Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster or Costume

by fodinabor - Compo Entry

You have to show the world whether you are a real monster or just a human that's in a costume!
That basically means: kill everything that moves!

See whether you can beat them all...
Basically it's: walking around and looking for some NPCs to kill - enjoy it.


I'm pretty k.o. so everything is a bit short..
But anyways - I'm happy I made it - first jam ever ;)

So some more information now:
You are on a map with ~20 NPCs that you have to kill.
There are two types of NPCs:
1. Civilians: they run away on sight and tell all the warriors your position
2. Warriors: the attack you on sight

I had lost myself in some issues with my pathfinding algorithm so I wasn't able to add a story or any sfx...

The game is made using:
- Polycode,
- Tiled,
- Photoshop,
- Magix Music Maker
- Visual Studio

I hope you guys enjoy it :)

Update 26.08.:
Using .ogg files in the Windows build too - makes it ~30MB smaller :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Audio3.88
#626Humor2.33
#629Theme3.13
#753Mood2.48
#821Overall2.65
#823Graphics2.29
#856Innovation2.17
#888Fun2.21
#1226Coolness49%

Comments

Artylo says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:01pm

What the game lack in gameplay, it pays for in music. The score is more epic than the gameplay itself, which in my opinion is a weak point in your game.

razavidn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:15pm

REALLY strong soundtrack. Would love some player feedback on killing an enemy - a little graphic or sfx so I know I'm doing it right. Same when I'm attacked - didn't realize I had health!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Wow I loved the music and the game-play wasn't bad. I started dancing at the titlescreen :D

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Love the music, seemed quite difficult to attack people.

Tigris says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Great music. Not much of a game yet when it comes to gameplay.

aprotasenya says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:11pm

I liked the music and the aspect of the theme - that monsters could be just people in costumes. And judging by the name - only opening the page - I thought I'll be to decide who's in front of me: monster or a person in a costume.
What I'm trying to say: it shows that you've put some effort into this, but my guess is it could still use a bit more.
Anyway - congrats on the first jam! That's a thing to celebrate! :)

MAnimal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:53am

Nice human "get crazy" animation.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:18am

Nice game, the music is cool too. Needs some more feedbacks here and there but overall nice entry.

stoarch says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:51am

Wow. Good game. I like how they run away in fear. Maybe if mountains movement can be faster a bit. This is snail monster.

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:53am

Really like the use of a pathfinding algorithm. I know how much of a pain that can be, but you pulled it off!

Juin says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:28pm

It's really weird that you didn't put in WASD controls i feel like that just suggests itself if you have shift for sprint and space to attack. Also some feedback for attacking would've helped alot maybe just flashing the enemy if you hit something.

MercuryXGames says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 8:47am

Nice entry!

goodbadokay says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:35am

Nice game, great sound, it was very funny.

fodinabor says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Hey guys!
Thanks for all your feedback - I guess I've learned:
Gameplay should be higher prio than pathfinding ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]