Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Haunt

by thedashdude - Compo Entry

Haunt is a kinda-puzzle reflexish game. The game has a short tutorial and everything else is fairly simple. It has a level editor, which can convert levels to strings so you can post your levels and other people can load them. If the level editor isn't playing right you may have to save and then load. If anyone feels like posting a level I plan on playing any in the comments.

UPDATE:
I made a version with easier buttons. Not sure if this counts as a legal bug fix, so let me know what you think.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#539Innovation2.88
#566Theme3.24
#599Fun2.82
#610Audio2.30
#669Overall2.91
#679Humor2.23
#717Mood2.58
#784Graphics2.42

Comments

thedashdude says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 2:43pm

0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000040000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000020E1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000020E1111111111111111611111111111111111111111111111111111E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000005000000000000000000000000000000000000000000E0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000020E1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111E(123,576)(129,560)(142,336)(171,336)(63,448)(122,448)[89~560][93~448]

Somfin says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:22am

Difficult to tell where the ghost's click zone was. The houses also seemed a bit too spacious for the size of the characters.

sepharoth213 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:26am

I like the concept of your game: it's a nice reverse-lemmings kind of deal. But, it's SO hard! The timing is incredibly strict even at early levels, and I skipped through a bunch of the levels and got to the spike levels where the timing is even stricter. If the timing was more forgiving then the 'puzzly' aspects of this game can actually shine. I loved the level where you had to drop the chandelier through the bridge and hit 3 guys at once, but it took me 10 tries to do it even after I figured it out.

Anyway, congrats on your entry!

Teekeks says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:31am

Too hard after Level 3 or so?

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:44am

Pretty cools game, I do like the gameplay quite a lot, and I don't recall seeing puzzles like this in other games. My biggest complaint is the controls though. The triggers on the attacks you can perform are very, very small, and the way you have the game built you need to jump from one trigger to another very quickly. I missed so many of the triggers while playing that it did start to get frustrating. If you go back and work on the game, I would suggest going and seeing if you can increase the size or of the clickable area for each trigger so that even if you don't hit it exactly you you will still activate the attack.

TheRuseman says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

Got to around level 4, but the difficulty curve was very steep.

A_Cat5 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:46am

This is a great game just make the buttons bigger this could be a really good smart phone game!

Gelatohead says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:30am

Pretty neat, but what would make it better was if the buttons were bigger.

thedashdude says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Would making the buttons bigger and people slower be an allowed post deadline bug fix?

daveh says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:05am

Really like the concept. Same problem with the size of area a click is registered in, but otherwise the mechanic is a good one. Fits the theme really well.

bentglasstube says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:09am

Really awesome idea for a puzzle game. The graphics were a bit tiny and hard to click on with precision.

inurashii says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:13am

Adorable! I liked the variety of traps and the way they worked. This game isn't a kind I enjoy, but I appreciated the craft level. I loved the weirdly stark, plain-color graphics too.

GameQuester says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Yeah the buttons were a bit small and the timing was very hard, even at the beginning. Beside that a quite fun game.

Sadale says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:22am

Good game. It is very challenging.

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:26am

Great puzzle game and impressive amount of content. You have the right idea for a game jam: a simple concept that you have the time to develop well and make good content for. As opposed to most of the rest of us, who attempt something way too complicated and the game ends up only half realized. :)

So yeah, as others have said, the timing is pretty harsh and a bit frustrating but... I did end up beating every level so it's not impossible. Get good. ;)

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:47am

Started to become very difficult after a while but I enjoyed it for 10 minutes or so.

Chaosmore says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Finished the game, the graphic is deceiving, it's kind of a hidden gem in my opinion. The puzzles are actually very clever. Frustrating, yes, but it's fun to figure out how each of the trap, though have very simple function, have their unique purposes and produce variety of result. Would have gave you a much higher rating if things like graphic or audio or humor isn't counted.

Zeriver says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Solid game, requires quick thinking. I like how many different traps are in your game, it makes game less repetitive. Sometimes it's hard to click on traps but other than that i don't have any complains.

MHaton says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Gets extremely difficult very quickly, but after a few goes at the same level you see the timing, which makes it more like a puzzle to figure out the correct sequence. Not bad at all.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]