Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dreamcatchers

by Indiestry - Compo Entry

Dreamcatchers is sneaky assassinate-them-up taking place in a surreal cornfield-lavyrinth. You will need to cover your existance from photographs-taking humans.
To prevent them from escaping once they cought you on camera, you can attack them.


!HOW ATTACKING WORKS:
You will need to hold down lmb and don't move in order to charge your attack. The screen flashes red once its fullf charged. Let go of lmb to attack the nearest human.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#228Graphics3.57
#293Mood3.24
#541Audio2.53
#561Innovation2.85
#572Overall3.00
#614Theme3.15
#705Humor2.14
#755Fun2.58

Comments

TwixtorTitan says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:45am

Great art style. Always love games that look like this :)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Mouse look is far too sensitive. I'm either lookup up or down, never straight ahead. Needs a slider or something.

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:17am

Nice art style

ajopart says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:28am

Nice art, indeed. I would have place the camera a bit higher to take advantage of this beautiful grass-full landscape.

Benlitz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:32am

Pretty graph and interesting gameplay. Attacking humans seems to randomly work. Nice game anyway!

fubenalvo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:54pm

The game has very good atmosphere. The art style is realyy good. Buut I didn't found anybody in the first run. This game shouts for a minimap. :)

MAnimal says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:41am

Nice idea with stealth. Best theme correspondig i have ever seen here. After restart i must run .exe again. Imposible to get witness. I like this game.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:46am

I have no idea where the first photographers go after they fade into the fog. How do they get away so fast!? When the level restarts due to a witness escaping, the initial screens of text appear upside-down/reversed and dimmed. Totally weird!

The charging sound is a little grating compared to the calm background music, but I like the style of the game. Very cool!

CheesyRamen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:46am

I loved the art style!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Interesting idea with a nice art and atmosphere. The game looks promising and I feel that the style is very personal. I love it :-)

Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:22am

This looks great! A really nice feel to the world as you move around.

parsia says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 9:00am

nice game.

Volatile Dove says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:06am

Great art style!

Small bug: when I lose and restarted, the screen was reversed and the game was not working any more.

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:26am

Lovely visuals! Congrats with the great entry!

glerikud says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:53am

It has a nice style and the idea behind it is also good. My only problem was that I didn't know what I was doing with this charged attack thing. It seemed that I didn't kill anyone.

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Not a bad start at all! It was really hard for me, there seemed to be more humans taking pictures of a homicidal monster than I had energy to attack, but I liked the concept, the stealth, and the overall feel of it!

WizzardMaker says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Nice and funny game, a progress bar of your attack would be useful thoug

3CGames says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 5:54pm

The game looks fantastic, I love the palette. The controls felt awkward and there wasn't much feedback on actions.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]