Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Redemption

by Mikhail - Jam Entry

Redemption
*Made from scratch in Java
*First time experimenting with a scrolling map and minimap

Arrow Keys - move
Space bar - attack

Objective: Kill all the Enemies in the lv and reach the Blue City
**Note: You must reach the end of the game for the theme to make sense**

-Not everyplace is unlocked you must complete the highlighted lvs to unlock new ones
-Red cities are the towns you need to complete to unlock the blue city

***Make sure you have the latest version of java installed****
***Make sure that the jar file and the Rsc folder are in the same folder or textures wont show up***

Please let me know if you find a bug! I will fix it immediately! Thanks!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Known Bugs
Horizontal & Vertical Scrolling stops working - FIXED
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#843Humor(Jam)2.14
#969Theme(Jam)2.66
#996Innovation(Jam)2.25
#1004Mood(Jam)2.26
#1007Graphics(Jam)1.84
#1032Fun(Jam)2.28
#1080Overall(Jam)2.35

Comments

Ryusui says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:47am

Really kind of a mess overall. Horizontal scrolling stopped working after a bit.

Pilly says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:50am

Couldn't run it on Mac, just got a white screen :(

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:02am

Ryusui beat me to it. The minimap became very valuable once the horizontal scrolling stopped working! I feel a little overpowered with a omni-directional spammable attack, but pfft I'm not complaining. Feels good, man.

Mikhail says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:03am

If you guys could, describe what u were doing when it stopped working. In the meantime ill try and see if i can fix it.

ZXeno says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I haven't been able to get it to show the textures. Rsc folder is in the same folder as the .jar. Installed the latest version of java.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:35pm

I thought I was just playing the game pretty naturally, so I went back and I think I found it.

I reproduced the bug by finishing a level up against the edge of the map, where scrolling stops anyway. Scrolling will still be stuck in the next level I visit. Finishing on the far left or far right freezes it horizontally, and finishing on the very top or bottom freezes it vertically. The effects can stack too. :)

Mikhail says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Thank you soo much Jelinib! I fixed the bug so if you redownload it shouldnt happen again!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:11am

Interesting first attempt. I really think you should make yourself only be able to target one direction. I wasn't quite digging the graphics and there wasn't any sound.

lanestp says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:13am

I just got a white screen on Mac. Sorry :-(

benmcnelly says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:27am

Had some issues but I like what you are trying to do :)

Had to reinstall java, must have not been latest version.

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:56am

Interesting idea! I liked the theme usage and the dynamics!

The game mechanics could be improved the be more challenging, I ended just button smashing through the end.
I couldn't see the highlights in the map, so I got a bit lost (but I liked the idea!)
I guess you didn't have much time, but it would be nice to have some humans sprites so the monster side would be more evident, I just didn't feel anything attacking big squares xp
Finally, just a personal opinion, I found the ending a bit silly ^^;

Anyways, great job!

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I like where this idea is headed. As it stands, it is definitely more of a game jam game. That being said, I really dig the half old school vibe and simplicity. If anything, I'd say this would be great to turn into a pseudo Atari 2600 game with all the retro boops and beeps. Good job. :)

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Simple, kind of neat!

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:29am

Overlooking the graphics, this could have been much more interesting if it required any kind of skill. Or you could have gone another router, and make it more gory, with bloodstains from enemies, different attacks which grow more powerful as you kill more enemies etc. As it is, the game really is too simple.

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:46am

Simple but potentially interesting. Whilst I wasnt a fan of the art style it was cohesive and tied in well with the rest of the game elements.

General says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Welcome to the club!

Please, check my video review: https://youtu.be/Ey3lKehbPVI
Your game is at 17:41

zenmumbler says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Why did you put this adfly redirector before the dropbox download? Having to skip though scummy ads is not really an invitation to play.

Anyway, unlike some others it works fine on Mac (with Java 8 runtime), game itself is bit more like RSI-demption, amirite. But it has a start and end, though the "twist" at the end is rather implied by the setup text in the beginning. But, good effort.

ajayajayaj says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Great Game! Could you check out my game again? I fixed it. And your plot line is almost identical to mine. The twist at least.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]