Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

DRUMSTER

by SoulGame - Jam Entry

Grab a pair of sticks and follow the beat! Let your inner demon reveal itself and go crazy around your drum kit...

/!\ PLEASE DON'T RATE THE THEME UNLESS YOU'VE REACHED THE 3rd SONG OR WATCHED THE VIDEO! /!\
/!\ PLEASE DON'T RATE THE THEME UNLESS YOU'VE REACHED THE 3rd SONG OR WATCHED THE VIDEO! /!\

The entire game is build on the idea that you play the drum and become crazier as you evolve throught music style, to eventually become a evil monster playing hardcore metal.

CREDITS:
Arts/UI - Van N'Guyen
Programming - Yannick Elahee (@Tavrox_)
Arts/Animations - Alexandre Deny-Pasquier (@Moyen_2)
Game Design/Music - Séverin Larose (@SoulGameStudio)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#6Audio(Jam)4.49
#74Fun(Jam)3.83
#82Overall(Jam)3.89
#167Mood(Jam)3.64
#180Graphics(Jam)4.10
#394Humor(Jam)3.03
#699Innovation(Jam)2.78
#863Theme(Jam)2.95

Comments

Nurbs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:11am

I'm so bad at these kinds of games, took some real effort to get through to see what happened. But the slow transition was enough to make me want to. Great job!

glerikud says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:20am

The music was pleasant,but I hope for a bit more variety

GFM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:33am

Wow! Amazing animations and songs!

As soon as I saw a GIF on the home page, I was sure I wanted to play this game. It lived through the expectations!

Also, great use of the theme! This is the only game, so far, that I saw the use of "monster" like that. Really nice!

Congrats!!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:37am

@Nurbs: Thanks for making the efforts!

@glerikud: Glad you liked the music. There are other music style when you complete the first one!

@GFM: Thanks :) I hope the game worth the expectations

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:47am

A well polished rhythm game. It's difficult to do anything particularly special or unique in this genre, so it's tough to fault this game for feeling a bit vanilla. I'm generally awful at rhythm based games, so I didn't get to see much of this, but I did enjoy the brief time I spent with it.

tweedle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:33am

Really enjoyed the concept! Fantastic use of music as well. The game was a little loose on the theme side of things, but great job overall!

JoseArias says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:17am

Very good game. The graphics are very good and how is connected with the theme is original. Very fun.

JRedbeard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:22am

I liked the different genres of music and thought the instrumental tracks were well done. Not much gameplay variety, but what was there felt well put together!

Kakureta says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:26am

I enjoyed this one. It was difficult but fun. The music is great and the graphics are simple but good. The game makes an interesting connection with the theme but it's not really involved.

Crosstales says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:28am

Really like it
Remembers me on my Guitar Hero times
Great Job!

psychonull says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:41am

This is awesome!!
I had a really good time playing it. The graphics and the music are perfect, as well as the coordination. I think it's hard to innovate with this type of game, but the result you had is in a high level.
I will continue trying to increase my score.. Great job!

pnkthrepwood says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:46am

Cool pixelated guitar hero!
Tricky timing sometimes. Fun.

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:19am

This surely is a keeper! I will try to dominate the third song some day, but it is so damn sick! I loved it! The rhythm, the hardcore songs, the animation... it really took the meaning of monster to another level \m/

zillix says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:24am

fun and polished! the music was great, and I loved the presentation. well done!

chabuduo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:29am

Incredible work!
the difficulty progression is great, the content is great the final song is pure awesome.
And very cool take on the theme!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:48am

Great idea, nice implementation, good ramping up of the rhythms. I still can't coordinate playing any more than two instruments at a time, just like real life...

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:27am

Smooth. Love the animations

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:28am

Nice game.
You should have increased the difficulty more slowly, to give time to player to get used to the gameplay first.

Cheers,
Morco (of Los Pixelados team)

Yakka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:39am

Really too hard for me, but it's a really good work!

Caspila says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:41am

huh, interesting take on the theme. wasn't expecting a monster in that sense.

Thought i was gonna play for 10 seconds but went all the way to the end. Really solid entry, amazing art, animation, particles. The sound was really in sync with game notes most of the time.

Good job!

Vaida says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:21am

Great game! You put together a very nice rhythm game in only three days. The music works well, the feedback system is rewarding, I had a blast even though I was very bad at it. Interesting take on the theme. :p

LeafThief says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:13am

SO MUCH FUN - thanks for making this. Really impressive!

gdquest says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:48am

Great job! With a qwerty keyboard, the controls feel a bit uncomfortable. But apart from that, the game both looks and feels good! <3

RisingPixel says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Very cool! :)
The graphics and music are great. Sometimes the game lags a little, and that can be pretty annoying in a rythm game like this. But apart from that, good job!

kikaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Good job, addictive but a little exhausting, I can't feel my wrists anymore after just 5 minutes of playing ^^
I love your pixel art graphics so much too !

SoulGame says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:08pm

THEME : For those who don't see the Theme relation, it's because it's a bit later in the game! Those who reached that point understand it I think :)

Thanks a lot everyone for your very nice reviews, greatly appreciated here. Sorry for those struggling with the difficulty, it is hardcore indeed and could have benefit for a smoother difficulty curve (no time left to balance)...

m43c0 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Very nice take on the theme!!
Liked a a lot the pixelart too.
A bit tricky but I think it's part of the fun, isn't it? :)

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Nice entry ! It's really hard and bit repetitive sometimes but well done !

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:29pm

I am so bad at these sorts of games! This is really well put together and an entertaining use of the theme. I hope someone makes a video so I can see what its like to be able to do three things at once ;)

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Wow the graphics and the music are gorgeous. I love the way every riff loop until we succeed it and progress on to the next part of the song ! It allowed me to enjoy the songs even though I'm bad at drummer hero.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Really cool one!! Music and graphism are really cool. Great work!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:43pm

I'm so glad you liked our games guys, thanks for playing! For those who are stuck, if you wanna see the end, I just made a quick video: https://youtu.be/nXihe66Wbnc Enjoy ;)

superpatch says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:24pm

I love the animations! The game reminded me Guitar Hero but i never expected playing the drums with the keyboard to be this fun! Really good job, need more songs now!

Mythalore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Nifty game, nice art and concept although I can't really see the theme. Still a good job, all-around.

01101101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:55pm

So good! :D
I love rythm games so obviously I enjoyed this.
Great work all around: the music is excellent, the animations are amazing and fun, really puts you in the mood to be a badass drummer!
Probably the most fun I had testing LD games for now :)

ChrisFagan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Really nice looking game! It was a lot of fun (even though I sucked at it). Great work!

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Cool music game, nice animation, great interpretation of the brief

Romaing says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Good game, nice anim !

bombjack says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:27pm

amazing entry! I love this game! great job!

johnhackworth says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:39pm

this is the game from this edition that I have spent more time playing

KPapaGeorge says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Amazing game
This you can play this game for a long time without getting bored.
The music as also amazing.

conormn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:05pm

The animation is really slick. Really well done overall!

TagliatL says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Awesome pixel art and music, but in the end I was so bad, the song is actually really hard to play, maybe a difficulty level would have been good for noobs like me :D

Anyway, this is great.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Great game with fantastic graphics and animation. A little hard for me but very enjoyable.

Code Medicine says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Wow this is incredible! Definitely my favorite in the jam thus far. Thanks for the youtube video, I was really bad at this. The game is soooo badass when you get to the metal parts.

daydalus says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:52am

Very impressive rock band drum game! However, I suck at these kind of things ;) But was fun to learn the song as it went along - interesting how you let the song continue until you master it. Overall, very nice work!

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:52am

1st Thought:
"How am I the Monster?"

Pros:
I liked seeing a rhythm game thrown into the mix :D
Art/ Music were good

Cons:
Very loose fit for the theme
I feel like allowing players to set the 4 keys to their liking would have been a good option.

Overall:
I wish I could have played more, but the DFJK keys made it difficult to progress for me, lol.

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:39pm

The WebGL build threw an error and refused to work (Chrome).
The windows build ran fine.

Really nice Art and music but I don't see the connection to the theme.
Other than that it was a fun rhythm game though it became to difficult for me rather quickly. The key bindings don't seem to be optimal.

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:26pm

@SoulGame
Thanks a ton for your super detailed feedback on my game.

And also thanks for posting the youtube link. That third song. It's killer!
I played your game again to get to the song myself but just could not get past the second stage. I'm simply to clumsy. So I've listened to it on youtube a couple more times :) It's really great, a shame it's hidden behind a barrier some just will not get past.

That said it would be great if there was a noob mode, where you would progress even though you did not master a section (maybe after 3-5 failed attempts?).

The connection to the theme became apparent, too. I guess I should have read the description, then I would have got it right the first time around.

I did correct my ratings quite a bit, though I don't feel comfortable making my ratings public as you did. I think it's fairer if it's hidden as it might influence others. "What? He gave how many stars in innovation? Scandalous! Let me correct that." Something like this may or may not happen, I just prefer not to risk it.

And to answer your question on my game. Yes I did compose the music myself. Actually it's the first time I composed anything. Personally I hate that piece I made, so it really surprised me that you didn't :)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:55pm

@HeadMade

Thanks for taking the time to watch the video and update your rating ^^. No worries, I usually don't mention the rating neither.

I wish we had the time to balance the song in Drumster, or add an easy mode like you suggested, it's a shame the difficulty ruins the experience for most players.

Regarding your music, it's quite impressive how well it fits the weirdness of the scene, for a first compo, well done!

dydx says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:02am

Really well executed! The drumming felt nice and the difficulty curve was perfect for anyone already familiar with guitar hero. Great length too - short and sweet.

jackrugile says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:06am

The music rules! Thanks for keeping it varied. I love the look of the whoosh of the drumstick also. Well done, you guys.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:29am

Loved this. great work! Very good fun. I want to play them all again!

Insality says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Awesome pixel art guitar hero! got 788/878 from first time
Love any music game, and your game is perfect one;D

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Very great music! Andthe third song was god dawn hard! But I really liked it!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:13pm

@Insality : Damn, that's a better score than my third try :D Congrats.

Thanks all again for the nice comment! Really glad you enjoyed it.

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:21pm

One of the best games I've seen so far! Brought out my inner metalhead and rhythm gamer!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:24pm

I loathe rhythm games, but cause I'm a drummer(drumster?), couldn't pass up trying out this one. Nice job on the graphics and animations!

LeoM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:24pm

I watch the video. :o
Guitar Hero easy mode is to hard for me ! ^^
Good realization here anyway ! (and it's nice to have make a video for those like me ;) )

sleazywizard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Hits the spot! Well done

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Awesome music-rythem game! Would've been nice if there was gamepad support but I just about managed the keyboard.

Music and sprite animations were great, brilliant work!

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Very cool rhythm game. Controls feel pretty awkward. Using two hand makes it especially hard to multitask though I guess that's supposed to add to the experience. Audio is superb and graphics are great as well.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Wow...the browser window is moving now @_@

You made an insane game, I love the progression in the styles and the way the difficulty ramps up. Of course, on a music game music is vital, and you nailed it, too.

One of the best entries I've seen so far, awesome job!

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:37pm

I forgot to say I loved how each key was linked to a different drum piece and the distinct rhythm style that brought different gameplay with the different genres.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Oh man, I love drumming games although I'm infinitely bad at them. Great art and music!

azokal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Nice Game! Good sound, good mapping! Good job!

silentlamb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:12pm

I tried to beat this, but to me it's impossible. I'm wondering if the game would be easier if played with drums from guitar hero. Anyway, awesome entry!

SojaBird says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Haha that was super hard but really fun.

Good job and pretty neat you can take your time to learn eat section since it loops :)

Sweet entry

cbstegeman says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Wow! Love how you picked this idea for the theme. I was terrible at it, beyond the first level. But it was really fun.

someone says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Great game. Makes me wish I had a rockband drum kit again. Playing on the keyboard was really hard in the last section.

LeekAnarchism says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Ahhhh my eyesss everything's warped 0_0

On the other hand, this is an excellent game! It felt really polished, and the rhythms I had to bust out on the keyboard were quite interesting. If only there was a way to stop my eyes going weird from staring at the moving dots >_<

OrangeeZ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:16pm

If it wasn't for youtube video I would've never understood how does it even relate to the theme. Graphics/sounds are pretty nice though.

RoundFork says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Nice game!

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Really awesome and well polished, only thing I would add are custom keybinds, as the default DFJK is VERY awkward and unpleasant for me...
Other than that: awesome job guys.

Koneke says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Music was great, and the animations were amazing! I didn't find it all that hard, but I'm pretty used to rhythm games. I kept getting stuttering issues though where the screen and the music would freeze up for a moment, which made me drop the combo, so that was a bit annoying :/ Overall, nice twist on the theme, and congratulations on managing to create a pretty well polished rhythm game with so little time!

Stending says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:14pm

That's an awesome work, as always!
The feedbacks and the animations are great, that make the game so fun to play!
And the music is really cool, that's nice to see you try new game's style :)

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:00am

Fun, though they weren't kidding when they say hard. Felt like the songs were long, and not that much feedback when "messed up".

SoulGame says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Thanks for you comments guys! A few answers:

@klianc09: Yes you're absolutely right. DF JK was a first try for the controls scheme. But it was too late when we wanted to change them (all the buttons should have been remade) :(

@Koneke: Sorry for the little lags, we couldn't find a way t fix it during the short time we had left... Which version were you playing? For me, the WebGL version is way more reliable than others (including windows)

@spotco: I'm not 100% satisfied with the feedback either. Especially the lack of feedback when you let pass a note without hitting any key.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Short and sweet, apparently I did well even though it felt like I was having trouble keeping coordinated on the heavy metal level. It had a lot of character and I had fun watching my drummer embrace his inner darkness - Ludum Dare needs more metal and I'm glad you guys made it happen. :P

Great effort, well done!

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Fun but also really hard! It probably doesn't help that my keyboard doesn't hit every key either :D Stopped at 1000/4200 but watched the vid and it looks good! Very polished & unique... great job!

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:00am

I'm really too bad to go further than the second level. But the game is solid and have really nice pixel art :) Congrats!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 4:11am

Excellent--I mean-- Righteous game dudes!!! Close to the end I started to actually bounce back and forth in my chair as I banged my head! I gave you like all fives, peace out.

nomand says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:39am

Loved it. Nothing particularly new, but nice tunes, difficult rhythms and got me playing till the end. I got Drumbo on my first play! 866:757:109 was fund :D

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:17pm

DRUMSTER!!! 744:722:22. That was fun and nicely executed.

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:53am

Man, that last part was really hard ahaha. Love the music. The pixel art was great also, though I couldn't look at it much since I was so focused in the rhythm part. :P Great job!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Not shown: other band members revealing their inner demons as well.

(also, after a few tries I managed to get 715/793 with a "Drumbo!" rank, and I didn't need to repeat any section!)

The yay:
- really cool music
- original take on rhythm games - repeat a section until you get it right enough
- good effects
- graphics/animation

The nay:
- I felt like it was a bit too intense at times, especially with those triple key presses
- could really use restart option
- ability to redefine keyboard keys would be very welcome
- had to use mouse to PLAY/AGAIN in otherwise entirely keyboard-controlled game (plus in that kind of game you want to have your fingers prepared)
- just after launching, pressing DFJK gives me bad notes

One of my favourite entries overall! :3

Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Haha! Love your approach to the theme :)
Outstanding audio and amazing pixel art! (especially animations and special effects were spot on).

I would suggest moving the "progress bar" somewhere else (i.e. bottom right corner). It's red circular thing (bottom of the thermometer-bar) close to red circular thing ('D' notes). I found myself confused at times (especially in the last level)...

Great entry! :)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Aaaalright, played a bit more, even reached DRUMSTER! rank with 744/726/18 notes after quite a few attempts (and even managed to perfect second level several times; I perfect the first level on regular basis). Once you get the hang of it, it becomes quite captivating, inducing "one more time" syndrome. :3

Also, one thing I've noticed is a bit of lagging, probably caused by soundtrack decompression (you probably use MP3 or other compressed format for tracks, don't you?) as it happened between different sections. I'd probably load the relevant and the next part directly into memory, as plain samples sequence (I used that trick in a WIP looping soundtrack player of mine, so that loops would be really seamless), or include WAVs if there wasn't easy way to do that.

Also, there isn't any rank beyond DRUMSTER!, is there?

SoulGame says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:50am

Many thanks for the double feedback.

I entirely agree with all the nay you mentioned. Mostly lack of time...
It's very cool that, as a rhythm game player, you enjoyed the game. Congrats for reaching the Drumster VIP club! Not many of us around :D

Your insight on the lag was super helpful. I did notice that when I played "Again" after succeeding, the game didn't lag anymore. I just tested and checked all boxes "Load in Backgrounds" for mp3 and now it does seems better on transitions but still some "random" lags :/ Will work more on that. Thanks!

Rest assured, "Drumster" is the best rank. That said, you can still try to beat my personal best which is 8 bad notes ^^

Grahhhhh says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:05am

1012 good notes! Guitar hero started kicking in near the end, and then it got nuts. Was a really tight game, I enjoyed the theme and the transition. Nice take on it!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:20pm

http://youtu.be/GfIfjItk6PM

In hindsight, one additional rank for one particular score wouldn't hurt. ^^"

disperse says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Awesome, great job!

SoulGame says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Thanks guys!

@Sunflower : I bow before you, great Drumster!

ColmiYveul says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 10:21pm

I'm a big fan of rhythm games, so you had me pretty easily :D 765/822 on my first play, I may play a whole lot more util I get a perfect score. Congrats !

SoulGame says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:49pm

@ColmiYeul: Cool! Good luck with your perfect :)

radmars says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:31am

Awesome! I love seeing rhythm games in LD, and the music is solid. Pretty tough but I managed to get 720/741. Keyboard is a bit awkward for controlling rhythm games like this but I suppose it's tough to support much else under these circumstances. Could use a smoother difficulty curve but otherwise this is great. Nice work! FYI I got this error trying the webGL version: http://pastebin.com/mryFpp7t on both firefox & chrome, but the unity player one worked.

Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Challenging, lovely game. I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aXZw1Jpw2JA

Devark says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Really well polished game. Looks, sounds and feels great. Especially loved the animations of the drummers. Good job on syncing it all.

Matt Hartley says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Loved it!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Haha, it was fun! I suffered from a bit of intermittent skips and choppiness but I'm sure that wasn't your guys' fault. Things were getting kind of fun near the end there! :)

Draft says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 8:24am

Really cool. Nice jobs.

Vladirien says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Nice graphics and music. Too bad I suck at this kind of game to fully enjoy it :(

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:14pm

I kinda miss the point of the theme in this game. It's just another rhythm game. Overall well rated but I had to go low on the theme part, I didn't get to the 3rd song but I watched the video and I guess it was very cheap.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Well done! it is really really hard, i couldn't get my hand on it properly, but i enjoyed it very much!
i felt like a monster of rock that's for sur!
good job!

Erkberg says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 3:02pm

I really suck at rhythm games, so I did not play it for too long, but it was fun nonetheless. I watched the walkthrough video to see how the game progresses and stage 3 looks totally badass. :)
Cool music, decent gameplay and nicely animated, good job overall!

chromebookbob says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Great music, very challenging gameplay, good rhythm

pixzleone says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Really cool.
Even as someone who plays the drums this was very difficult.
It has to be said tho, I'm preeeettyyy bad at rithem games. :)
Good job!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:26am

Crazy game %)

Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Too style ! I smile playing this game.

Fanatrick says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:54pm

For my previous comment I don't want you to take it the wrong way, I rate this game high 4s and 5s across almost every aspect, I just realized with the positive feedback you got you would actually benefit more if I pointed out what I thought was negative.

To clarify, the game is focused on rhythm, which I find lackluster in this sort of theme. I said it was cheap because only the last level has anything to do with being a monster, sure you could say it was the drummers adventure of becoming one but I just think it was lackluster and some other setting would easily net this 5s :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]