Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Loch Beautiful Ness

by thiagofr - Compo Entry

You are the Loch Ness monster.
And since you exist only on photographs, you must keep the legend alive!
Strike a pose for all the tourists. Find the right spot in their field of view so they get the best of your image!


This was the first game I ever made for Ludum Dare, and although is not perfect, I'm very proud of what I managed to create.
Made with Unity, so the "source" link has all the files and scripts I used to create the game.
Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#539Innovation2.88
#539Theme3.29
#655Humor2.27
#667Audio1.40
#753Graphics2.50
#831Mood2.21
#905Overall2.40
#935Fun1.75
#1504Coolness44%

Comments

chromebookbob says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:01pm

interesting idea, fits with the theme but I don't know what happens after you get in the right position

MrDave says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:10pm

This is a good entry level game, next time you might want to make something with moth depth. However you stuck to the theme well and added touches like the jumping humans that you would expect from larger games.

architect404 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:20pm

it's like the opposite concept to my game! :D
not much of a challenge but cute graphics and a nice first attempt at LD. good effort!

g_o says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:30pm

I'm not sure what I've just played...
I think you should make some goal or something to keep the player interested or to give some purpose to the game.
I'd also recommend adding some explanations or illustrations since I didn't know what the hell I am doing haha the area turned green but nothing happened sometimes.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Nice entry for a first time, I'd recommend adding more visual feedback to the moment you're well positioned and the person takes the picture. Good work anyway!

LeekAnarchism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Nice idea! (and similar to my game in a way :) )

I liked the graphics and the little touch of the photographers jumping for joy after taking Nessie's photograph.

Would be nice to have a little confirmation when they do take a photo, e.g. a click sound.

filiph says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:20am

Nice. I like the idea. A simple way to add more challenge would be to a) have each photographer have a different green zone (different ideal distance), b) time limit for each run.

Congrats on your first entry!

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Nice concept. Not bad for a first LD.

lukepilgrim says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:50pm

cute :D

s_jmp says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:37pm

the idea is interesting. :D

local minimum says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:00pm

I really liked the way Nessie was floating up and down in the water. It was confusing at first that there was a particular area within the cone that was good. The reason, I think, was that Nessie could enter the cone without it starting to change color. So I didn't notice the red, and hence not the green. If it had turned red directly, it might have helped, but it might also have been just confusing because the expectancy on the such a cone in game is very much that the entire cone is the same thing. Once I got a hang of it, it was kind of easy, especially since all the humans were standing still on a shore that was very straight. So I think it is a good start for a game, but it needs some more work on the game aspects and the feedback to the user.

PotatoGrader says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:49am

I could fly to the Moon and play among the stars.
As said before, the game lacks some purpose and challenge. And also variety. Maybe you could search the lake for photographers and there could be some "legend-meter" that rises when someone takes a picture of you and falls as the time passes.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:49am

Not sure what I'm supposed to do - are there more instructions?

LittleThor says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:42pm

The idea is interesting but try to add some challenge for the player next time. A timer, point system or combo system would have been great here.
Nice work for you first LD ^^

Sep 3, 2015 @ 10:53am

Great cute concept with nice use of the theme, just needed a bit more gameplay but definitely a great effort for a first ludum dare, nice job.

Brightstar says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:36am

Wonderful! - Professor Oak

MaesK says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Interesting concept, at first I was looking some button to do different poses, but it seems a specific position is what photographers need.

Nice work being your first game! Please come back for next Ludum Dare :D And don't worry about rating or great game quality right now, you have learned and finished a game in 48h, you should be proud!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]