Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monsters

by Alexander Ramsay-Baggs - Jam Entry

20 years after the most devastating war in human history, the world has changed. Overrun by mutants, monsters, horrible things. To survive, you must become like one of them, mutating yourself so you can become stronger than the rest.

This game is a horror, top-down shooter. Dark, scary and hard to survive in. Your objective is to find the monster that only legends talk about. A monster so heavily mutated, that it's DNA would make you the strongest being on Earth.

Please enjoy!

////LINUX USERS////
Hi there, it seems (according to comments) that our game won't run on Linux. Seeing as I don't really have a way to try the game on a Linux machine, I'm not sure I can resolve the issue. Very sorry. I have uploaded a rebuilt version, I hope it works. If it does not, I can't really do more.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#416Mood(Jam)3.28
#670Innovation(Jam)2.82
#765Graphics(Jam)2.86
#804Overall(Jam)2.90
#827Fun(Jam)2.65
#856Humor(Jam)2.10
#892Theme(Jam)2.88

Comments

Deadeyejoe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Great job ! i really enjoyed it :)
+ Graphics, innovation, Theme

Roboboy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:26pm

I loved this game! It took me a whole clip just to kill the very first mutated human, oh my!

Perkovec says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Great work, guys!

FloatingGhost says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Can't run, crashes when I click play.

Linux x86_64

fdslk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:03am

nice mood, setting and innovation. Yet some sounds for the zombie attacks would have been nice. I was attacked several times without realizing.

iapc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:09am

Don't start a game with a glossary

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:27am

Good work, I really like the game's mood.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:51am

Cannot run the game on Linux

razavidn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:02am

Having trouble closing the tutorial window :(

CaptainKraft says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:22am

Tried to run the game on Linux. Got through the intro but most things didn't work and the game was unplayable.

lebrokholic says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:30am

Very nice work! I'd recommend you to restyle the graphics, the gameplay is great by the way

Reallysketchy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32am

This game's really great! I really loved how dark it was, but sometimes that meant that I got killed without realizing. I think it would be really helpful if the enemies made sounds or you made a sound when you were hit. The same thing goes for thirst and hunger. Overall, though, it's a fun game with a fantastic mood.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:06am

Really nice job. The atmosphere is really nice and I liked the concept. Good work.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Awesome intro! Really liked the atmosphere. Game is pretty hard though.

bakakyo says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:58pm

For some reason I couldn't run the game on Linux (I know it's untested, just giving you some feedback) but it's working just fine on Windows ;)

Max rating on innovation for you. Really really good!
The gameplay is really great, you should keep on polishing the game, enhance the graphics, make it even darker. Great mood and atmosphere!

It would be awesome to have some more feedback on the enemies.
Congrats, great work!

Boberro says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Too difficult for me :). Enemies are too fast, and it would be better if there was an indication that enemy noms you from behind.

ChaosCult says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:52pm

I hated controls, especially the way the camera kept moving when a container is open. Also, I haven't figured out how to open the door in the first room and the damn dog kept getting in the way. A very frustrating game, and not in the good way.

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Hello, I like the atmosphere of the game and I think the gameplay is well-thought, however I had problems with the controls. But nice entry anyways :-)

Big Cow says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:44pm

I really wanted to play but I couldn't work out how to leave the first room and I died twice wah!

logiclogue says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Very nice game!

Patomkin says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Whoa, that mood of darkness and inevitable death! Awesome!
Yet, I tried to survive multiple times and every time it ended in me not having enough ammo to shoot all the bastards that were creeping around :/ Also, sometimes the pistol did not reload until I opened the inventory and clicked on the ammo icon (all this while running away from a zombie).

Quij says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Great start! Loved the voiced intro. I like the idea of becoming more of a monster to beat the monsters, but unfortunately I didn't make it very far.
The lack of feedback (audio or even visual) when I'm under attack almost guarantees I lose a chunk of health before I even notice I'm getting hit. The only workaround I found was a lot of silly spinning to make sure nothing's sneaking up on me.
I really liked the visual-cone/flashlight mechanic, though. It accentuates the darkness and made me paranoid about things sneaking up on me. Great for atmosphere :)
Overall, good job!

Nurbs says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:57pm

This game is way too hard :V
I think the hunger bars go down too fast and it's hard to tell when you're being assaulted by a zombom

but otherwise it's ok.

Macecraft says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Unfortunately the game wouldn't even let me press play or quit, so I haven't had the opportunity to even play.

Darkflint says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:07pm

A lot of text in the beginning, but well, you explain the reason first, so it´s ok. Controls are a bit too fine for my liking, but that´s only a matter of training. Graphic is very nice, but this game really need music and sound! Overall pretty nice.

bossmojoman says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Nice job, had a hard time figuring it out but fun!

n9Mtq4 says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 2:33am

Loved the mood with the darkness and limited flashlight range. One thing that I would change is the dog collision. Got annoying sometimes, when I couldn't back up.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]