Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Sticky Pudding

by Headmade - Compo Entry

I'm looking for honest and constructive feedback, so don't be shy and let it all out in the comments. No hurt feelings if you say anything bad about the game :)

You are a pudding sitting on a stick which is attached to a wheel that you are able to control with your mind alone. Game of the year right there.

Download and run the Sticky_Pudding_LD33.jar

Initially I wanted the game to have a deep and meaningful conclusion but then tomatoes crashed everything.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#146Humor3.47
#204Audio3.29
#213Innovation3.42
#223Fun3.39
#416Mood3.07
#442Overall3.16
#504Graphics3.00
#835Theme2.58

Comments

Orni says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:01am

nice idea
I liked it :)

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Too happywheelish for me, but it's fun to practice our reflexes and balance. Not the game of the year but a nice break between the sad things i've seen.

ZzCalvinzZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:42pm

fun game

miwuc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Game of the year? This deserves an academy award!

terop2 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:43pm

This looks like very difficult to implement. Good job.

mantis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Quite fun :D

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Thanks for the comments guys. Especially you Shina69. I want to hear what you didn't like about it. Honestly guys, I'm looking for critique and honest feedback.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Nice idea, Got a nice QWOP feel to it. Also glad to see more people using LibGDX.

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:07am

So difficult!

BlackQuiltro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:08pm

- Nice game! Difficult, but this kind of games are all about practice and patience.
- Had a lot of fun with it. One of the games I tried for longer so far.
-I didn't know if it had an ending (got as far as the third ramp) I think a clearer goal was needed (like distance to finish or obstacles passed) This is important for this kind of games because of difficulty (you need to stay motivated to improve and enjoy it!)
- Nice graphics and sound
- The theme was not used too much but it was a happy game.

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:07pm

@BlackQuiltro
Thanks for your feedback, very much appreciated.

You're making a good point about the lack of a clear goal. There is a goal/end to the game so I absolutely agree that I should make that clear to the player.
Btw there are six obstacles in total, so you were very close to the end :)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Thanks for the cool comment on Drumster :)

If that's not too much to ask, I'd like to invite you to check the Youtube link we provided (https://goo.gl/NLgdJ4) in which you could see the connection with the theme (and if you change your mind, please update your rating :p). It's a bit tricky because the link to the theme appears at the end of an hardcore game... Poor choice of design I made!

Regarding your game now:
- I couldn't play on web (loading frozen) so I download the windows and it worked.
- You want honest and constructive feedback, here you go: this is the first time in this jam I smile upon discovering a concept (humor 4/5)! And this is also the first time I experiment really tight controls (my favorite kind). So this is fun to play (5/5)!
- Plus, the frustration is limited by the fact that I have complete control of what I'm doing (in theory at least...).
- I noticed that the jump was maybe a bit more usefull than you probably intentend as it often allows to prevent death by making you going up at the last moment. It sometime simply prevent death just like it'd make you invincible (if I jump right before the ground and still hit it, I won't die and will be able to continue).
- Arts (3/5) aren't that great but sufficient, sfx are perfectly correct and the cool music (4/5) weirdly fit the whole ambience (4/5) Out of curiosity, did you composed it?
- Despite my 15min of effort I couldn't go pass the 5th obstacle... That said, I'm already proud for passing the balancing one.
- Regarding theme, it's a bit of a joke as the theme is not exploited and that could be anybody on that bike... BUT as it's both original and fun and mainly because the monster brings some enjoyable weirdness to the game, I couldn't give you less than 4/5.
- So overall great job (4/5).

tGiant says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:28pm

This was an interesting idea, but very very difficult gameplay.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Forgot to mention that I'm not convinced by the visual and audio feedback of the death. It was a bit too discreet and unsatisfying. I miss a obvious, clean death (particles, dead jelly sprite, clear sfx...). This was an issue because a couples of times I didn't die touching the ground, and could have continue playing, but I noticed too late.

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:53pm

@SoulGame
Thanks for your super detailed feedback.

To answer your question: Yes I did compose it (obviously as this is a compo entry). It's my first ever music piece and I hate it. I'm surprised you don't ;)

And I made the jump deliberately more powerful. At first it only boosted you forward in the same angle you were pointing. I added the extra umph upwards to make the "OMG I almost crashed" moments more likely. Reading the comments the game seems plenty difficult even with the powerful jump.

Skyfish says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Surprisingly enjoyable considering it is a ludum dare game. The mechanic sets it apart from many of the other games an i like that. The first impression of the music was that it was very good, but it got old very fast because it seems to loop too quickly. If you want inspiration on what can be done with audio in a game like yours, look up "jelly car" (the first one) https://youtu.be/9THE-yzmCB4?t=11 it had no music, but because all the sounds were made by a dude going "boing boing" it was instantly hilarious with almost no effort, and made the theme united with the art (jelly) and the silly physics (also jelly).
The gameplay in your game is hard (as others said, very qwop), and I think it could work, but I am too impatient. I couldn't even get one meter before I got bored (but that is me, i am too impatient, especially when rating ludum games). A distance counter would have doubled my playtime probably... putting detailed art assets constantly would have quadrupled it though.That way you get to see story/art when you even just move a tiny bit. this also opens the door to telling "implied story" through the visuals. Since I didn't get very far, I don't know about if there is a story so I won't say anything more about it. Overall I liked this ludum dare game.

superfreak says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Hilariously frustrating :)

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Really fun and addicting game. Tried so hard to win, failed miserably. Nice job!

psychonull says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:40am

Amazing mechanic. Really nice game. A little hard for me. Good job!

tweedle says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Fun and funny game! A bit tough at first, but once you get the hang of it the game really takes off. Great idea for this jam!

MrTwister says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Man this game is incredibly difficult!
It's very creative though. I mean, it definitely draws inspiration from other games like happy wheels but it's the first game of this kind I've seen this LudumDare.

Loved the music and SFXs, and the art was also really nice.
Definitely good stuff, sir. Congratulations.

dvdking says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:14pm

The learning curve is too steep. I spent good 10 minutes trying to beat some level, but no luck. So I would recommend to introduce difficulty in less harsh manner.

I enjoyed the mechanic though.

Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Very fun.

Antokolos says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:34pm

It is funny game, but very hard!

Llucile says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Keyboard mapping would be nice for people who don't use qwerty... Kind of fun, but the learning curve is really too hard. It's just no fun losing a lot right from the beginning.

Demy says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 8:52pm

The monster is cute. At first I didn't get how to make this thing go for even small distance, but then it came to me with practice =))

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Very cool keyboard hurting game :-), is it possible that obstacle has more grip than floor? Nice entry!

LeoM says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Nice but soo hard !
Some check point could have been usefull, it's very frustrating to not be able to reach the third obstacle !

wooltech says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 2:04am

Fun, but tricky.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:48pm

- interesting gameplay concept
- i liked the music, reminded me of monkey island
- doesn't seem to have much to do with theme
- gameplay was really hard and a bit frustrating, but also kind of fun
- breaking it up into separate levels or checkpoints would help
- the furthest I got was pure luck, i did a flip and ended up going really fast but didn't make it to the end

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]