Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry Monster Attacks

by garvon - Compo Entry

You are young monster. You eat only cute animals because they make you grow. You dont eat other monsters, because that will make them angry and they will try to eat you.

INSTRUCTIONS:
Eat as many animals as you can. Avoid other monsters.

CONTROLS:
Move your mouse to control the monster.

Programs used: Unity 5.1.2f1, Adobe Photoshop, Audacity, sfxr

-------------------------------------------------------------------
Post deadline bugfixes:
Fixed bug where you could eat one animal multiple times
Fixed bug where bird and mouse did not speed up properly
Fixed bug where you could make monsters angry without eating one of them
Changed difficulty scaling to be more linear

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#229Fun3.38
#321Humor3.04
#331Audio3.02
#432Overall3.17
#500Theme3.35
#593Mood2.78
#704Innovation2.62
#784Graphics2.42

Comments

Mac70 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Easy mode - eat monsters just after you see them entering screen. Other that that, nice job! Funny, nice graphics, no major bugs.

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Fun and responsive, gets quite hard as you get bigger and all the creatures get faster. Nice job :)

hexabeast says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Fun to play

Komradus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Love the sounds each thing makes, that was great.
The game didn't penalize me for eating fellow monsters, though I was caught off guard when they got angry. Good stuff.

ToloaGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I like the fact that your character progresses. I had the feeling that sometimes the monster would attack me even though I didn't eat one.

AndreSilvs says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I find this game somewhat addictive. Kind of reminds me of snake because the monster grows as it feeds, and when he gets too big it's really hard to escape. Nice game.
Also the sounds and sprites are cool. Above all else I enjoyed eating birdies.

zanenga says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Very simple, but enjoyable! Nice one!

weazen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Love the simplicity of this. Sounds are great!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Heh, fun little game. I enjoyed.

uvwar says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Fun and responsive, nice sounds effects too!

chrissou says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Nice game, loved the home-made sounds! (Meow !)
Simple and fun

snooze82 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Nice one, had fun! Cool sound samples :)

cheapmecha says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:40pm

A nice game, I had fun playing it, good job!

gingerBill says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Pretty cool premise. Loved the little sound effects

DeusOpus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:24pm

An interesting premise, but perhaps a larger variety of animals and monsters would be nice.

lucentbeam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Neat little game! As others have said, it's pretty addictive. You should refine it and adapt it for mobile :)

JayWoody says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Nice little mechanic in you game!

I liked it. Also the sfx were funny!

parDal says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Fun and simple.

It's very strange visually, but I would not count that as a downside.

The mechanics are solid, functional, minimal and challenging, reminds me of games such as Tetris and Pacman.

The sound effects are nice.

Overall, a good game.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:25pm

The graphics need some work.

Zammalad says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Nice entry, and some nice game concepts in there. Only a few minor bugs which I think you have corrected. Graphics were the part which let the entry down mostly but still a good effort, well done.

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Loved the audio :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Fun little game. Controls felt good. Loved the visual representation of your score

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:52am

Got really hectic really fast, nicely done!

Realize2D says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:32pm

it is very funny to play, and well balanced.

fistmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:11am

Great entry! Simple and clear objective. Nice job.

NuDawg says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Loving it. Had to give 5 stars for almost everything. You're game is more fun than mine LOL

garvon says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Thank you. I am already working on post jam version with some more features.

granut100 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Really fun and I love the music!

guoboism says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:30am

Hard work for this game! It's a simple game!

Tosic says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:17am

Love it, nice sounds, innovative, funny, love it!

Sep 5, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Simple and well made game! I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aXZw1Jpw2JA

LukeZaz says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Felt like it would've been better if you weren't using the mouse cursor, and eating on touch made not eating monsters diffcult. Still liked it, though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]