Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

It Came from the Rift!

by ZNCatlaw - Jam Entry

It Came from the Rift! chronicles the efforts of an intergalactic federation to drive back the cosmic horror that came from the rift... It is a tale told from the perspective of the monster.

Each player controls two of the great beast's eyes, using its eye beams to super-heat the federations battle ships and cook the tender meat beings inside. Though the ships carpet your magnificent body with their plasma blasters, their struggle only feed your cosmic rage. All will be devoured. All will be consumed.

ATTENTION

This cosmic invasion simulator is played with 1-4 dual-stick controllers (like the XBox 360 or Playstation controllers). On Windows the controllers should work with the default settings, but on OSX you may need to configure the controllers using Unity's Input Manager when you start the game.

Controls (1-4 players):

Left Stick: left eye
Right Stick: right eye
Left Bumper/Trigger: left EYE-BEAM
Right Bumper/Trigger: right EYE-BEAM

CREDITS:
Game Design: ZNC++AtLaw
Music: Epidemic by Mike Bleeds (*used without permission* so check out Bleeds' profile on Bandcamp and tell them how much you love their music! https://bleeds.bandcamp.com/track/epidemic)
Graphics: lovingly remixed by old man @clangmuir
Sound Design: the one and only @nomoon
Programming: Chris Cudahy, @nomoon, and @arrogantgamer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#349Innovation(Jam)3.25
#418Theme(Jam)3.59
#428Graphics(Jam)3.58
#428Fun(Jam)3.19
#605Humor(Jam)2.66
#631Overall(Jam)3.09
#707Mood(Jam)2.87

Comments

AdayMC says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Very good game, good idea and nice polished work.

Well made music and good mood in general. The UI appears inwards, I don't know if it was my config or something, I tried it on Fantastic.

Was so hard to kill them all but I kept trying lot of time, thats a good thing

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Thanks!

We stole all the music, without permission, from Bleeds (https://bleeds.bandcamp.com/track/epidemic). Do us a favor and check out his Bandcamp!

The UI at the end if upside down on purpose.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:23pm

There should be at least some option for keyboard and mouse control, if that would work at all.

Its annoying being required to have a pc compatible gamepad to play PC only games like this.

lurumdurum says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I really liked the game over screen showing itself upside down, really made me feel more like the monster. I would have loved to see a little more features in the game, but the use of the lasers did feel very polished so that was nice. The graphics fit nicely together as well which was appealing.

Infernal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:38pm

I don't have a controller so I can't play it.
I made the same mistake in an old LD where my game used the numberpad of a keyboard and so, excluded majority of laptop users from playing it easily. Should have offered us some alternate bindings for mouse/kb,.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:47am

Super clean and fun. Loved the inverted victory screen for the fleet.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:37am

Keyboard/Mouse controls would be really nice :(
Upside-down "You win" screen is a very nice touch to the theme :)

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Folks without the gamepads: interesting observation! This is a pretty gamepad focused experience, especially considering the local multiplayer option. We all hummed and hawed about it a bunch though.

Everyone else: thanks for the lovely words! We were out for pizza when someone suggested the upside down end screen, and we all laughed a bunch. @nomoon made it look smashing!

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Nice game. I just think you need make a version for Keyboard+Mouse or something, because few people will actually play your game with the gamepad restrictions.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:14am

The graphics, audio and sfx match really well. The gameplay is responsive. I completely lost it at the end screen. GJ :)

hate-marina says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 9:41am

Kinda fun. Seems I heard the same sounds in Zanac or Guardic Gaiden ;)

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:44am

hate-marina, it's possible! We are the remix culture.

Brightstar says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:19am

Cool arcade experience.

nili says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:55pm

I played it alone. Aiming two beams is an interesting challenge, but ultimately the increasing rate of attackers makes you feel powerless. Overall, i enjoyed it.

The results screen is a nice touch ^_^

TackoramaLtd says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 8:04pm

No controller, no joystick... alternative keybinds essential.

Juin says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 9:51pm

I feel like loosing in inevitable(maybe im doing it wrong), but for me every game was over in less than 30 seconds and it also starts out really hard, maybe a more shallow difficulty curve would've been good.

3CGames says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Fantastic game! I played it with my friend and it was good fun, I loved the special ability and the upside down writing.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:31am

Oh, 3CGames you make us so happy! That's how the game is meant to be played for sure. Glad you could get the special shot!

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Nice idea, with a different gameplay. I like the controls with the gamepad (perfect with a 360 controller). Maybe a bit hard, but good job anyways!!

Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:53am

The inversed win screen is just brilliant.

KuGrou says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Really liked the controls and visuals. Though as others have mentioned keyboard support would be nice for players without any controllers. Keyboard would also provide another player slot for those who want to play multiplayer, but don't have multiple controllers.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 9:41pm

I'm loving how many people love the win screen!

WubAlliance says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:02am

This entry was really fun. It is a shame my team isn't around, I might have to revisit this one with more players ;) . The graphics are awesome, this game has incredible visual appeal. I would suggest a little more balancing on the side of player count/difficulty, this game became very tricky very quickly. Overall well done, this game felt very polished and smooth. 5/5 for fun & graphics.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Cool arcade game! Loved the touch with the upside-down "You win" screen! Graphics and music are nice (though the back ground could a little more "spacey"), and mechanics are very smooth.
The only complaint would be no support to keyboard/mouse but I understand the difficulty.
Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]