Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Was It Something I Said?

by ShaunJS - Compo Entry

A tragic story of a giant who just wants to make friends :(

Light trigger warning: Suicidal themes.

This was an odd one for me, once again launched in with an idea with no idea if it would go anywhere or form into anything cohesive. I ended up with something strange and sad. There's not really much in terms of classic mechanics but it's more of a strange experiencey thing.

Controls explained within, have fun! Make lots of friends.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#20Mood4.14
#33Theme4.24
#71Audio3.68
#99Overall3.76
#170Graphics3.76
#283Innovation3.29
#369Humor2.93
#630Fun2.78
#2355Coolness0%

Comments

TheRetroDino says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:19am

Awesome game! It fits the theme well!

Soulzbro says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:30am

I found 'Was It Something I Said' to be an enjoyable piece of interactive story telling.

Andrew Deem says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:37am

Sad story. Poor Mr. Monster. :(

Kahztein says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:02am

An adorable narrative game with a lot of nice touches.
Keep up the good work!

DBl4ck says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Nice game, with a great ending!!! (I'm, not sure, but I feel it could have two different endings, mine was happy).

APC says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Cool Story. The emotions of the monster were illustrated well and it fit the theme well. I liked the graphics. I also liked the way the humans roamed around

sydream says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Love the audio, I've watched you yesterday night on twitch right after I've submitted my entry and you were struggling with the music track, glad you sorted it out. For the game it's technically perfect as I may expect from you though it lacks on the gameplay and longevity, or perhaps I'm missing something but aside from killing the neverending spawning little beings there isn't much else to do. Anyway admire your work in general and your tutorials have helped me a lot. Also congratz for your new job at YoYo !!

Blue_Link_34 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:01pm

I don't really feel like it's a game, but it's cool, it fits with the theme and the 2 endings are pretty good, like for everygame you did, great job !

Sunflower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:04pm

The yay:
- adorable (if clumsy) monster
- mood
- non-standard use of theme
- graphics
- audio
- ending (with these sorts of games it could have been much worse)

The nay:
- movement is really sloooow
- controls felt clunky, especially when it came to hugging and releasing the stones
- I managed not to break a single house in the first town and they still put go-away sign near the third rock </3

Pretty good entry, overall, even if not the top-notch yet. ;)

ShaunJS says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Oh wow, how did you manage that Sunflower? Did you use rocks to bypass some houses? I tried to make it inevitable that you would damage some.

I don't think it's my best work by far, but I'm happy with it yeah. =)

Crypto137 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Not much of a game, but a very emotional experience. The ending for interesting, [SPOILER ALERT] I liked how the screen stayed black for awhile and then the game just close itself. [SPOILER ENDS].

This is one of these game that really justifies calling video games an art form. Not fun, but moving.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:04pm

@Shaun: yes, I put a rock on the ledge to the left of the first house, and jumped from there. Then later when backtracking I somehow managed to land perfectly between two homes, not harming either.

Don't underestimate the players. ;)

uheartbeast says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 2:31pm

I got the happy ending as well! Loved the game. Short but sweet. Great job Shaun.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Speechless...Sad, an interesting game,
100% the Theme, nice work.
One little funny maybe "Bug": the tears fall slower than the monster if you jump down off a block.

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 7:25pm

I don't know why but this game reminded me of Brothers: a Tale of To Sons. Anyway, it was a very cool game whith two different endings, good job :)

Nek says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Very short but beutiful game,great job.

Finn says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:08pm

It's something different. I do like a well done "interactive storytelling experience". Though would be nice to have a bigger port.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:52pm

That hit me right in the feels! I thought it was oddly similar to the idea of "friendship" that my own compo submission had, until I got to the end. Great game!

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:13am

Good graphics, nice flow, very good!

Divitos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:10am

I went into friend village trying to make some friends, but they got scared of me, so I tore their entire village to the ground.

Then I tore the next one down, and the next, and I taught them to never refuse my friendship again.

BOBANY says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:55am

Tedious gameplay, but a none the less cool game

NAL says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:42am

This was pretty good - nice little story, solidly-made game, good music and SFX! My biggest complaint would be that the controls made my hand ache something bad, A+D+Space alone is really awkward but adding H as well?! Not bad overall though :)

ShaunJS says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:58am

Technically you can also use Enter for H and the arrow keys to move and shift to jump. I just mentioned the controls that I found myself using the most while testing.

SelfTitled says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Pfft to the ppl I found a real friend :P

We're going to go round smash all teh houses together.

I like the take on the theme

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Not at all what I expected from the artstyle (guess I didn't read the text carefully). Really cool take on the theme

Tselmek says ...
Sep 12, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Lots of "aaw noo", poor little monster dude. The graphics are nice and the platforming feels good. The level design reinforces the "aaw noo" part, good job with that. Nice use of the theme, great entry!

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Fantastic entry! I loved the take on the theme. The monster was adorable it its clumsy-ness. I loved the music, it fit so well. The graphics had a charm to them, even though they were not traditionally impressive(not saying they were bad). I also loved the little touches. The "make friends" button's only purpose was to pick up food crates and rocks. It's like the only thing that understands him are inanimate objects and food. A thing that I feel many depressed people might think. I did find the ending I got(I assume there was more than one) interesting. It took more effort than just going on and pushing forward but was also happy. It shows in a way that if a person tries hard enough they can climb out of depression no matter how down they may feel. That might be me digging too much into it, however. Great entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]