Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Ollie's Journey

by brombatti - Jam Entry

In this game, you control Ollie, a boy who got lost in a mysterious forest and needs to find his way back home. During his adventure, he might find out that some things are just not what they seem.

Controls:
Movement: WASD/Arrows/Stick or D-pad
Jump: Space/A Joystick
Normal Attack - Q/X Joystick
Air Attack - On Air and S/Down Arrow/D-pad Down/Stick down
Interact - E/Y Joystick

Xbox360 Gamepad is recommended!


I hope you enjoy and, if possible, leave some feedback!

Rodrigo Brombatti - Programming
Thiago - Level Art
Melissa Sartor - Characters Art and Animatioms

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Theme(Jam)4.33
#20Audio(Jam)4.25
#28Graphics(Jam)4.61
#33Mood(Jam)4.20
#37Overall(Jam)4.10
#127Fun(Jam)3.66
#426Innovation(Jam)3.13
#470Humor(Jam)2.89
#1314Coolness47%

Comments

WuPex says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:51am

Good job guys

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:20am

I have to say this is one of the most functional and leanghty entries of this Ludum Dare. The graphics are nice and work very well and the music is awesome. Made even more awesome by the fact that almost each area has its own piece of music. The controls are nice and fluid and the level design, besides being a tad on the simple side worked. It lacked some polish though. Minor bugs can be found here and there but for a game made in such a short time that is understandable. However, I also encountered some more major bugs such as the E key bugging out and not registering and being knocked inside a wall by an enemy and falling into oblivion with the only option being a restart. Other than that, a very solid entry!

freaknarf says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:03am

Nice game ! Good graphics, good tunes, good story :)
Great job with art and well packaged and polished !
I had my E key bugged that stucked me at the begining, and after a restart it was ok. Maybe the very first level was skipped on the way back...
Nice job too with intentional glitches and shader use :) Great!

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:32am

What a lovely graphics and music! I at first could not interact with the old man, but I restarted and everything is good now.

I saw a water pit. And I fell into it...

Killing all this animals :(. I do feel like a monster.
One issue though. Not all the sprites have the same pixels per units ratio - some are more detailed that others.

I just fell though a ground :O.
Hmmm, so that was a hole.

The game would benefit from a sprint button :P.
The first boss just stood next to me and could not damage me :(.

I won't spoil the rest, but I love the game!

chuckeles says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:34am

I feel bad...

brombatti says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:35pm

@WuPex thanks ^^

brombatti says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:38pm

@pirate_shell Really missed some feedback and improvements. We're trying to work better in the transition of things, the death of the player, death of animals.It is to make it more beautiful but lacked time =( Thank you very much for the feedback

brombatti says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:40pm

@freaknarf This problem was having to restart my error in programming. I saved some game states to better control the steps of the story but I forgot to reset my progress before sending to build. Dai made that mistake where it only resets the values when you exit the game. Sorry for this inconvenience.

brombatti says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:42pm

@chuckeles I am very happy for your reaction to the game. It is exactly this feeling that we tried to pass. The person is the monster and he dont know that. We are working on improvements and fixes. Thanks for the feedback is worth much for our group. While the final boss he really still was not dealing damage. I am solving this now.

Coruja says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Perfect, the best game so far! Great job!

brombatti says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:38pm

@Coruja Thanks, You have no idea of joy while reading this =D

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Good job! Love the graphics

ajopart says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Great job on this one ! The character is a bit slow and I had some jump bug but otherwise, nice !

Jakob37 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Really good job! An impressive feat. Nice mood, music, visuals and game play. And nice story with a maybe not so surprising twist :)

Big Cow says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Yeah. This was amazing. I kinda guessed the ending tho at the start :). Graphics are cute and warm and animation is sweet too. Movement is great. Satisfying to swing the sword. When it glitches out I totally got tingles and the animals looked creepy as hell. Brilliant!

fullmontis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:12pm

I like the game, but I find that the controls are not very responsive considering it is an action game. I died more than once because of them, and it was annoying. I loved the story, and I think it is the best part of this game.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Marvelous entry, we did somewhat similar-hearted games if you fancy checking mine :)

The style change at the end was a particularly great touch

QuexD says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:20pm

I was blown away. 5/5

jlnr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:31pm

LOVED the graphics, but to be honest I didn't finish the game after dying too many times. I left some categories on N/A because I probably missed the point of the game ^^"

- Jumping from platforms is just too unforgiving. It feels like you have to start jumping in the middle of a platform if you don't want to drown and start over. I'm not sure if this is an issue with my VM (input lag?), but other games work fine.
- No button to run! :(
- I fullscreen-ed the game on my 21:9 screen (alt+Enter), and the game started showing some artefacts beyond the level boundaries. Pressing alt+Enter again didn't make the window resizable again, so I quit and started over. No big deal though

+1 overall point for gamepad support!

Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Guys! great Job <3

Fallenthief says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Best entry i have seen so far.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Interesting story. The graphics and sounds were great! I also liked the monochrome+red effect at the end.

Matzigon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Depressing story but great game. A sprint button is very much needed. :)

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:01am

Very nice graphics! The story looked well conceived. The gameplay was horribly unforgiving, having to start over from the level start. Probably wouldn't have been so bad if I hadn't been struggling with the control scheme. I prefer up arrow for jump and index finger for attack.

Sicilica says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:31am

A pretty fun little game, with an interesting (although super obvious story). The knockback effect was a bit much, and I found i could chain attacks by using the slash / down attacks to kill things ridiculously fast.

Hizu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:32am

Great Game with awesome graphics.
I really like those types of gameplay.

derr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:49am

Ok, I stopped hating myself. Time to write a review. Great entry, guys! The mood is perfect. Especially the changed sprites, music and the glitch effects on Ollie's way back were nice. I just wish I could run a bit faster during some passages.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Hey it was really awesome! Graphics are great, musics are very very beautiful and the story is really cool!
But i must say I saw the twist coming very early so I tried to kill 0 animals but i don't think it is possible. It'd have been cool to have a good and a bad ending!
But hey it's one of the best games i've played for now and you only had 72h so I only have one thing to say: Well done, I loved it!
PS: is ther somewhere I can find the musics?

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Great game. As others have said, I wish I could run, but it has a great look and feel. Really nice job.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:58am

Awesome game! This is great! It was fun, looked beautiful (I loved the effects after you beat the boss :D), and sounded great too! My only complaint is that YOU ENDED THE GAME RIGHT THERE. WHY.

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:27pm

I've seen screenshots on LD weekend and was looking forward to play this game. Pretty standard arcade, air-attack solves almost everything, annoying visual effect when going back (hurts eyes), but the idea in the finale is really great, artwork and music are cute, a lot of work for the jam. Keep going, guys!

P.S. Please write somewhere in the game that next level starts when Enter is pressed (on the map), it's hard to figure out. May be E button would be better?

FrederickK says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:10pm

That's what I call a huugeee sword!
Great job guys! :D

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:55am

Wow...this is an impressive entry!

Galvesmash says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Just awesome! 5/5.

Oct 13, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Super cute graphics, good story. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Ee0UBhVOJOc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]