Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

This is NOT a scam!

by Reccy - Jam Entry

Welcome to the MacroFirm™ Technical Support Center!

You play as Riley, the best damn scam artist this company has ever seen! Ruin people lives, steal their credit card information, and get rich while doing so!

This is a game of persuasion. Gain your client's trust and convince them to give you their credit card information because it's in their best interests - or ruthlessly threaten them with the fact that you can ruin their lives!

Controls:
>Use the mouse to select a chat response by clicking the arrows, and then click "Submit" to send your response.
>Once you get the user's credit card information, insert it into the form on the right and click "Sumbit" to confirm the details. Once the details are accepted, click next to talk to the next user!
>If you fail to get a user's details and they disconnect, click "Skip!" to go to the next user!

Remember, don't give in to sympathy!
You are the Monster.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#14Innovation(Jam)4.24
#34Theme(Jam)4.24
#41Humor(Jam)4.06
#83Overall(Jam)3.88
#97Fun(Jam)3.76
#248Mood(Jam)3.50
#442Graphics(Jam)3.56

Comments

walaber says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:26am

aw man, Windows only? I guess I won't be stealing any credit cards tonight :(

Eingya says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:34am

That is a cool game concept!

The game is fun albeit a bit simple. I would honestly play the hell out of a more complex iteration on this theme and gameplay!

Scripturus says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:42am

This was very good! Nice concept and great writing.

Reccy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:45am

I uploaded a new Mac and Linux version, but they're untested. So hopefully they'll work for you guys :P

allinlabs says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:59am

Disclaimer: can safely played at work. It's actually a great app if you're working in a call center or IT department. I see a lot of potential for pranks in this... But enough with my evil plans directed at my co-workers.

People might be fooled by the austere interface of the game, but it's actually perfectly coherent with the game.

There's a connection between you and the people you scam. At least that's what I felt. I would love to play an enhanced version with more in-depth conversation, get attached to their personality. And then just scam them!
The summary at the end was a really nice touch. I felt even more connected to them. Like, my choice had consequences to this people.

Like you can imagine, I really liked you game. Consider me a fan. It reminded me of @oujevipo's game "Never Alone Hotline" (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-22/?action=preview&uid=1874), but in a more dicky way.


You monster.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Hey, if you guys want to access the secret levels in this game, just forward your SSN, credit card number, and home address to my email. I need these things to show you where the secret level is. Completely free. Not a scam: I promise.

Nice game, though. Would recommend.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:14pm

fun concept

Meursault says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:19pm

I really like your take on the theme. I just wish for the tab key to work while inserting the information ;-)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Very nice game. The dialog options are great, and it's quite relitable to IRL

Bocodillo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Fantastic idea, simple to play & the short stories at the end were the icing on the cake. Great game!

Nate says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:28pm

The ending legitimacy made me feel bad. Ah, well. I'm rich now, so what do I care? Mwahahaha!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Wow. This is top tier quality stuff.

I really, really, liked your concept, and your execution was flawless. It really gave me that 1998 feeling, and the webpage (that's a lot of extra effort) really adds to it. I didn't really like punching in so many credit card numbers, which I felt was a bit unneccesary, but it's fine. The conversations were amusing and it really carried its sense of humor/a bit of darkness too.

Definitely the most creative game I've played so far and I'll be surprised if this doesn't get top 10.

GertJohnny says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Neat idea! My Wandisk 97 only has copy/paste functionality in the data input boxes though, stealing info could be so much more efficient. I truly am a monster.

UltraRat says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:38am

ha... of course scammers are running with pirated wandisk os. Lots of good polish touches.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Liking the concept and gameplay. It was fun to figure out the ways in which to scam the person.

HotBoxGames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Oh wow, I had loads of fun being the monster, great take on the theme!
I loved the game-over screen, where the repercussions of your actions are shown, I felt so bad for old Mrs Clark!
Solid game!

Razoric says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Really cool idea! Good job!

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Omg... It was ending necesarry? I feel bad now! :D Anyway, amazing entry!

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Awesome game! I like that you involved psychology in this thing! You need to recognize the type of person to know how to decieve him.
Though not really a complex gameplay the "levels" are very well written and designed!
Though this is pretty dirty haha XD

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Well done! Showing the consequences of your actions at the end is great.

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:11pm

I loved your game! Great concept and a very original take on this theme. Played until the end and now I want more :(

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:41am

Just plain amazing. Really enjoyed scamming people and their reactions.

CuriousWonni says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:27am

very nice game

Simonaiso says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 8:13am

Really original! like the concept and the graphics. Luckily I did not have to type in all credit card information..

TackoramaLtd says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Creepy in that Windows way... Mac version works fine.

randomhuman says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I could totally do this for a living.

yuigoto says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:38am

Nice concept for a game and really scary monster you chose! :P Nice to "gather" info from some clients, as always! ;)

I came upon a screen where a "Seth" gave some credit info that was denied, then the game stopped, is it this way? :P

Reccy says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Nah, that's not supposed to happen. I had another look over the game's code and I can't see anything that would cause that kind of behaviour. If you could tell me what you said to Seth to cause that it would really help me find out what's wrong. Thanks for checking my game out though :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]