Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

You're It!

by cambrian_era - Compo Entry

A game for the PICO-8

The Story

One fine day, four friends decided to play a game of tag.

Foxy, the quickest
Froggy can swim
Bunny who burrows
Tater, it's him!

How To Play

Arrows: Move

Each round, you will play as a different friend. Your goal is to move into the
other friends and tag them. You win the round when you tag all your friends!
Complete all 9 rounds to win!

When you move, your friends will move as well. Watch them carefully, because
each friend is different!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#149Fun3.55
#203Graphics3.65
#215Humor3.28
#248Innovation3.35
#318Overall3.30
#509Mood2.94
#902Theme2.20
#1796Coolness35%

Comments

Azlen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:39am

Bunny was so hard to catch on the level with those three burrows. Every time I got close, he just hops in the hole and ends up on the other side of the map. Took me a minute to finally catch him, quite satisfying trapping him in the top-left corner with no burrows nearby.

Fun little game, but lacking a bit in theme, I don't usually consider foxes and bunnies (with an exeption of The Killer Rabbit of Caerbannog from Monty Python) to be monsters, especially with the cute pixelart you made for them.

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Genius idea, having four different monsters and changing which one you play as each round. Monsters weren't very monstrous. Levels were decent.

I love the "big pixels and bright colours" look.

Bunny's burrowing would have been better without the randomness IMO as it took away from the skill a bit.

Nice work.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:13pm

That was a cute concept, I would have liked to see even more dramatically different movement behaviours for each of the friends.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Incredibly fun and would fit well on an arcade machine. The take on the theme that you're the monster in your adorable little campfire yarn was fun, but not really what I was looking for in the theme. Overall quite enjoyable.

DragonGino says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:45pm

an fun and slow relax game.its realy to understand what to do and every animal has there own uniqueness.

01101101 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:15pm

As someone you had the "game of tag" idea as well, I had to try yours! ;)
Nice game, I didn't get to the 8th round because I spent too much time running after Froggy in the 3rd round, but I like the idea of having different characters have different abilities.
Good job!

JoseArias says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:16am

Nice game!!! Very very fun.

zatyka says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Cute, clever, and well executed. I enjoyed it. My only complaint is that the theme felt a bit lacking.

Also, frog is a dick.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 2:27am

Really neat - loved the retro look and sounds; it all blended well.

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 3:50pm

The bunny really gave me a hard time :D But it was satisfying to catch him after all. The gameplay is well polished and the art is super cute! Don't think the theme is really strong in here, but the game is fun! : )

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:06pm

(from pico 8 forums)
Apology accepted. Loved the different mechanics for each animal, and the eversion thing randomly happening was hilarious. AI was pretty smart but I caught them all >:)

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Nice. Love the sounds. And the graphics. And, well, guess the whole thing was just nice :)

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:59pm

nice game with good difficulty ramp. good job!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Pretty fun and charming entry. I loved the retro graphics and how well thought out each friend's abilities were done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]