Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Ancient Storm: Legends of the League of Defence Heroes 2

by 3CGames - Compo Entry

Play the latest MOBA all the kids are talking about!

Simple little game. I'm glad I finished something though.

This game might not make much sense to you if you haven't played a moba before.
Contains some strong language.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#12Humor4.39
#100Innovation3.69
#138Overall3.66
#179Mood3.47
#188Fun3.46
#211Audio3.27
#405Graphics3.20
#448Theme3.43

Comments

kalthose says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:06am

The chat text was very accurate.

pirate_shell says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:43am

This game was quite interesting. The graphics had that coder graphics charm. The audio was simple but maybe a bit too much. The music could have benefitted from being a little longer and more SFXs would have helped. The chat was quite amusing and the mood you set was cool. However, I did not see the theme shine through besides the fact you're controlling a monster. Overall, a cool little game that just lacks some polish.

vlamaster says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:04pm

This is awesome, mate! :D

Jawesome says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:04pm

it was alright, but hard to learn.

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:05pm

i loved it. wasn't sure what i was doing for a bit but then i was recking as the archer. dota chat was 10/10

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:06pm

It took me some time to figure out who I was controlling... little dudes vs. Monster, but it was fun once I got it.

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:07pm

The chat simulation was one of the best features I ever saw in a Ludum Dare game. 5/5, would blame my team again.

whalebot says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:10pm

The chat text was awesome haha. Unfortunately, I felt like I had very little control over the outcome of the battle, but maybe that's the feel you were going for (being a measly pawn). Good job!

Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:49pm

fuck this, tinko op

TLansdale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Fun idea, really captures the joy of being sworn at by strangers over the internet :)

tayl1r says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:13pm

It's like I never even left League of the Ancients.

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Rocko looks so nice. Audio is simple but fits the mood perfectly :D Congratulations

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:37am

Hahhhah, that chat dialogue is hilarious! Must give 5 stars to humor!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:54am

Haha this is fantastic, I love the chat!

Vereos says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:23pm

EPIC game. I'm going to share this one! The chat almost killed me :D

Ithildin says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:56am

Great concept! And the chat texts were very amusing, well done!

KeyboardCat says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:29am

I love the idea of the chat ! And that's great to see a game made with libgdx ;)

Great work !

01101101 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:54am

The chat is a fun idea, the graphics are nice but it doesn't feel like our little guy can do much against the waves and hero ^^
Managed to take the enemy tower down to half health but then the tables turned :)
Congrats for finishing it!

Dianouille says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Loved it ! The music could have been better (quite annoying like that). But you had time to add sound and that's great enough + great game :)

Biruts says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

bentglasstube says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 3:13am

Really enjoyed the "chat"

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:43am

Ha ha! Very clever and unusual. Games about games forever! Did you make some of the sound effects with your voice? Love that.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 1:47am

Ha ha! Very clever and unusual. Games about games forever! Did you make some of the sound effects with your voice? Love that. Nice screen shake too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]