Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Quadopus Goes To The Surface

by CrefossusJam - Jam Entry

a d or left right arrow, move up up up by colliding with the spheres.


Bug fixes:
Added a reset y in, in case you fall through ground or off the side.
Changed the bounce from apply impulse to setting the velocity to further avoid falling through ground

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#708Fun(Jam)2.82
#819Humor(Jam)2.20
#1001Graphics(Jam)1.94
#1010Innovation(Jam)2.13
#1069Theme(Jam)2.13
#1106Overall(Jam)2.24
#1842Coolness33%

Comments

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:55am

A really short game but a game. :-)

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:01am

Ha, I win !

MrTwister says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:35am

I WIN!
Short but fun. It's amazing what you managed to do in such a short period of time (read on twitter :)). Sad thing you didn't have more time to polish this idea!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:44am

Cute octopus. I liked the jump mechanic, and I reached the win square! It's impressive to do a jam entry on top of a compo entry.

Lizzip says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:18am

I win! :D

ovenchips says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:36pm

You deserve serious kudos for the most quickly made LD entry I've ever seen!

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:09am

I just had a nice time with this one, take some stars, son!!

local minimum says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:36am

The thing is, it is really quite a fun game. And taken into account the short time you had, very impressive. I could easily see this expanded by a procedurally generated bubbles to jump up on. A rising death from below and some meter for how far you've gotten. And high-scores to that. Then you have a nice addictive mobile app, or annoying rage quit arcade game in general.

Brightstar says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:06am

Nice one. I like it.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Good for being made in just 40 minutes.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:06pm

it is really cheap at first sight, nothing in it and yet i just continue to push myself to the top until i win.
Nothing too challenging and really fast entry for LD33.

well why not?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]