Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fortior

by rudra - Compo Entry

Fortior is a puzzle platformer game.
You are haunted by all the negativities around you, which have turned you into a Monster. Help the player to cross all the puzzles until the very end.
Controls
A = Move Left
D = Move Right
Space = Jump
Escape = Main Menu/Quit

***NOTE*** : Web Build may have few bugs in level 4. So, Windows Build is recommended.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#267Mood3.29
#422Audio2.82
#571Innovation2.83
#572Overall3.00
#677Fun2.71
#698Graphics2.60
#781Humor1.65
#854Theme2.51

Comments

hobblygobbly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Interesting adaption of the theme. I struggled when I got to the level with the vertical platform and couldn't figure out how to get past. The red text is a little hard to read, perhaps add a black outline to it.

Pixellation says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03pm

I got an internal server error D: , Can't play

belva1234 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:07pm

The sound is good really like the concept

@SamPotasz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Really enjoyed this one. Agree with hobblygobbly that the text should be more legible, and I couldn't get past the vertical part on level 4 either, but maybe that was intentional :-)

pixzleone says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Cool idea, but a bit slowgoing and the text was a bit hard to read. I really got into the mood.
Good job!

rudra says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:17pm

@SamPotasz , hobblygobbly , belva1234 : Thanks a lot guys ! :D

***SPOILER ALERT***

For those who couldn't get past the vertical wall, go back to the platform where you started. Then, jump LEFT. Hit the platform on the left and again jump Left to find a big block. Standing on the big block jump right to land on another block. Rest is just a straight path.

Agree that this may be a bit hard for those unaware of it, but the lesson as we get to the objective is worth it :)

@belva1234 : Thanks for liking the sound ! :D First time ever I made a music for my game, glad you liked it :D

rudra says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:21pm

@Pixellation : Error on the Downloaded version ? Maybe try the Web version (on a Firefox browser, Unity web games are not supported on Chrome Unfortunately :/ ). Though I did a quick search on the error on Unity games on Google, but didn't get a proper solution. Sorry for the inconvenience. Will try to find a solution ASAP

rudra says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:27pm

@pixzleone - Agree to both, while the slow pace was kinda intentional, because I tried to impress more upon the mood. And the text part was kinda lack of time :/ . Thanks for playing it ! :D

peterkirk says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I made it somewhat into the game. Ended up being stuck on a puzzle where I had to collect gold things to use the exit but the exit become blocked if I collected any of the gold.
The text was difficult to read so I stopped trying to after a point.

rudra says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:22pm

@peterkirk Glad you made upto that, though the solution of the puzzle would give it a spoiler, I would say try going to the end of the door without collecting the golds ;)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Quite difficult. Got to the level where the platforms disintegrate, couldn't get past that

dancingmad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:06pm

I can barely see the player and the texts, the game a little buggy... But I liked the concept!

emongev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:55pm

The vertical wall i thought was a bit of good rage quit excuse, but i love the mood the game has, i also wasnt fond of the text scrolling so fast on the first level if i walked normally. Good job overall! :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:55pm

It was interesting. The controls seemed to be a little buggy, couldn't always jump and seemed to fall through the floor at times when there was actually floor there. I found the dynamic interesting (revealing the floor as you moved on it), but perhaps there could be more clues as to how to reveal it without just taking a leap of faith. Or perhaps there was some dynamic there that I just missed.

rudra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:04pm

@CrazyMinnowStudio - Did you notice the bug in the Web version ? The web version does have the bug you mentioned, but the windows build seemed to be okay. Kindly Do inform me if the bug was found in the windows build.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:06pm

This is really innovative, you did a great job coming up with a variety of puzzles. Nice atmosphere too, I liked the text popping up as you went. I had a little bit of trouble at first platforming, there were a few moments were I seemed to fall through the floor but I made it to the end and it was well worth it. Controlling two players at once in particular was a great idea.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I like the idea of invisible platforms that became real the moment you hit them!
Nice graphic and well suited music! Well done!

jordinuco says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Played it all. The mood in this one is the best part, and you can enjoy playing it too! Good job

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Nice atmosphere! I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/keaznjOtLXA

jofra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Cool concept! Nice adaption on the theme
Gj

cxsquared says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Really nice atmosphere and I like the ideas behind the game. The text is sometimes are to read. But overall nice work.

athaclena says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I would like the text to be more readable, it would be better if it was around for longer or was clearer to read, but that's my only complaint. Great job :)

rudra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:19pm

@CrunchyKingCrimson Thanks for playing and congrats for making it till the end !

@Nikteddy92 @jordinuco @jofra @cxsquared @athaclena Thanks a lot for playing and for the reviews !

It's kinda flattering to hear appreciation for the music, it is the first time I made a music for my game :3

Agree that the texts should have been more readable, won't argue on that one, just made it in the last moments :P

rudra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:23pm

@CrazyMinnowStudio I do agree with you that there could have been some hints about "where to jump" instead of just depending on luck, I thought of that while development too. But I wanted the game to show that "sometimes believing in just luck when you are after your aim is worth it", so I didn't think of giving such great hints. But yeah, should have gave it more thoughts on that one though :)

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:24pm

I'm not a fan of this particular game. I feel like you have a point to make and I'm not understanding what that point is.

The character seems to take a moment to react when I press the keys. It's not a terrible thing on the levels I played, but if there's intense platforming action later on, it'll prove to be frustrating.

I played the web version first and experienced some of the bugs you mentioned. So I then grabbed the windows version and had a crack at that. Completed it; good game.

I would complain about the background, and would suggest that it would be better if it didn't repeat. Also, when I stand on some vertical walls, I'm unable to jump.

It's a good puzzle game though. You introduce new mechanics reasonably often (although I don't know what the deal was with the yellow dots - I could finish the level without them), although you rarely combine these mechanics in interesting ways. The fact that much of the level is invisible to start is interesting. Mostly frustrating, I'll admit - INK did that mechanic way better, but it doesn't ruin the game.

iossif says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:37pm

i am not a huge fan of "progress by dying" but i liked the atmosphere of the game. a bit more zoom may be good. it was really small on my screen.

TeamPretty says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Quite interesting one, I liked it!

rudra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:08pm

@yokcos700 - The yellow dots are actually rewards (gold, extra points, etc), it was used in the penultimate level to denote that "you will be rewarded if you follow your aim", in this case, the golds were in the path of the player to his aim. But in the last level, the golds were not placed in the path of the player, and if you take the golds the end point will be blocked (and you will have to restart the game) indicating that we should not let those extra collectables "distract ourselves from our aim"

rudra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Thanks @iossif @TeamPretty !

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:08pm

That was fun, there are a lot of levels and it never gets boring :) Good job !

rudra says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:12pm

@Quetzakol thanks !

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:03am

It was great and all but there was a bug whith the jumping that made it impossible to get through one of the levels. Maybe look into that a bit more?

rudra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:54pm

@RougeRogue Thanks for playing , glad you liked it! Yeah, I am aware of the fact that Web build has a bug in one Level, the Windows build is hopefully free from that bug.

wavertron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:24am

Maybe it was the Web version, but the screensize was quite small, made it hard to play

rudra says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:36am

@wavertron The web version has few such problems, the windows version is recommended.

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I struggled to see how this related to the theme and I found the invisible platforms incredibly frustrating and annoying, I'm sorry, I didn't enjoy most of the game.
What I did enjoy though was the dual-control mechanic introduced for a few levels. The music was nice, though. I enjoyed the ambience.

wesley werner says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:42pm

This is a lovely introspective game. The harsh sayings and motivational messages give a striking contrast. The theme is a bit loosely interpreted, but given that everyone feels this way, like a monster, at some stage, we can still relate!

Good entry!

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:50pm

This is a superb entry. Apart from having a very innovative game-play it also offers some very nice message. I loved it.

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Very nice concept. Played the web version and got stuck on level 4 because of the 'falling through platforms bug'. I'm going to try the Windows version later to fully appreciate the game. Congrats on the entry!

LastLeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:16pm

As a platformer, I love the gameplay and the atmosphere. It is not difficult for me to get through.
However, the audio is too short and it loops all the time. Ideas about graphics are nice but some details could be improved.
Overall, good enough.

el-pepi says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Cool consept and message.
All the texts were a bit hard to read.
There was a level where all the platforms where too thin, wich made the player very buggy.
I managed to beat it tho, good job!

rudra says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:24am

@HotBoxGames : This is actually an interpretation of all the "harsh sayings" which every person encounters when moving towards his goals. And while doing so, they have a feeling of turning into a "monster" at a point when all the harsh sayings don't affect them any longer.

@wesley werner @ReddogStone @randoman @LastLeaf @el-pepi : Thanks!

@LastLeaf - agree with both the points. Making music for the first time, so not that good in it :P

Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:29pm

On Linux, so neither the web nor the Windows version works :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]