Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Monstrous Spiral of Silence

by V_V - Jam Entry

MOTIVATION:
Living in Malmö, Sweden, I observe with great concerns the rising popularity of the right-wing political party 'Sweden Democrats'. Simultaneously, even the slightest sign of approval of one of the party's concerns makes one to a outlawed racist pig. In this little game, I tried to critically process my own reflexions and thoughts on the Swedish society.

GAME
In this game, you play as a voter of the right-wing Sweden Democrats (SD) party. On you daily task to pick up your daughters from day-care, you end up in a leftist Anti-PEGIDA and Anti-SD demonstration...

GOAL: Find your two daughters in the crowd and leave the demonstration on the street at the top right.


Control with the arrow keys.





(There is a bug with the background music when you die (multiple music layers). Simply switch to another tab/window and back to the game and music will start from scratch again.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#419Audio(Jam)3.04
#763Innovation(Jam)2.71
#767Mood(Jam)2.78
#849Humor(Jam)2.12
#891Graphics(Jam)2.54
#978Theme(Jam)2.64
#1026Fun(Jam)2.29
#1057Overall(Jam)2.46

Comments

Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:51am

I get what you were going for, but I don't really feel like you accomplished it. I can't say a whole lot about the political message of this game, as I'm not well informed on Swedish politics, but I found the gameplay to be a bit frustrating. Dodging and weaving through crowds felt fairly impossible, and it rarely seemed like any kind of navigable route through the madness existed.

Shina69 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:18am

That's the prime concerning of every father right there! Fortunately could save 5 of my tween blue dressed girls before being stomped to death. I hope they find their mother, cause they are only gonna see their dad on the news tomorrow.

weazen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:19am

Visually, there's a lot going on. Was kind of difficult for me to see where the daughter was in the crowds.

eric777 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:21am

Audio was great. I feel like it matched the mood that your text description led me to expect.

I sort of instinctively though the goal was to get as far to the right as possible. I succeeded, but then went off screen. Then I realized I was playing the game wrong.

Mark Smith says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:02am

Well that was interesting. I didn't find the game that fun but the theme and the mood set by the music was well done. A nice spin on the theme so, well done.

sikosis says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:31am

Simple game with a message eh ... A lot going on in this game which is hard, unless that's the point ?

Shaw says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:58am

The mood is excellent, the audio sets a dismal tone and I think that's fantastic.

wavegunner232 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:01pm

interesting though very very difficult

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:40pm

I think that this game has a good message about the tolerance. A good thing would be to give the player the opcion to choose what flag he is taking (pro or against). The game would be the same but the message and the idea would be stronger without politic criticism.

rodobodolfo says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:54pm

The concept is good, it's almost like a twist on Frogger. The character was too unresponsive though and felt like I had too many cheap deaths.

Politics aside, why am I the monster? The mob seems more monstrous, killing me in front of my kids! Haha

kunzbe says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Sweet entry. The graphics style reminded me somehow of where is waldo :) the music set an excellent mood. Only the controls felt a bit sticky but overall a big thumbs up. :)

kozun says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:31pm

It definitely makes you thinking. Reminds how realty indeed is tougher than any video game ever made.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]