Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries


by Robinerd - Compo Entry

You play as the infamous thief duo. Stealth through the security systems in the museums of our nation. Steal the golden goblets to finish your very valuable collection.

The game was made to work great on tablets, but also works with keyboard.

Drag the players
Multi-touch is supported

W A S D for left thief
Arrows for right thief

Not recommended
Drag the players with left mouse button

Made in Phaser

Downloads and Links




increpare says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:19pm

collision is a bit fiddly/hard to make out because of the perspective, and the spaces are tight

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:20pm

An extremely original and innovative puzzle game! Very engaging and fun to play. Wish there were more levels.

You should really consider making this into a full-blown game.

P.S. By the way, don't forget to add link to the source! It's required by Compo's rules.

someone9999 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Really neat puzzle game!

Getting the chalice not to move into the lasers was mind bending in how you had to move both characters.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Cool, very original little puzzle game. Good job!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Thanks for your nice comments! The source is available if you just press ctrl+S in your browser, so I was a bit lazy yesterday when it was late night. But I will add a download link now so that it is easier for anyone who wishes to download. And for correctness of course :) Thanks again!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:48pm

There we go, source code added. Sorry for the delay!

Hurlenuit says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:58pm

This game is very good, puzzles are tricky and innovative, good job !
I don't really understand the link with the theme though.

Clurect says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Really original and great that the puzzles keep coming.

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:41pm

This is an awesome puzzle game! Would be a fun mobile type game too!

TooMuchPete says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:44pm

This is neat! Frustrating in a good way.

I agree that the perspective makes the collisions tough to reason about, but I love the faster levels that require me to coordinate movement of both thieves at the same time and quickly.

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Cool gameplay, fun mechanics and very well implemented, especially the physics. The art is consistent and pleasant. Nicely done!

GagaPete says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:50pm

This game is innovative but frustrating. I never know if I'll collide it not. The lasers in the latter levels move a bit to fast. You should give the player a second to realize what is going in in the level.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Thanks! I'll have to overlook the perspective for sure and make the collisions more obvious. I think it is currently hard to notice the height of the players' colliders, and corners are a bit sluggishly defined as tiles as well.

All in all I hope to keep on with this, adding more basic puzzle mechanics and combining them in different ways.

Also a soundtrack and some sound effects should be nice as I was quite sad about not being able to come up with a music game for the theme this time.

I think I will keep the fast-paced elements in the later levels, but I will need to polish the controls to make sure it's manageable. I do agree though that the player gets thrown into the action a bit too harsh at the one with a laser moving upwards, hitting the trophy early on.

psychonull says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:35am

Very original concept. Fun to play. Good job!!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:58am

Nice execution of a really neat idea! I really liked the moving lasers, they added more suspense to the puzzles. The puzzles were pretty clever, but they felt like it was more about nudging the characters by the correct amount rather than figuring out the correct path. The characters accelerated too quickly when using the keyboard, and the hit area for the characters when using the mouse felt a little too small, made the drag and drop feel a little unresponsive.
I liked that you managed to make so many levels, nice work!
The art-thief setting is really cool, would be nice to see that concept fleshed out more if you decide to continue developing this!
By the way, aren't the real monsters art critics? ;)

Leuthil says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Really great puzzle game. Very creative and fun!

TLansdale says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Cool idea, well-executed. Not really seen anything like this before. Nice one!

RiaDelva says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:24pm

very nice! I gave up when the barriers started moving :D

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:31pm

The yay:
- innovative concept
- pretty fun levels (especially since lasers started moving)
- good graphics (though characters kinda stand out against the rest)

The nay:
- inconsistent collisions checking (perspective-based for thieves, sprite-based for chalice)
- very dubious use of theme
- no audio!

I agree with others that it's an idea worth further development!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:39pm

There is now a post-compo edit available with work to try and mitigate the collision inconsistency. Was sketching on a soundtrack earlier today as well but it didn't turn out very good at this time. But I really hope to add it soon to the post compo! I often make music games in LD and this time was sadly no time left for music even :(
Regarding the theme my interpretation was that thieves are monsters, but I was really lacking good ideas around the theme, and I do agree with you that it's a rather far-fetched interpretation.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I actually went on and disabled voting my game in the audio category, and should've done so earlier. Hope to add some to the post compo instead!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:43am

I really like how you added shadows to the objects, to indicate what is the actual collision area! I wonder if they can be made a little more subtle without losing their functionality, but overall you're going in the right direction. :)

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Pretty good idea and fun to play.

A_K_ says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I don't really see connection between the theme and the game, but the game itself looks pretty neat and fun to play.

Coruja says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Very good puzzle game. Controls works perfect, but I have some trouble to learn the colliders. Great job.

AdayMC says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Really good proposal, good puzzles and nice mechanic.

Good job

cheapmecha says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Nice game, got me quite engaged, I generally don't like puzzles but this one was nice! Good job.

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:40am

Very interesting & original puzzle game, could have used a bit of polish (not a fan of recycling levels)

Larzan says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Nice idea, interesting puzzles. No theme though...

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]