Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Disco

by Four Quarters - Jam Entry

This is our fourth Ludum Dare Jam entry, this time
- monstrous rhythm arcade.

You came from the music depths of distant space, and your appetite appeals you in rhythm of hunger.
Eat everything at your path, making steps in beat.
Destroy everything you see - nothing can stop you, and eat juicy meat.
Defeat soldiers, annihilates tanks and dodge from space-beam attacks.

All music, art and code was made during Ludum, specifically for the game.

From Four Quarters

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#6Audio(Jam)4.49
#26Graphics(Jam)4.63
#30Overall(Jam)4.13
#60Theme(Jam)4.15
#70Fun(Jam)3.85
#91Innovation(Jam)3.76
#131Mood(Jam)3.76
#252Humor(Jam)3.33

Comments

wg_phancock says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:00am

This game is phenomenal. The graphics alone were enough to carry it. Then once I actually figured out the gameplay...sold.

applejam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:10am

This game is amazing! Everything is perfect - art,music, gameplay, 10/10 O GOSPODI 10/10!

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:33am

Hey! Awesome game!
Love visuals as well as sounds.
Good job guys.

collaboration says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:06am

So awesome!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:31am

Very nice. Couldn't figure out the correct rhythm though > _ > I suppose the little arrow in the left part is supposed to be the hint, but … Trying to synchronise my key press with the arrow moving / the monster pulsing almost never worked, always got 'bad'. I just had a run where I lasted until the second level, got a couple of perfects, but I can't really say I felt it was with the rhythm of the song. Maybe add a visual tutorial, to make sure I know which sound cues to respond to? :/
It's a very well polished game, and it makes me sad that I can't figure out the timings. I like DDR games and the like.

Zccc says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:50am

Damn, that pixel art is beautifull. Very cool game, kinda hard to move in sync to the beat, but it was pretty fun :P I got to the end but my bar wasn't full. Does it have a better ending when I fill the bar?

Four Quarters says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:54am

"Zccc says ...
Does it have a better ending when I fill the bar?"

Maybe in post-jam version

Meat Us says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:31pm

This game is awesome, beautiful art and nice music. Good job !

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:14am

Wow..... that was awesome. Great Visuals, amazing music, and solid gameplay. Great work!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:19am

Wow! Original game. Love music

djfariel says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:37am

1st Thought:
"What the hell am I doing that is Good, Bad, and Perfect?...and why?"

Pros:
Art and music, hands down. Great job on both.
Solid mechanics, animations looked nice.

Cons:
Other than the obvious "Press S over the people/ things" I had no idea what I was doing. I couldn't tell if I was being hit when attacked, or if the goal was to survive the wave? It was very unclear.

Overall:
If things were made more clear, I feel like this game would be a smashing success.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:51am

Fricking love this game, one of my favourites I've played this jam! The music, the graphics the gameplay everything was just top notch. I'm totally getting that soundtrack, amazing.

DragonGino says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:52am

good music. only i am so bad in rythme games.
still great graphics and in fits in the theme.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Fantastic game, 5/5 across the board for me :P Only complaint I have is that the "Eat Again" button doesn't seem to work at the end :P

Hero7785 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Best game so far!

Rongefilet says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Except for the lack of clarity on when to activate the shield everything is just perfect. It plays, sounds and looks fantastic ! ^^

Feetsalot says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:26pm

This game is very well done for such a short time period of work. This could quite easily be developed into a full game and I hope you continue to show this game some love! :D

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:35pm

This is an amazing game. The music is absolutely fantastic.
Fantastic little rhythm game

euske says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Pretty well made, but I don't know what to do after the music is changed. The spaceship disappeared and enemies keep appearing but I had no control.

tal says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Awesome music & mood ^^
but i didnt like the gameplay :(
but still amazing work!

MrKOHCEPBAHT says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Wow. This is good. The best graphics I've seen so far on LD33.

Four Quarters says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:21pm

"euske says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:36pm
Pretty well made, but I don't know what to do after the music is changed. The spaceship disappeared and enemies keep appearing but I had no control."

It's mean you die =\

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Yummy, those pixels be delicious.

someone9999 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Woah! That was way too much fun!
Everything about the game, including audio, graphics, and gameplay was just extremely well done.

SeaDads says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:19pm

The art's amazing! Gameplay's really fun too, especially after ramping up with the various interesting elements that get added each level.

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:59am

Awesome game. The animation kind of reminded me of metal slug for some reason.

derr says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:13am

5/5 through the board. One of the best entries I have played. Absolutely amazing. Great job!

adamwoolridge says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:19am

Fantastic job all around! Brilliant.

BeardyBard says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:54am

The graphics and audio are awesome! You win!!!

shelleyl says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:05am

Brilliant. Great graphics and music. Gameplay was solid and clever.

NikB says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:35am

Excellent visuals and audio. You are going to rock this Ludum Dare, guys.

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:48am

The monster is really nice.

Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:11pm

What a great music! this is one of the best rhythm entry!

jsmars says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Really nice work! Solid graphics audio and game mechanics. Except I didn't really feel punished for making mistakes and I didn't die even tho I got shot probably 20 times, could be a bit more of a challange :)

Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Art was awesome! But the rhythm part feels unnecessary. You can have the delay so players are more careful of their action, but the rhythm is just distracting.

cxsquared says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Really great work everything was pretty amazing. Nice job.

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:14pm

It really reminded me of Crypto of the Necrodancer. :)

There two thing that I found really weird:
1 - There seemed to be no penalty for standing still;
2 - Both attacking and shielding had very long animations, that could take more than a beat. This made it somewhat weird to try to attack repetitively.

I also found the shield to be pretty useless... I don't know if the space-beam could be shielded, but since they were avoidable, I preferred to avoid taking risks... At least the enemies didn't seem to hurt me... (maybe it simply lacks feedback)

Great graphics and audio! The audio also sync'ed pretty well with all animations, which helped with the rhythm game feel. :)

HappyHour says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 5:46am

Excellent sprite work. Pretty addicting once you get into the groove and the rules/enemy patterns are intuitive enough to learn as you play. Great work!

marom says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:29pm

I like to play one more time) I completely finished the game. Thanks for the web version)

Grahhhhh says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Concept is perfect, don't know if its just me, but I couldn't get the timing down, but I loved the idea of it!

lanestp says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Great game! As expected I am terrible at it but everything is just great! My favorite part was the music. Really phenomenal!

Tselmek says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Really nice rythm game, the graphics are really nice and the animations pretty spot on. I can't help myself but compare it to Crypt of the Necrodancer with the movement of the enemies. The difficulty goes out of control in the last levels but it doesn't feel punishing. Great game!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Wow! such an awesome rhythmic game, love the artworks and animations! Congrats!

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Nice music and good visual design, ennemies and monster are perfect.

Obvious_San says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Graphics - Amazing. Soundtrack - Over the top! Gameplay - Polished and nice idea with the rhytm factor! Just awesome :]

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:33pm

The game's visuals are phenomenal and the music is as well. The take on the theme was very inventive and the gameplay was cool. I think a sort of tutorial on the game's mechanics would have been useful. That's really the only issue I have, other than that - brilliant entry!

Sanju says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Nice graphics and polished game. Good work.

Sublustris says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Great game!

Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Awesome game!! Quite polished and satisfying. I never used the shield, not sure if the enemies actually do something.

Sparrow says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Awesome game! Had fun, very polished!

Drauthius says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Very nice game. I didn't seem to be able to take any damage though. :[

Ulydev says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:25pm

I love rhythm games! Awesome work!

yajiv says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Wow, these graphics are amazing, spectacular animations! Rhythm games are hard to do, especially with all the complexities surrounding synchronization. Great job with this, though. Reminded me of Crypt of the Necrodancer :)

crucknuk says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Wow, really well done!
the music, the graphics, the rythm! nice combination and fun to play actually!
Also the animation were top notch!
well done!

LMT says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Awesome visual, and the game plays well also.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Ahhh...I get it...Monster 'Disco'...hehehe At first I just thought the controls were wonky...then it dawned on me and I began rhythm bouncing in my chair as I tongue whipped the enemies. AWESOME!

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:29pm

I'm not very familiar with musical games and have difficulty to know what I have to do. Maybe, with a tutorial and more feedback about my actions (bad or good) I could handle it.

Nice graphics and sound, I want to retry and master it.

Pomb says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Epic, I loved this so much well done guys. Really great job. Everything is top notch.

Sep 1, 2015 @ 9:47pm

The graphics are great, but the gameplay in this feels almost non existent.

I intentionally tried to do everything wrong and there were no consequences. This makes the rythm element of it pretty much non existant. It feels completely arbitrary when I get perfect or bad. There must be something I'm missing. Please update the description to give some idea of what the arrow means, how things affect you, or what to do.

This seems like a great concept, but the execution is lacking.

theshadowteam says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:35am

good music but i suck at rhythm game , nice pixel art

cyrixd says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:43am

Nice combination of rhythm gameplay with the monster theme! I felt the rhythm timings were really punishing, and almost seemed to vary throughout my playtime? Also I couldn't tell if there was anything wrong with missing a beat. Love the art style though, excellent presentation overall. Great work!

radmars says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:36am

Nice! Cool concept and the graphics and music are great. Timing felt a bit weird though, there were a lot of times where I felt like I was hitting exactly on the beat but was still getting bads. Would be cool if there was more gameplay variety too, seemed like there was no reason to use the shield (plus it was hard to tell when the guys were shooting since they were so small). Would love to see this expanded. Great job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Daaaaamn, this is a very solid entry! The graphics are just amazing and the music is great!

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 6, 2015 @ 10:28pm

When I ate people on the beat and saw my rhythm was Good, I felt AMAZED! When I didn't know which key to press or didn't know that every time I move it is marked Bad, I felt confused.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Great Work all round!

Ivan Volkov says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Nice-lookong, but I quit on the third level, because get bored. I don't get why missing the beat does nothing? Because I can just constantly press button and it'll work okay for me. Also how to die here? THey were shooting on me, but nothing happened!

Kerdelos says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Great work ! Only negative point I find is that it is a bit repetitive but the ennemies variety compensates it ;D

bombjack says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 3:21pm

generally not fond of rhythm game but I have to admit that is on is a masterpiece. The art is nice and the music is great. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]