Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

uZombie

by HayManMarc - Jam Entry

uZombie is my 2nd ever LD entry. It was very rushed in the end.

The HTML5 browser version runs pretty slow during level changes for some reason. The windows version is quite a bit faster and responsive, all around.

The game was supposed to have a Zombie Mode that you could you could use, but I ran out of time to fully implement it. Also, I believe there is no dying as I didn't get to that, either. The damage given and received is out of balance. And the levels are stupid, at best. But there's at least some kind of concept you can review, if you'd be so kind. :)

You review and rate mine, and I will rate and review yours.

I robbed the menu system from another project, but still had to plug it into this game. I don't know how that fits in with the rules, but there it is. Music is http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/. Everything else - all art and other programming - made within the 72 hour period.

Now, my brain is fried. I'll update this with an HTML5 version and a few more screenies soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#130Audio(Jam)3.69
#285Fun(Jam)3.40
#336Mood(Jam)3.37
#522Graphics(Jam)3.40
#538Overall(Jam)3.20
#711Theme(Jam)3.20
#727Innovation(Jam)2.75
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

Sunflower says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:57am

"Now, my brain is fried" - that's convenient, because fried brains are the best! ◕ ‿‿ ◕

The yay:
- choice of music
- I don't have to kill everyone, so I could confirm that entering the door and elevator in the last level has the same effect ;)

The nay:
- kinda rough round the edges
- zombie mode wasn't really implemented...

The meh:
- graphics (could use some consistency between gameplay/menus)
- gameplay (still, it's an improvement compared to BushidoBot *whistling*)

Overall, the idea has some sort of potential (the sort of potential many half-good ideas have) but it definitely needs more polish. ^^"

Quadnozzle says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:05am

I liked the direction you were going in! The damage mechanics worked consistently, and a good change between melee and gun-wielding zombies. The menu backgrounds could have used a little more consistency with the rest of the game. Overall, I had fun, nothing quite like beating zombies with a bat!

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:36am

Interesting story and graphics and the music fits in.
You still got some bugs with the HP bar, or am I invincible :)) ?
Funny animations :)

Cheers,
Morco (Los Pixelados team)

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Neat gameplay, simple controls.
I find this game immersive thanks to very good sounds & music. The graphics are not very consistent, going from pixel art to smoothed texts/textures, but this is a detail.
Good job !

MicroMacro says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:11am

After a while I lost all control of my character. I couldn't move the dude, which was sad. :\ But the game is nice anyways. Nice concept and pretty well executed. :)

terop2 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:46pm

i couldnt get it running...

Caspila says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Nice intro, got me in the mood straight away. Nice music and art, although I experienced a lot of flickering on some sprites. Also liked how you tackled the theme, you're a monster to both zombies and humans.
I wish the combat would be a little bit less button mashing. I had to hit each zombies like 5 or more times. Also I don't see the point of opening the door with X and then Down to enter, why not just Down to open and enter?

I was sad when I saw there was no more game after you become a zombie :(

Good job, liked the game and had fun!

lanestp says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Fun little action platform. Kind of reminded me of Bio Menace. I think with a bit more spit and polish it could be really good!

Vladik Plays says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Nice, ok'ish game. The whole game is very short though...

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! At the end of the jam, I only had a couple hours to make the levels and story, thus the shortness of the game. Plus, no time to implement Zombie Mode, which would have added quite a dynamic to the gameplay. Being a novice, all the code was getting pretty jumbled and crazy at this point. May have to start this one over from scratch. :)

collaboration says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Cute gamem with simple gameplay and story. May be later you will make a sweet from this game. =)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:45am

Fun game. Kept getting stuck on crates though

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Stuck on crates?? That's weird. I can't get stuck on crate even when I try. Could you explain more about where and how you are getting stuck on crates so that I might reproduce it to find out why it's happening?

Biruts says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]