Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Dat Blob

by MCPGNZ - Compo Entry

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>FOR DLL PROBLEMS<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
Instal the vs_redist.x64/x86 files included in game folder
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>><<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

Alien been drinkin'.
Ship no fly, crashed into da cinema.
Need parts.
Find parts.
Bring back to ship.
Profit???

Feelin' tired?
Snack time.
Eat a man.
Eat a girl.
Equality time.
Me da monster?
That's just a snack man.
Or girl.

Whazzup!
Em, nothin'
Chillin' and killin'


Controls:
wsad - movement
lmb - shooting

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#79Humor3.71
#98Mood3.67
#151Overall3.63
#204Graphics3.64
#208Audio3.28
#213Theme3.78
#258Innovation3.33
#334Fun3.21
#1627Coolness40%

Comments

Korso says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:20am

Nice little game! :D.

Good work on the "monster-busters". Have some problems with collisions, but it's playable anyway. I like those sprites, with a couple more animation frames on the humans must look fanstastic.

DifferentName says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23am

It says I'm missing api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll and won't run.

I made a Blob themed game too! http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=56574

Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:23am

Not on Windows at the moment, so didn't play, but I enjoyed the game description a lot.

keyle says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:28am

I get the same problem as DifferentName...

http://i.imgur.com/bUaag6q.png

[Windows 8.1, 64bits, Nvidia 980 Ti]

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:28am

Ha! Fun little game. Made it up to 318 points, then the game crashed all of a sudden as was getting sprayed by the popcorn gun. Overall cute and fun, very retro in many ways, e.g. the FM-synth music or the setting itself, movie theater playing cheap horror flicks. Also nice variety in the graphics for 48 hrs! Enjoyable!

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:32am

Nice game, sometimes the collisions are a bit rush, but overall a good game. As someone else said, the busters are really well done.

Thanks!

psyduckfreak says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:37am

It says I'm missing api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll and won't run.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:38am

Haha I love it :) great lil' game

BSODDevTeam says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Oh man, great game.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Some effects and sounds when eating the tasty humans would have been nice. Collision bugs made the game feel a little clunky, but it was still fun.

Mister_Melon says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Couldn't run it due to missing dll files, sorry.

nili says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:20pm

The game sometimes crashes when you lose.

I wish the level design had some branches. You end up running the same stretch a lot. Hit detection for eating people sometimes felt like it didn't work.

Difficulty felt well balanced.

I like this game a lot.

jofra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:31pm

It says I'm missing api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll and won't run. But cool graphics from the screenshots

Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Nice mechanics! But yeah, the colisions at the wall should get some review. Overall, the game is really fun

Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:32am

Looking great!

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

fdslk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 3:38pm

nice game mate, could use some tweaking in collisions and stuff, but nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]