Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Wandering Monster: Pluto's Heart

by Robot Souls Games - Jam Entry

As a defective monster, try to return humanity to the God of Death so that you can save the world from going down the toilet.
Explore a vast, vicious world full of death.
Find items and fight to survive.
Contains 1 or 2 secret things. I think.

Arrow keys move your little monster body.
Shift makes you run.
Z throws a knife. (Useful!)
X swings your axe. (Also useful!)

Try not to die.

Made by Jim and Dean Yockey.
Assistance by Ayden K. and Trenton R.
Visit the artist's blog! (Shameless plug)

Read the readme so you can know how to cheat.

Contact us at robotsoulscomics@gmail.com

This is our second LD entry.
If you like it, also check out our first.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#544Fun(Jam)3.03
#582Audio(Jam)2.59
#588Overall(Jam)3.14
#634Mood(Jam)2.97
#817Humor(Jam)2.21
#830Theme(Jam)3.00
#834Graphics(Jam)2.72
#934Innovation(Jam)2.40

Comments

Croze says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09am

Um excuse you, the readme contained no cheats!!! Haha, this game was really cool though. Very much like the original zelda, the art and audio all fit together well.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16am

You have to look hard enough.

Downtown says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:26am

I don't think any of it rendered properly on my machine(it was like the visual artifacts from each frame were remaining between the tiles) but I finished the game, it was fun and challenging, I mainly avoiding the enemies but had to hack through hordes in parts. I really loved your sound and music, it was a bit crazy and dissonant but I thought it was awesome.

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:28am

it s pretty cool, and yeah the readme kinda no cheats on it, but good game, like they say, is like the first zelda, wich is not bad. i personally didnt like the skull guy. But it was a cool game

pnkthrepwood says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:31am

Can't find the first temple

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:35am

Cute character! The sound effects became jarring very quickly, though, and the controls felt a bit unresponsive.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:37am

@Everyone: The cheats we talked about are at the very bottom of the readme.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:51am

@MagnesiumNinja: Sorry about the sound effects. We made them by grabbing instruments from our music software and messing with them. This is our first LD game with sound, so we were a bit inexperienced with sound effects.

lucentbeam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:52am

The audio was strange, but I actually really liked it. The way the music came together with the discordant and instrumental sound effects was slightly jarring, but in a moody and fitting way.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:55am

@Lucho9: Who do you mean, "the skull guy"? Do you mean Pluto, the skull enemies, or the main character? Why don't you like him?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:56am

@lucentbeam: Thank you very much. We are amateurs when it comes to sound, so I'm glad we achieved what we were aiming for.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:07am

I wish it have mac or web version.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:09am

@A_K_: Sorry. We programmed it in C#.

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:15am

The audio was a bit annoying after the first few hits
Overall good game though

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:22am

Pretty fun! Reminds me of the original Zelda. I hope that was the idea. You move around soooooo slow though.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:22am

@valid4life: I agree with you.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:23am

@Slashee the Cow: Hold shift to run.

yajiv says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:25am

The sound effects were really bizarre. I loved it. Nice game, overall :)

guoboism says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Firstly. A map will be useful. Also save points, too.
I think the battle(throwing knife) is fun. Overall very done!

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:02pm

@Robot Souls Games hehe, sorry for my english, i mean the enemies. it s for personal preference but it s well made :)

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Really nice zelda like game, and serious props for making and in game editor as that is a lot of work to put into a game. I did enjoy it, and had fun exploring the game, but I have one small question: for as large as the world is that you made, why is Pluto's heart and Pluto in a single straight line? It's possible to miss most of the game if you just head down. Other than that, the sound effect choices were a little odd, but not to the detriment of gameplay.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:40pm

@dalbinblue: We made an in-game editor because it made it much easier for us to make the game. It was much easier than coding in every stage. About Pluto and his heart being in a straight line, you are right. It was a mistake. However, Pluto's Heart was the only required item, (although the heart boosts are helpful) so wherever they were, you could beat the game by going straight for the heart, and then straight for Pluto. We could have put the heart and Pluto in more out of the way places, though. About the sound effects, we are amateurs at making sound effects, and didn't really have the right software for it. Thank you for your extensive comment. We're glad you took the time to play the game and give us your feedback.

euske says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 9:56am

I put a lot of time to this game. I really liked the overall gameplay (although it gets repetitive when you die). I seemed to get a bad ending by accidentally killing Pluto, but is there a good ending? Either way, I enjoyed it a lot. Great game.

Atridas says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Loved the game! A brilliant approach to the topic with some storytelling involved. I had no sound at all for some reason :(

Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:46pm

@euske: Sorry. There's only a bad ending. Thanks for playing our game.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:47pm

@Atridas: The sound is based off of Windows Media Player, so if your computer doesn't have it, the sound probably won't play. To hear sound, you need Windows Media Player installed on your computer, and we went by the assumption that most people have the program.

ChaosCult says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Nice game, but the sound/music is atrocious, it really pained my ears.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:10pm

@ChaosCult: Thanks. I hope your ears recover soon.

Meta-link says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Great game ! Story is cool, art and audio are nice too, and you achieve to do a Zelda like, so good job :)

rogberth says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Creepy and fun game. I enjoyed everything except the sounds... tried to mute the game from windows but attack sounds will still sound lol

Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Very nice. As has been said, the sounds could get grating at times, though the worst offender was by far the axe sound, in my opinion. Though not a bad set at all for your first time doing sounds. Really liked that you added the edit mode, as it let me experiment with things a bit (and, of course, when I died, I could just skip back to where I was without too much trouble, which was nice as it meant no chance for a savvy reviewer to get stuck and unable to see the end of your game as has happened to me in a couple of previous games).

Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:16pm

@A Flat Miner Studios: It makes me overjoyed to see that one of the players has finally figured out how to cheat at the game. As for the axe, it was also one of the first sound effects we made, and we all agree it was made poorly. Thanks for playing.

DeadFragment says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:12pm

The progression of difficulty could've been better implemented as some rooms just felt too overcrowded with enemies. The sound effects used could also really grate on you, especially the shooting noise, if it's a sound that's going to be used consistently in a game you need to make sure it doesn't get annoying so fast.

-Neith

Eldan_Knight says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 5:24pm

You have here a good base for an action RPG. I liked the monster's variety and behaviour. I also liked the touch of throwing back a projectile with the axe.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:55pm

@Eldan_Knight: I'm glad that you discovered that mechanic. You can also knock back projectiles by shooting them.

Oct 13, 2015 @ 1:04pm

The sound is a bit harsh, but its a cool game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Ee0UBhVOJOc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]