Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Celeste

by Miziziziz - Compo Entry

Celeste, a duel in the stars.

Extremely high-speed space dogfighter, essentially. Screenshots do a terrible job of conveying it.

Controls:
Mouse - Aim
LMB - Shoot
W - Accelerate Forward
S - Accelerate Backward

Note: bullets are harmless, the explosions are not

Used Unity, Soundation, Inkscape, and Paint.net

Very happy with how this came out; wasn't a fan of the theme, but it worked out alright in the end.

EDIT: added a postjam version with easier dogfighting, basically just made the enemy slower and not lead its shots.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#248Mood3.32
#381Innovation3.14
#381Fun3.14
#388Audio2.90
#533Graphics2.95
#632Overall2.95
#897Theme2.25
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:17am

The movement of this is so awesome. Loved just flying around doing tricks especially since I pretty much sucked at the dogfighting aspect. Will be coming back to practice some more though. Minimalist art worked so well with the music.

SelfTitled says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:03am

+ Loved the movement I also sucked at the dog fighting aspect lol
+ Music

- Maybe a little difficult
- No sfx, found myself saying pew pew pew.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:32am

Very well written and fun dialogue. The game is very hard and I didn't manage to get a single hit, but afterwards I kinda thought that might have been the point. Which I liked. :)

VDZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:24pm

I will have to disagree with the players who liked the movement. It feels very chaotic and hard to control. Although the sense of speed is great, I can't say I ever felt really felt in control; I can tell it roughly where to head towards, but actually moving the way you want seems impossible.

The dogfighting aspect feels unimpressive and unbalanced. It plays way too fast; by the time you see where to aim the fight is already over. The fact that the moments you're actually close enough to really fight are so short (and you simply can't see your enemy outside of those moments) and the lack of sound effects (pew pew pew, the sound of your ship flying and the sound of the incoming enemy ship would be great to hear*) don't do it any favors either. Firing is effective only at close range, and the specific range depends on your movement, giving a huge edge to ships moving backwards (as you're firing long-range against a ship that can only fire short-range).

I did like the graphical style. In contrast, the music got repetitive rather quickly.

* (I realize there is no sound in space, but surely your ship's instruments would at least give sounds to indicate these things? For example, in World of Warships you obviously can't hear the torpedoes moving towards your ship, but the sonar ping still gives an unrivaled sense of impending dread.)

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:17am

Thanks for the feedback everyone!
Lack of sound effects was mostly due to time restrictions (though laziness was a factor).

Apologies for the overdone movement speed; towards the final hours I jacked up the enemy movement speed and acceleration rate by a ton and added a bunch of extra code to the AI to make it a lot harder to fight. It was a lot easier to manage dogfighting before then as the enemy tended to stay on the screen a lot more.
I'll probably make a postjam version and change it back (or maybe even just change the original as I believe the rules allow for that kind of thing).

I also had an interesting mechanic that was like a space grappling hook that let you change directions quickly, but dropped it for the sake of simplicity. Code's still there in the source if anyone wants to try it, just uncomment the bit in the PlayerInput script under if(Fire2).

VDZ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:18am

>I'll probably make a postjam version and change it back (or maybe even just change the original as I believe the rules allow for that kind of thing).

Balance changes aren't allowed, only bug fixes and other accidental stuff. (Basically: It's not something that broke unexpectedly, it's a decision you'd make differently now that you have playtest information.) Many games would be better if only the creator had more time to playtest, but such are the limits of 48 hour games.

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Alrighty, well the easier version is available separately on the gamejolt page. I'll make to sure to specify it as postjam.

kmiitz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:03pm

The gameplay is really awesome...! And really liked the overall atmosphere. The concept could be used to make a really good game. Keep working on it!

Not at all in the theme however ;-)

Moist says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:15pm

As previous commenters mentioned, the fighting aspect is hard to control. Flying around at high speed and shooting feels great (and the explosion effect is awesome) but I simply couldn't hit the opponent. Maybe you could increase the damage radius of the missiles? Or make the ships slightly bigger?
I really liked the overall feel and aesthetics though. The minimalistic graphics fit the space theme very well. And flying around is a lot of fun on it's own, so good job on that.

Also, you had troubles running my game - I believe I've managed to fix that (you won't see the night effect though):
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=16352
I'm sorry for mentioning it here, but I couldn't find any other way to contact you. Cheers! :)

Louspirit says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:06pm

This is very enjoyable! I would like to fly like with this style in a cave or something. I was playing with headphones and the music is great! But I havent felt the theme.

3CGames says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Cool feeling to this one! I didn't understand how the theme came in other than the weird text boxes and there wasn't much feedback to player actions.

Sep 9, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Hugely innovative! Well done!

MAnimal says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Its fun to fly the ship. Why are you not add side movements too?

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Awesome graphics! Very stylish.
The controls were amazing, really cool idea. It was very satifying to fly around the screen.
Nicely put together and a really strong entry, good job!

WubAlliance says ...
Sep 15, 2015 @ 12:38am

Very fun, fast-paced shooter. I love the movement and shooting mechanic. The overall style is incredible, please make more of this!

quantumpotato says ...
Sep 22, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Help I get "this app cannot be opened" on OSX.. anyone else?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]