing for waaaay longer than I expected to. Great job!

andreymust19 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:52am

'Jump' not working for me. 'Space' button just plays sound.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Nice!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Quite good style, and the visual has a good match with the beat.

Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:57pm

I love the look and sound, but it was way to hard for me, which made it frustrating.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:37am

Really fun and challenging! Love the music.

Jimjam says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:37am

Really fun entry, and the audio fits really nicely!
Some of that difficulty may also be reduced by reducing some of the noise on screen. For example, the shadows cast by the obstacles look great, but may mess with the player's ability to judge spacing and distances.
Great fun!

walsh9 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:45am

Great soundtrack! Took a bit of practice to and figuring out how the 'jump to the center' worked but I eventually managed to get to level 2.

Ulydev says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Wonderful entry. For some reason, though, my highscore is not showing in the leaderboards. http://imgur.com/78Fm2uH

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:59am

Very challenging!

dregamr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Beautiful game!!
The music is fantastic, and the light effect is awesome!!
The beats effect is supreme!!
I loved this, congratulations!!

Zambini says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Fun runner! Great art (both audio and visual). Not sure what it has to do with the theme but great work overall :D

Zeriver says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:48pm

It's one good looking (and sounding game)! I like this robotic voice and everything is just so perfectly matching! I mean art style and lightning effects plus this sick beat :D
It is a challenging game and i'm gonna play it more when i get time.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Fun, but really really hard - maybe I am just bad :)
The controls could be less sensitive for more pleasure, but the mood is cool. A game wich is really addictive. A solid entry. Where is the monster? Thank you ++

Biruts says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:51am

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:40am

Wow, this game is difficult. But my god this game feels amazing to play. Everything from the music to the graphics is great. Great job!!

Sep 6, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Challenging, fun game. I included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/bouSnGLQUcs

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Full of rhythm and life!!
it was a little bit hard to me ~ but i really enjoy the challenging process and really love it ~
it worth more votes~

Mubox says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Very good audio. :D
Sometimes I loose the control of my character.

PS: We have fixed our game, if you want to see it again. ^^
Thank you.

radmars says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:18am

Nice! Great music, sounds like there's some Ken Ishii/Rez influence :D Cool game mechanic though dying in one hit combined with the fast starting speed is really unforgiving. Also it was a bit weird that level 2 started out way easier than level 1. Regardless I had a lot of fun, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]