Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

TOMB SOLDIERS

by MechanicMoon - Jam Entry

Tomb Soldiers is the last game done for Mechanic Moon Studio for the Ludum Dare 33.

You are the Lord of Darkness and you have been awaken.. It's time to harvest souls in the nearest town.

You will commmand your army of monsters: Zombies, Werewolves, Mummies...

A lemmings-style game where the goal is killing everybody in town, enjoy it!

Features:
- Cartoon pixel-art graphics with hundreds of animations
- Three types of soldiers with unique skills)
- Three types of enemies (that will be part of your army when they lose their souls)
- Three levels (We didn't have time to do more)

Thanks for try it, any feedback and comments would be awesome ;-)

Staff:
- Javier Martínez/javifugitivo (Game Design)
- Edu Pérez (Art)
- Felix Herrero (Music and Fx)

Special Thanks to:
Minerva Alemany
Sinda Monleon
Inma Fernández

Bug fix Update: Solved a little bug that avoid showing the credits screen and some minor bugs with the speed of the monsters.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Theme(Jam)4.08
#190Innovation(Jam)3.47
#212Fun(Jam)3.51
#215Overall(Jam)3.61
#327Humor(Jam)3.17
#347Graphics(Jam)3.75
#367Audio(Jam)3.16
#396Mood(Jam)3.31

Comments

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:02am

For now, this is one of my most favorite entry :D Catchy game mechanics, neat graphics :) Cotrols were little bad, but i get used to them.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:25am

I think that the game peace is a little too slow..
but I like the gameplay idea! It's a inverted tower defense!
Well done! :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:38am

Great grafics and animation. A little slow but I like the reverse tower defense idea :)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:51am

Pretty sweet little game!
Really enjoyed it!
That crossbow tho! Did some damage!

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:57am

I love this cartoon graphics! I need hug the monstr! hehe

Nice job guys!

los.pixelados says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Really funny, both the game and the sounds (especially the sounds :))
I bet you had a lot of fun making it.
Good job.

Cheers,
Morco (Los Pixelados team)

cudabear says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:30pm

This is an awesome game! I loved the idea of controlling an undead army on a rampage. I didn't like, however, that the only way to control them was to kill one. It was really annoying because the zombies kept bunching up and blocking them by killing one would just split the group.

It seems like everyone has a hard time dealing with stairs, since the monsters and people kept clipping through them. That was the only problem I ran into though.

Good work!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Thanks for the advice cudabear. I am already working in a system where you can control the stairs with some signals. The game will be updated in a possible post-ludum version (go up only, go down only, both directions, etc.)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Cool game, but I wasn't able to finish the third level :'(. How do you kill the folks on the bridge?

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 9:53pm

SPOILER:
First kill all the people that you can with the werewolves, then you must summon a mummy. When the up-part is cleared, sacrifice monsters and summon a werewolf to break the down door crossing the bridge that was created by mummy ;-)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Scrolling is broken for me, I seem to have no control over the game at all.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:17pm

I'm sorry to hear that. We will try to improve the camera for future versions. Thanks for your feedback, if I can help you to understand the controls, please only tell me ;-)

jlnr says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:21pm

*Great* work on the graphics and sounds, and solid programming (apart from the stairs :P). If anything, I felt that the focus was too much on luck and timing, and less on actual puzzles.
+1 for the werewolf priest :D

tompudding says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Wow, super polished, great graphics and addictive and fun gameplay. Well done!

randoman says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:57am

I played the Web version on Chrome and the villagers sprites kept blinking into a gray square, nothing that affected gameplay but was weird. I really enjoyed the game overall. Pace is a little slow, as other people mentioned, but is very cool to play.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:07am

Thanks for the feedback randoman, Im going to try to solve that ;-)

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:14am

randoman I have solved that bug in chrome, thanks for the report ;-)

crucknuk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:50am

Really nice game. The mechanisms are really good, you should use this prototype to make an entire game! However, maybe you should add a "speed up" button. I also encountered a bug: the mummy cross doors and summoned tomb sometimes

Daukan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:50am

I liked the Graphics that really works for the style of the game and the mood. It was easy to understand and play. The pace might be a little bit to slow but I prefer it rather then stressfull games.

kidando says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:53am

For 48 hours, this is actually very neat. There was no music for me on the web version. But I enjoyed the play. Congrats on your submission!

Erlend Aakre says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:55am

Great game!

kidando says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:55am

Nope. It was a Jam entry. Anyway, downloading the windows one. I want to understand your game's mechanic

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:00am

For me the mummy "moonwalks" through the wall on the right side of the third level, so I can't kill the folks on the bridge :( But I really like the idea of the game, and I hope sometime I could finish that level :P

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:08am

The bug of the mummy is already solved, sorry for the troube. Thanks for all the feedback ^^

Meta-link says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Cool game ! The concept is fun, and I find that the graphics are really cool. And I love the sound of humans getting away :D Good job !

CrownCity says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Nice entry mister! I the concept of taking humans over and how they join your army. A "Forward time" button would maybe be a nice addition to the game. Other than that I liked it overall!

nozzergaming says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Awesome graphics and style. Fun to play. Really liked the animations.

KR-Eddie says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Great graphics and polish!
My only complaint was that the pace was a little bit too slow.

Fantasieleben says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Cool game idea, good concept. Took me a while to fully appreciate the concept: Units move a bit too slow (for example the wolf could really be faster), and the controls would benefit from some polish. Its really cool that the humans you turn undead keep their skills.

superpatch says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Nice entry, I really liked the graphics.

RoboNebula says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Nice little sidescroller strategy game. The AI can be a bit weird sometimes though.

SKT says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Yay I won ! I love your game, the graphics are so beautiful and I like the music, too bad that it doesn't loop.
I had some difficulties to control my army sometimes, but it's fun anyways. You did a lot of things in so little time. Good job !

HappyHour says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:19pm

The pacing is pretty relaxing and it works nicely for the style of game. The puzzle elements involving the different units is a good touch as well.

shawn42 says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Really nicely done. The controls were a little tricky. I didn't feel like I had control over when a zombie or a wolfman would get to a particular place later on the map. (unless I missed something, which is _totally_ possible) Nice work though, beautiful art and animations!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 6:20pm

shawn42 Thanks for the feedback, the best mode to control where the mobs go, it is to create tombs (sacrifice mobs) to stop their movement and they will change their current direction. In new levels we will see more situations where that skill will be crucial to win the level ;-)

SlayerEXE says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 8:25am

This is insanely addictive. It's like Lemmings meets Tower Defense. I love it. The graphics and music are great too.

bombjack says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 7:07pm

I really liked the idea but it's hard to locate were the action takes place.

Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:06am

Pum, me lo he pasao. Menudo descojone con los gritos de terror de la peña xD

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Nice game! The web player worked on Linux/Firefox, although there was some sprite flickering and it seemed to run a little slow (audio was fine though). I really liked the Lemming-style mechanics, the fact that defeated enemies join you, the graphics, and the sound! Design-wise, my constructive criticism would be to integrate the tutorial with the gameplay more instead of frontloading all the text; it took me a while to remember that I could sacrifice a zombo to make a cross. Great job overall though, especially the animation!

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Thanks for the feedback DrPrettyPatty! We are working in another project, but I have great plans for this great little game ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]