Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

The 74% scientifically inaccurate cheese fabrication process

by SiMouth - Jam Entry

Learn 5 steps to make a good cheese.

I found the Ludum Dare 33 theme a bit weird, but I tried to do something with it. I hope it is good.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Humor(Jam)3.91
#486Innovation(Jam)3.05
#494Mood(Jam)3.16
#531Fun(Jam)3.05
#614Audio(Jam)2.47
#796Overall(Jam)2.91
#803Graphics(Jam)2.77
#1075Theme(Jam)2.10
#1668Coolness39%

Comments

komjaur says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:28pm

"You're so bad at this"
But mom.
I dont know to cut cheese :D

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:45pm

THAT PLOT TWIST DOE

adsilcott says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Got stuck on the dicing the cheese.

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Lots of laughter over here, nice job haha

Skyfish says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:50pm

I can't get past the cheese cutting because it is too difficult with a touchpad.

congusbongus says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Haha, way to make milking disturbing :)

SiMouth says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:57pm

I didn't test it with a touchpad, but I can say it's definitely not designed to be played this way, sorry.
The following levels would be a problem too.

Tip for the "dicing" part : the game checks if you click on a small area around one end of the red line, and if so when you release the mouse button it checks if you do it at the other end of the same line. It doesn't matter if you actually follow the line.

Waterman7 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:57pm

My cheese got stuck on the board, so I couldn't get it to rest in the mould. Would have loved to see the ending :(
Apart from that, great job!

superfluous says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:57pm

The milk and cheese dialog was hilarious. I wanted to see the end so badly, but the filling the mold minigame was broken to the point of being uncompleteable and the cutting the cheese was so frustrating/inconsistent that I couldn't bear restarting again.

zenmumbler says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:07pm

That's the 2nd game so far that made the Munster joke. As expected in a Jam, some of the mechanics are fiddly as hell but it was a fun experience nonetheless. Nice.

Dianouille says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Got stuck at the "shaking cheese" part (2 times haha I'm so bad at this). Some cheese cubes are stucked on the board and if you shake it again, it doesn't move anymore :/. But it was really funny and quite enjoyable, good work ! :)

cjke.7777 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:44pm

What the hell did I just play? Very good, but very different

undef says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Shaking the cheese is buggy, it gets stuck and wont move anymore.

kaitokidi says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:40pm

so good, no need to say more, soooo gooood!!!!

Xanjos says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Never looking at cheese making the same way again. Apart from a few issues such as the accuracy threshold for the slicing stage and the physics in the mould stage being broken if you're not careful, this was actually quite fun to play.

Vennril says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 12:00pm

That was unexpectedly funny :D
All the text bits from the cheese were both hilarious and adorable. Nice compilation of mini-games too. Love it! :)

nassi says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Didn't realize I could move the shelf containing the cheese cubes until playing to that point three times. I can't believe I'm bad at a game that is this simple :P.

Nice little game/experience. Definitely a nice change of pace.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]