Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Pass The Salt

by Feetsalot - Jam Entry

Play as a sentient robot whose soul purpose is distrubting salt at the dinner table. However you have taken it the wrong way and now are hell bent on distrubiting as much salt as possible around the world.

The goal of this game is to collect as much salt (basicaly score) as possible without being detected by the humans (via the risk meter). As you preform more and more risky actions (risk of a certain action is shown by the tooltip on the left middle of the screen while hovering over an action) the risk meter will increase, and with each increase there is a higher chance of you being discovered and counter measures being put into place.

In this game I mainly focused on designing my first UI, as this is my first game and first LD, so please provide feed back on that aspect.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#642Humor(Jam)2.59
#661Audio(Jam)2.11
#715Innovation(Jam)2.76
#992Graphics(Jam)2.14
#1003Theme(Jam)2.53
#1017Mood(Jam)2.20
#1082Fun(Jam)2.00
#1099Overall(Jam)2.28

Comments

StaNov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:54am

Pack the windows app as a single zip please. I'm unable to download it as folder.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Thank you for informing me, I packed it as a zip so that everyone can download.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:27pm

I get a lot of buttons and windows and I click on them but I'm not sure stuff is happening. Also be sure to close one dialog before you open a second one, I often had multiple dialog contents mixed together.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:35pm

tool tip would be hepful

thebmxeur says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Didn't understand what I'm supposed to do at first. The UI doesn't make a lot of sense to me. There are things that appear behind icons (the cost/reward), there is a lot of space with nothing in it, buttons act as tabs, buttons are place in the middle of nowhere, the scrap tab and $ tab seems to be reversed... If you want to make GUI, you should look at real programs/games and understand why things are the way they are.

And add more explanations in the description so people can understand what they are supposed to do.

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Needs more info about what the buttons do and what's happening. Great for a first UI though!

yokcos700 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:25pm

"What is my purpose?"
"You pass salt."
"Oh my god!"
"Yeah, welcome to the club, pal."

Worst UI design 2015. The buttons look just like the bits that tell you how rich you are. I'm not given much information about what 'Steal Money' and 'Pass Salt' do. This is frustrating because there could conceivably be a pretty good game there (although it seems to just be a clicker game) but I've no clue of how to play.

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:08pm

"hmmm...what am i doing in this game...passing the salt doesnt seem very lucrative"
*starts collecting scrap*
"You have been found!"

Well, seriously I didnt have much clue what I was doing, scraps seemed to increase my cpu power but I got caught while doing it?

Crosstales says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Web build doesn't work for me.

Demetz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:55pm

I didn't understand what i'm supposed to do.

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:03am

It seems as though a lot of people are lost so I added a tutorial for everyone (as well as some minor bug fixes), hope it helps

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:36pm

this was hard to understand! X)
I love that is you first entry in LD.
GJ

Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Cool idea for a game with a lot of potential, your actions don't really feel like they have consequences. On the ui the risk level is positioned in an obscure place, I'd find myself clicking buttons until the end game pop up appeared. Selecting an option would sometimes only clear the previous option leaving nothing selected.

Coac says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Good concept, but have to rework the tutorial ! Lots of information at the beginning, and it's hard to start. But gg !

jamioflan says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:44pm

It seems a lot of this game hasn't been implemented, which is a pity

ccglp says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Nice game for a first LD. Pretty impresive and funny

superfreak says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Although I was a little confused to start with after some playing I started to learn what the various options were - great effort for your first game made (not to mention first LD!) Look forward to you developing your skills and cant wait to see what you deliver in the future.

OFF says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:46pm

As a first game, it worked and that's good. You have a start a UI, and a game over.
I will speak about problems but that's really a matter of advice:
- the camera view is bigger than the UI, you just have to change the size of the camera in Unity.
- when we fail don't restart the scene but try to restart directly the game
- you can create an easy tutorial simply by adding direct text overlay during the game for each action
- as a game it's too complex, and way too complex for a first game, the basic idea of finding salt could be really good for a simple game, even with strategic.
First step, first game, first error, but keep going it's always fun.
Maybe you could try a more longer jam like one month one game, in order to have time for tweak, and try things.
Good luck for your next game.

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 1:38am

I think I saw where you were going with this, and don't give up, you have a good start with design!

OFF says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Go to http://compohub.net/, that's a good start for finding all jam with description. good luck

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]