Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Fear me

by joe - Compo Entry

You are the monster!
And they should fear you!

People are frightened when they notice you. Harvest their fear to win.

But don't get noticed too much, or your existence will be confirmed and you will lose.


(Made with Godot: http://www.godotengine.org)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#95Theme4.00
#225Innovation3.40
#509Mood2.94
#558Overall3.03
#614Humor2.36
#649Audio1.95
#674Graphics2.66
#760Fun2.57

Comments

GagaPete says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:40am

I am not entirely sure why, but somehow I managed to scare the person. I'd recommend changing the time limit to a turn limit though.

joe says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:53am

Thanks! Yeah would have been better probably.

To be honest, I just ran out of time and added the timer so there is any challenge at all :)

DarkCart says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:42am

Interesting concept.

Yamzho says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:51am

I would have love to be able to use arrow keys or WASD to move, but the concept is very interesting.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:53am

Really interesting concept, i love how the eyes pop from under the bed:D kinda creepy. Didn't manage to scare the person, but it set me in a great monster mood!

congusbongus says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Interesting idea, although I felt there wasn't enough here to do it justice. For example, you could add stealth elements where you need to hide from lights or manipulate objects in the room for extra scaring.

Romaing says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:51pm

I like the idea to frighten people with monsters :) Controls are a little slow with mouse maybe

GBGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Ohhhh, ok, I got it now. You want to be seen, but not too much.

I liked how the sleeper cowered as you got closer, and if you were too noticed that she turned on the light, which made hiding important sometimes.

I agree that the timer was confusing because the game otherwise feels turnbased, and I found it frustrating that the monster has to take up some of that precious time turning around.

Neat concept, and good use of the theme!

@SamPotasz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:47pm

The blinking eyes are such a nice touch. Especially when you see them glowing under the bed!

But I couldn't figure out how to scare anyone :-(

x1212 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice idea, and use of the theme!

sergicollado says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I like him eyes between bed jajaja

madalaski says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Great concept which carried out very well. The mixture of turn base and horror is genius. There could have been some audio effects or more interactive objects around the room but all in all, a good entry.

pixzleone says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Cool idea, with more time this could be really nice!

kles4enko says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:15pm

step by step I'm moving to you.... Nice!

Tosic says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:14am

Very good, but it is also hard, I couldn't exactly get it ;)

madmaw says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:17am

I love the tactical aspect of this and the context-sensitive actions, great for mobile. Could do with some more variety, feels like the concept could be explored further

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 8:10am

The game is a bit limited as is, but I appreciate you're trying something original here. I would like to see the concept explored further.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]