Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

R-ADIUS

by MrTwister - Jam Entry

R-ADIUS (pronounced "Radius") is an old-school shoot'em up "simulation" where you don't shoot.... because that's what the ship does... and you are not the ship.

The computer will take the role of the spaceship while you play as the stage monster who is trying to repel the invader.

This game plays like a resource management and strategy game where you deploy units and purchase upgrades to improve your defenses against the invading ship.

Music, graphics, SFXs and code were all made by me from scratch for the jam, with the notable exception of the Flash preloader code, which was borrowed from a friend :)


POST-JAM VERSION CHANGELOG!
+ Added a victory screen
+ PC Build doesn't need SDL.dll anymore

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#43Innovation(Jam)3.99
#64Theme(Jam)4.13
#80Audio(Jam)3.83
#112Overall(Jam)3.81
#207Fun(Jam)3.52
#242Mood(Jam)3.51
#260Graphics(Jam)3.93
#542Humor(Jam)2.75

Comments

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Really like the design, but it's really hard to get a proper attack off - the cooldown between spawnings are quite long.

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Quite addictive game. The IA is technically impressive and makes the game challenging, while upgrades are a motivation to continue playing until you can beat that stupidly clever spaceship :)
I never managed to hit it before a boss fight though.
Nicely done.

Ptolo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Now this is what I wanted to see get made with this theme! A classic game idea turned on its head. Lovely retro gameboy graphics and sounds. Not certain what the use of sending little ship was the Boss was much better at overwhelming the spaceship.

I'd be fascinated to know what algorithm the ship was following and what causes it to mess up, really neat :3

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Very well made, I like the strategy involved in planning how to overwhelm the player ship to make it lose all its lives. I hope you expand this to give some more level and boss varieties, since I managed to beat the player after three rounds and the game just looped around.

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:24pm

really challenging but a great great idea and lovely colour palette

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:40pm

This game is very nice! It took me a moment to understand the gameplay, but it was literally only a moment. I love the graphics and the sounds; they're great!

MrTwister says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:35am

Thanks for the comments guys!
I'm aware that the minions don't do a lot at the beginning. In fact, the first round you are better off just gathering resources and killing the player yourself (as the Boss).
However, if you upgrade your cooldowns and costs you can spawn a lot of minions early on the next rounds and overwhelm the ship before it reaches you ("you" as in...the boss), which gives you extra points.

You can also upgrade boss-related stuff if you prefer to save your resources.

In the end it's pretty much a resource-management game where you have to figure out the best "decision path" that will eventually lead you to defeating the ship (normally happens after 3-5 rounds). There's no "congratulations, you win!", because I thought it would be more fun to just keep upgrading stuff and taking sweet revenge on the ship ('cause MAN it's annoying!).

hinerz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:48am

Wow, amazing game. This whole theme made me realize how much I like classic games mechanic but twist around to make you the enemy... Too bad I didn't do that :P Really polished, really complete. And I thought the game was pretty challenging!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:57am

This is one of the best games I've played this LD. I want to learn to write games like you. The ramping is fantastic. Only thing is I totally maxed out my powers, and got to the point I could destroy the player in seconds every level, but the game never finished, I just racked up more and more dough! Amazing work, though! A+

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:57am

It had a simplistic style, yet played nicely and had a good concept, well done with the AI.

orion_black says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:39am

I had some troubles running the desktop version(not an openal thing), anyways I really liked your take on the theme. I would really like to see a more fleshed out version.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:50am

I appreciate the feedback guys :)
I added a Post-Jam version with a victory screen.
@orion_black, I also removed the SDL dependencies of the PC build, it *may* run on your computer now? What version of Windows you are running?

Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:32am

what a well thought out and beautiful game!

pkenney says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Very cool game! Great take on the theme, nice graphics and sound, and fun to play with the different choices. I managed to get built up enough to completely wipe out the attacker after about four times around.

If I could change one thing it would be that instead of the mouseover popup that blocks the on-screen action, I would have the information be in that empty area on the lower right. It was kind of a drag that this twitching text box was jumping around and interfering with the game screen.

Ellian says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Man, real nice. Simple twist, but I'd honestly play a full game based on this.

Too bad the challenge disappear after a couple loops.
Very impressive AI work here, and cool execution altogether; nice art, nice music, cool stuff man :D

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Great genre deconstruction, although a bit too hard - I think having minions making at least some damage early in the game would make it much more rewarding.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:54am

Very clever reversal of the shmup genre. I really appreciated what you were doing here, and the piloting AI seems surprisingly competent! Fun, nice tunes, and fairly challenging. The addition of a Game Over screen to the post-compo gave it a nice sense of completion.

A really solid entry. Thanks for sharing this!

amy742 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:31am

This is great! I'm a huge fan of these types of games, had lots of fun with it! Nice one!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:38am

Interesting project. R-type reverse :)
I like it. Thank you ++

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:33am

This is a typical "You are the villain" game, but it's great! I would have played more levels with pleasure. The boss fight was especially interesting, trying to "trick" the ship was a big challenge.

rnlf says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 10:13am

Cool idea! Didn't read the description before, so I was trying to control the ship for a while. Stupid me :D

El Cabaro says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:51am

Wow, cool game. Graphics are great and it's one of those "shop games" that would fit really well on newgrounds or the app store. My strategy initially was to spend all my points on cooldown/price then just cream the player with my Beet army.

Why are they called beets? That goofy name really makes me smile for some reason.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:59am

a neat idea, but the gameplay feels like it takes too much control away from the player, and the upgrade system feels more like padding than anything else. I think that a shorter game that starts the player out with the full capacity they need to take out the player would result in a vastly more enjoyable experience.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:20am

Super cool. Ship AI was awesomely challenging. Good tunes and great visual aesthetic too.

Karai17 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:13am

Neat concept, could have been more fast paced.

BoyWithStick says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 5:19am

That was pretty awesome. I would love to see a longer game with this type of concept. The artwork and sound fit each other well. Nice game entry!

MrTwister says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Thanks for the feedback guys!

@El Cabaro: They are called Beets because of their Beetle-like jaws and shape! (also; old-school games had really silly names for enemies. It's part of the homage)

ratking says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Greatentry from start to finish! I really dig the concept idea, and would have loved to have more options all around.

Also, thank you very much for the profound comment on my entry!

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:22am

Innovative and cool

SlayerEXE says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:09am

Such art is wonderful. Simple and effective. The names of the attacks are very funny, I love it.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:02am

Wow great game mechanic. Quite addictive! The AI of the spaceship feels very human.

Is there an end to the game? I stopped playing when I would easly beat the four spaceships within a few seconds.

MrTwister says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:34pm

@ZYXer: The post-jam version has a victory screen for when you finally defeat the spaceship. The jam version simply keeps looping endlessly, which is not THAT terrible, but I guess is less than ideal.

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 7:24pm

I loved this. Great art, fitting music and a neat idea greatly executed. Top entry :)

Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:03am

Very cool looking -- absolutely love the art

OnlySlightly says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:12am

Really cool mechanic. And great job with the retro aesthetic. I'm a sucker for upgrades and this didn't disappoint. It was fun exploring the different ways we could take advantage of the different minions and powers. The boss fight was awesome! It's so satisfying to finally play the boss in those bullet hell-esque games. Great job!

superfreak says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:37am

Played this over my morning coffee, which ended up overrunning considerably as I was having too much fun playing this to stop :) Love the polished art-style and catchy game-play (which has a suprising amount of depth and challenge to it). Superb job and great entry.

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:47pm

I've played enough to make my review. I hate games like this, the ones where I feel I should be better at them, and give me upgrades so that eventually I will be! Great take on the theme, enjoyed playing this, going back to beat it!

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Loved this game! In the end it becomes a bullet hell >:D

Headmade says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Argh that ship is just to agile! It was a lot of fun to hunt the ship but it's just a little bit too hard to hit. A shorter cooldown would have helped.
Maybe instead of the cooldown you could have implented higher cost for shots in rapid succession? That way I wouldn't be able to spam either but had the freedom to plan my attacks better. Would have given the game more depth.

Also I would have liked to fire my weapons with the keyboard (maybe using the keys 1, 2, 3).

Still a good entry, well done!

shawn42 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:53pm

One of the best games I've played in this LD. Congrats. I liked your write-up on the AI as well. The cooldowns do feel just a little too long, but maybe I just need to get better at the game. ;)

Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Really neat idea, and well done entry. Good job. :)

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Nice twist, hard to be evil :-) , very cool entry!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:29pm

This is a great game, but I think it would have been better for the AI to have less momentum in exchange for higher starting ability. It would also be interesting if the enemy ship powered up over time. The boss fight felt a little bit too long and awkward.

I love the graphics and sound!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Very original but quite frustrating.
Nice grafics and sound!

Omiya Games says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:11am

Very neat and innovative. Was a fan of the presentation. I wasn't nearly as found of figuring out the AI movements such that I was willing to spend more time to get higher rank than an A. It's a good enough for me!

Felt like a lot of the game boiled down to timing and resource management. It's a matter of taste, but I wasn't especially fond of that combination.

Crefossus says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:19am

Really polished, especially graphics, ai is interesting, sound (helps mood a lot especially on boss fight). Catchy upgrade tunes.

Gameplay is a little slow to me. I guess you're supposed to figure out its pattern and cleverly plan a retaliation.. but I'm too dumb and just upgraded until I could hammer it with lucky strikes.

I liked thinking about having to save up money instead of spending it as you get it (so good job on that aspect).

Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Pssst - You've been featured in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUCBlrR9qzA

hexagore says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:24pm

It's sort of weird that this is the first game I've played this ludum dare with this mechanic. I was hoping there'd be more! I'd have preferred it if the cooldowns were a lot shorter by default and the ship was a bit dumber.. but this was still really good.

MrTwister says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 4:29pm

OH MY! Thanks @ButtonMasherBros! You just made my day!

GhostBomb says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:35pm

The enemy ship has way more manueverability and options than you have ability to trap it, at least in the minion phase, so most of the time you just feel like you're relying on the AI to be an idiot.

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:15pm

All-around very good game. Loved all the Portal references, and while I eventually got enough upgrades to make every round a cakewalk, the game still remained enjoyable. Only thing I was disappointed in was occasionally buttons wouldn't work (I assume this is because the ship was spawning at the time) and the minions only spawned from 3 locations (ignoring the Discus).

Pusty says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:16pm

looks great :D

Lukbebalduke says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:04am

Nice graphics and colours, also, lovely idea. The only thing bad was that I felt like my monsters and "projectiles" were too "dumb".
Overall, awesome entry =)

ohsqueezy says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Excellent game! It's fun watching the AI maneuver, and the difficulty of tricking the AI makes successful shots feel really satisfying.

bombjack says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:52pm

nice inverted gameplay. very hard to beat.

handkor says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:59am

I would love to see this game expanded. It is really fun.

walsh9 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:31am

Great idea and amazing execution!

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:42am

The game looked very nice. The music was very repetitive, however. Understandable, though. I really like the concept. The AI for the ship was very clever and the delay on the attacks forced you to have quite a bit of strategy and timing. I do feel that the minions felt useless, since I never managed to hit the ship with them. Other than that, good entry!

dos says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:38pm

I see somebody loves Portal :) Smashing all the buttons on a touchscreen with everything maxed out was pretty fun :D

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:45pm

You Monster! XD This game is so much fun! I spent some nice time playing it here and forgot about work to do. :P

Really dig the graphics, the soundtrack, controls, everything! That's some great work you've done for the Jam! :P +1 for the upgrade system! :3

The only bad thing is that is short, but it's a damn good game, sir! :D

Oct 8, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Nice game! I included it in part 31 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ZV7CU8j_StI

MrTwister says ...
Oct 8, 2015 @ 6:55pm

@Jupiter_Hadley Thanks! Just saw it :) Loved it.

jerombd says ...
Nov 30, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Fun little game! I wish you develop it further (more bosses, etc.)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]