Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Thursday the 12th : Lake Polygon

by bossmojoman - Jam Entry

You are Hook Hands, And there are some loud, annoying, coed campers ruining the quiet around Lake Polygon. I mean, you get like, 10 minutes out of hell once an century and these DudeBros and their annoying Girlfriends are ruining your break.

I guess it's time to chop them to bits.

Thursday the 12th : Lake Polygon is a homage to all the great slasher flicks of the past.

Controls
WASD and Space to throw your Machette.

You can only carry one Machette at a time. To kill a Camper, simply run into them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#197Mood(Jam)3.58
#273Theme(Jam)3.76
#388Fun(Jam)3.24
#388Overall(Jam)3.37
#505Graphics(Jam)3.43
#506Humor(Jam)2.82
#516Innovation(Jam)3.02

Comments

Demy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Wow, awesome game. Love it. It's pretty nice that you can trap someone between the houses.

Tuism says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Great, moody piece, music and the visuals work well together, the sound effects work well.

But the game... There's no indication of where to go, so you're left wandering aimlessly in quite a huge space, and your speed is terrible so you can only really hope to have a machete (which are super rare) or that they just happen to have their backs to you when you see them. If not, well then keep walking.

There's potential in the subject matter, but the execution right now is lacking as a piece of interaction.

sleepYxy says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Great music, adds suspense and gets you right into it! At some point I was worried for myself because I just wanted to catch the next vilager off guard.. their death felt kind of.. satisfying. Good job for making me feel that contradicted!

What you could do better is to take a look at the huge map, it is hard to locate people and to get back at them when you already scared them away.
If you had a chance to pick up your already thrown machete that would be great and a good way to make up for the great distance between you and your target.

That bit about the meting in hell made me chuckle :D Blasted meetings..

thegdr says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Loved it!

Selzier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:25am

Very cool game, slaughtering my fellow campers is a blast- going back for round 2!

ponywolf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:47pm

I like the top down look and feel... Also really smooth for HTML5... Nice work!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 2:46am

Very well put together, 5 in mood :D

Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:15am

My biggest beef about this one was the length of time it took to get the game. I didn't even realize it was still downloading from GameJolt. Great job on the game, though!

Flaid says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:22pm

I really liked the graphics style -- the top down view worked well. The music and the theme were perfectly blended and, overall, the mood was perfect.

The controls seemed a little mushy to me. It was hard to chase down the campers when you don't move as fast as them. Throwing the machete worked well, when I had one, but that was very rare.

Also, small inconsequential bug I noticed: when the countdown timer gets below 10 seconds, the amount of time doesn't look quite right... IE, it says 6:9, 6:8, 6:7... but, like I said, that isn't really of any consequence to the game itself.

Galan says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Fun game, but it drags in the later parts, when you have very few coeds left. Zooming out and/or adding a 'coed sense' would go a long way in making it more fun.

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:34pm

The art is realy nice and the game is fun. I wish there was more machetes tho... good job!

congusbongus says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:46pm

The game is pretty good, I think the viewport is a bit too small and the coeds run around too quickly, so you end up running around randomly hoping to catch one without a weapon. Nice atmosphere.

1y1e says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Great atmosphere, really feels like you're stalking these stupid kids when they're running everywhere and you're slowly boxing them in. Good job.

Daukan says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:40am

I liked the gameplay that you have created. It was hard to find the last 2 guys. In my opinion the sprite of the machete guy should have gone in a other direction. It looks like a walking typewriter. Overall a good game.

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:50am

This was cool! I died by sneaking up on someone with a bat though. I think that should be changed.

Zeriver says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:11am

I like this old horror movies atmosphere, great choice of music.

gv1351 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Like your art style

Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Corner a coed and shank'd them, what a gratifying feeling! heh.

Good job with this entry. The music and sound effects are a great tie-in for the mood. The game's name is perfect.

-Loi LeMIx

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 12:09am

I enjoyed the setting, and the description made me chuckle.
The game was pretty engaging, I enjoyed hunting down the annoying students but I felt that they ran away a bit too fast, I couldn't catch them without a machete most of the time.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 1:15am

This was really fun to play. The music adds a lot to the mood and atmosphere. Also bonus points on humour just for the title alone :P

wooltech says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Nice idea, and pretty good graphics on the whole, although tough to see which way someone is facing when that aren't moving.

Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:39am

Very cool. Love the use of theme and the art assets are particularly cool.

OnlySlightly says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 1:45am

I love how cute it was despite being about murdering coeds. (Little hook hand is a great name) I love how you made everything out of basic shapes. It made it appear like construction paper cut outs. You really captured a B Horror Movie vibe. Awesome job with the fire and water effects. it really did add to the atmosphere. Great job!

crucknuk says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:12am

There is some potential in there, it would have been great to expand the idea actually.
I couldn't really sneak on them perfectly, they alway see me :P maybe my mask is THAT scary :P

Sep 10, 2015 @ 8:58am

Pretty neat game! It has some minor things you could improve, but in general, it's pretty solid, and the concept is cool. For 72 hours, it's awesome!
Great job ;)

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 4:19am

Awesome game! Loved the humor and the mood xp! Graphics and music are great too! I just think it's weird that you can walk normally in the lake and the sprites get that water effect... I don't know how to interpret that...

Mechanics are fine, but it's a bit unfair how they can easily spot you, since basically can only kill with stealth or by luck if they get stuck somewhere... But I find really funny how people ran away from you but left their friend clueless xp. At first I thought the trees gave you camouflage, but that wasn't the case... It would've been a great feature though... Also the map is a bit too big? When it comes to 10 campers is really hard to find them... catching the last one was impossible to me. Maybe a smaller map or maybe a radar?
Oh there is also some collision problems when hitting walls, but that's just detail.

Anyway great job! And don't forget your coffee cake!

felipeberquo says ...
Sep 13, 2015 @ 12:53pm

I played the web version.
I liked the art style of the game, specially for the threes. The effect when you get into the water was pretty cool too, but after some time it gets too heavy and the game crashed. The credits button didin't work for me too :(
Besides that, you have made a very nice game! Congrats

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]