Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Y U so Serious ?

by Mathieu Muller - Jam Entry

Ante-scriptum:

I completely forgot to credit Kevin McLeod for his amazing work on the music (overburn yay), so here are the credits:

"Music to Delight" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

I'll upload a post-jam version that credits him correctly on the opening screen.

Thanks Amras for pointing me this out!

The story

In Y U so serious?, you are a monster in a level from some random platformer game who is going back home after a hard day of work (waiting for a hero that never came). Unfortunately, his house is at the 8th world, and his job was to guard the very start of the first level of the first world.

As you are going back home, you start to collect the gold that the Great Overlord left up for the Hero. What a non-sense, you think, why should the Great Overlord leave money to his greatest enemy?

Gameplay

It is a simple platformer. Left Right, Up/Space, and Down keys to control the monster. Do not jump on other monsters! They will kill you. Also, monsters don't like to take baths.

A little context about the game development:

Y U so serious? is a game should remind every-one that the ludum dare is about having fun. And boy, I had a lot of fun doing this game.

If you wonder why some pictures looks like like children drawings: my four years old came up and asked me "what are you doing daddy?". After explaining that I was making a video-game for a contest on the internet, she asked if she could be of any help. "Sure" I answered, "The theme is about being a monster. I need you to draw monsters pictures, and I'll put them in the game".

Not only did she the monsters pictures, but also did she the gold, the heart and the main title logo. She also made all sounds of the game (yeah even the monster cry, but I can thank audacity for changing the tone of the sound).

Future post-jam:

More level features, more levels, and code clean-up (it's a mess :D).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#263Humor(Jam)3.31
#302Audio(Jam)3.29
#485Fun(Jam)3.11
#534Graphics(Jam)3.38
#544Mood(Jam)3.09
#638Overall(Jam)3.08
#863Theme(Jam)2.95
#1015Innovation(Jam)2.11

Comments

Simonaiso says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:47am

That music is brilliant. I laughed my ass off. Nice game and graphics too!

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Cool drawing. Funny game

Rongefilet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Loved the overall cuteness, and... That music. >_<

pta2002 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:56pm

HAH! Fun game ;) Really funny, specially the music. BTW I have heard this music before, could you please tell me what it is?

amras0000 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Cutest monster game I've played. It's a very basic platformer, but very well executed with good controls and interesting level design.

Another ld-er mentioned that he heard the music before. Where did you find it?

Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:18pm

The music is from Kevin McLeod - Music to Delight.

Connors says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Gah, I wish I could run it on my Mac it sounds great.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Ha yes, everytime I do a Ludum Dare, I promise myself to code with monogame to allow a multi-platform game... and I forget it once I start. Sorry!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:31pm

The game is fun but it isn't too original. I love the music and fx and the gameplay is solid, with tunnels and good platforms. Keep improving and making games ;-)

Meta-link says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:37pm

I'm totally fan of the story ! And the music is just amazing, I couldn't stop laughing :D
Great game !

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:38pm

I wasn't shooting for an original game this time; I really wanted to take a grasp on the platformer genre, so I know how they're made.

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Love the story line, but I would have liked to see more of that in the actual game. The music, while contributing to the humor of the situation, did get somewhat annoying (IMO) after a while. Nice idea and generally well implemented!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:02pm

I found the secret passage inside part of the level interesting. It reminded me of old platformers from long time ago.

jlnr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Would love to play this, but my Windows 7 VM does not fulfill the XNA HiDef profile =(

amras0000 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I thought it might be a Kevin Macleod piece. Just fyi, he publishes all his music under CC: Attribution. This means he's given you the right to use his music wherever, but he requests that you mention him in any work that uses his music.

This format is preferred, ideally you could edit this text into the corner of the opening screen:

"Music to Delight" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Furthermore, the jam rules do request that you disable rating the audio category if you used pre-made assets.

Thanks!

P.S.-sorry if you've already mentioned him in your credits; I didn't get that far in your game so I might be making a fool out of myself here. >_>

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Amras, you are totally right, I completely forgot to credit him (in Europe, the jam finishes at 3:00am...). I'll do it in the description, and will upload a corrected version.

jordinuco says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:16pm

A classic, playable platformer in 72 hours. Congratulations.

About the music you chose: that contrabass&flute combination is... insane!

Aun says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I loved that game. The music is magic and the graphics are really fun.

Eldan_Knight says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Fun graphics and music! Good control too.

juaxix says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 11:20am

I think I found a secret place, at the end of the level,to the right i entered the floor O_O

Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:15am

Really good feel to this platformer, good choice of music and good sense of humour

Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:19am

@juaxix: Yes there is a hidden passage. It was willingly made pretty obvious because it's a jam game (and people doesn't have the time to look for non-obvious things) :).

DerekRumpler says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:57am

Cute game. I loved all the little secrets. Not sure if it can be beat, but it'd make a cute little platformer.

Patomkin says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:43am

Ooh, that outworldy music definitely reminds me of "Neverhood"

Kaev says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:39am

Cute! Was fun to play. Awesome game! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]