Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Inokan

by gillenew - Jam Entry

Me and my friend Fred Oliveira decided to participate in this JAM with this game
We dare say that this game is well intentioned :)


[History]

Inokan awakens in a dimension known as Shadows Gnarled, with a mission to free the young souls of unholy intentions of the Lord of wandering shadows Deformibus Tenebris.

[Controls]
Arrows = Moves the character
Z = Dodge, holding Arrow down + Z to falling down from platforms
X = weak attack button
C = Magic Attack
ESC = Fullscreen

[Used Programs]
Construct2
Photoshop CS6
Cmaps
Bfxr

-------------------------------------------
[Music credits]
Title screen

mvrasseli_guitars_0
Composed by mvrasseli
-------------------------------------------

Gameplay

Hail to Man at War.v7
Composed by Alexander Naumov. Tri-Tachyon.
-------------------------------------------

Boss

3HR.MT_.3
Composed by Alexander Naumov. Tri-Tachyon.
-------------------------------------------

Ending

Floating Paper Bags
Composed by Jonathan Holston, or Human Antagonist

please link to my soundcloud page in credits whatever you guys do. https://soundcloud.com/humanantagonist

Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#137Graphics(Jam)4.21
#242Mood(Jam)3.51
#326Overall(Jam)3.46
#464Fun(Jam)3.14
#703Theme(Jam)3.21
#744Humor(Jam)2.35
#808Innovation(Jam)2.65

Comments

LibrettoDev says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:04am

Pretty awesome and comprehensive!

Azlen says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:14am

The graphics for this game are impressive, I especially like the skull on the title screen

superfluous says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:49am

Loved the graphics and music. Not super sure about why I would ever weak attack :D

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:52am

Coll mechanics and graphics. Good entry overall :)

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:09am

wow this was awesome, haha, and the music!! i am really interested on the story behind it. very cool

Sicilica says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:11am

I really liked the look and feel of the game. It reminded me a lot of Risk of Rain.

omaha says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16am

loved the graphics. I think this would play well on a gamepad.

I had trouble with the left-hand-attack implementation. Ever since Super Mario Bros I've felt like my right hand/fingers are for attacking and my left is for movement.

DrYitMat says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:38am

Graphics are pretty great! I do think there are a tad too many enemies though!

victorhugoka says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:52am

Amazing art and sound. The gameplay is very complicated to understand but is good to play.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

That was cool stuff. Nice music! Did you make it? Nice pixel graphics however that demon girl bobs up and down like 50 frames per second.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

This is just awesome.

disperse says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:27pm

The attitude of the main character is great.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:39am

Cool graphics and music!

derr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Love the graphics and the metal music! The controls are a bit difficult to get used to because I'm on a German keyboard (Z and Y are switched).

blahgyn says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 3:31pm

that a really good game!

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Great game. Excelent music, sfx and graphics. Also great presentation with intial menu. Good job!

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:50am

After I don't know how many tries (getting one shot by the red shadow), I was finally able to get to the boss... only to be one shot by it.... Damn... >_<

The game is really well done and polished... but I kinda see the same problem as the one my game has: the melee attack range is too short, which makes you a quick target to attacks. In your case, though, there actually is another option... but this other option is so much better than the melee attack that it seems somewhat useless...

Still, great game and awesome graphics!!

Btw, I didn't quite understand all those little caged animals... I I was able to find three of them... Also, what was the point of all those treasures? It was displayed on the "Achievements screen" and made I spawn particles... but were there other effects?

collaboration says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:07pm

I love the graphics and mechanics, as for protoype - it's really good, sure it needs polish, but it's also a good start, well done!

gillenew says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Thank you All you guys :D

@KodingNights We don't did the music :(

@derr Sorry for this, not left any time to put the best controllers or joypad

@GFM All the items add some attributes to your character

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Awesome soundtrack and graphics, really like the concept!

Electron says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:00am

music doesn't match with the game, pixel art is good(some polishing in walking animation will increase the feel), otherwise good game

WubAlliance says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:02am

Fun game! Movement is smooth, but the control layout is a little strange. The dashing is effective, in fact so effective it seems to be better to just flat out run past enemies so you don't risk losing life (I would LOVE to see someone speedrun this). Overall incredible aesthetic feel, you guys did a really good job with graphics. The soundtrack strangely fits, its a shame I can't rate you guys on audio D: . Great work, I would love to see more!

randoman says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 9:38am

Awesome game! The only thing that could improve is enemy spawning. Sometimes I am just walking and *PAM* there are several enemies right over me. Good job guys!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:06am

I'm gonna go against the grain here and say I didn't like the music. The guitar playing is not tight and drums sound like ice cream containers are being hit. You can switch the music off, but when you die it starts playing again and you have to switch it off again.

Other than the music, good game!

LeoM says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:19am

Maybe a Walkthrow video for those who are no capable of finish it ? ^^
Great art and fun to play, but I'm not good enough to reach the boss... :s (I swear I tried !)

Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:44am

Cool game. I think for a more complicated combat system like this one, the controls should me said somewhere in the 1st level, and I had no idea what was going on. I thought all the enemies were my friends until they started killing me lol. The graphics were pretty good. The game has potential.

Yrr says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:53am

Nice graphics, solid controls, would be nice if there was more indication if a weak attack landed

sergicollado says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:27pm

So cool, I like graphics and hate a little controls, I miss be able to go down in platforms ... great work!

Volatile Dove says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Nice graphics but a little bit difficult.

Awpteamoose says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:33pm

If you made it so punishing, why make players start a new game?

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Loved the music and art of the game, but I kept getting one shot by red ghosts. Did the pickups do much of anything? The way they were presented reminded me of Risk of Rain but without the effects. Still, very nice entry. Well done!

veoviscool12 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 1:44am

I really enjoyed this entry. Graphics super strong, gameplay fleshed out. I'm always impressed at what graphics some pull out in two days, it's incredible. Only complaint is: why have a weak attack without some sort of tradeoff for using the strong attack?

zuurr says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 4:08am

sick music and art (but especially music). the character could use some more fluid animations though, esp. for attacking and such.

valid4life says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 5:17am

The graphics were quite nice! The music went well with the game

crucknuk says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 12:12pm

I love the graphics and music! Good job! ;)

Sep 1, 2015 @ 4:31am

I'm pretty impressed by what I see from Construct 2. The character movement and attacks were kind of original. Complex jump and warp effect. I loved the art and feel. Was a bit hard and I didn't get too far. Sound wasn't working in browser on Safari. I kept hearing the sound of keys hitting when input not accepted instead of game music or effects.

HappyHour says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 5:02am

Dodging around and using the large shot is pretty fun. Good lookin' sprites too.

freaknarf says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:39am

Cool game, a bit hard... It could be cool to have some checkpoint, at least at the begining of levels, as quickly a single error becomes deadly. I loved the boss visual especially, but I did not beat it :) Vilain spawning felt a bit too much random compared to their power, and i can't stop dying if I don't dash until the boss, so bonuses feel like they are more dangerous to care about than usefull...
Good start that needs some balance !

NoWandStudios says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 6:45am

Wow! We love the desing of character. Very immersive atmosphere.

Druid says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:15am

Wow! Amazing graphics, neat riffs and great mood! Pretty cool entry!

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:39am

Its a classic mistake to not explain the controls. Nobody reads the description, they just play the game. Put on-screen "tool tip" help so everyone finds the controls :) I have learned this lesson so hard in my own entries...

The use of semi-transparency was excellent.

Would look excellent put through an upsampling shader like 2xSal.

A proper opening animation, and the "achievements", excellent!

I couldn't get very far; I felt I was very quickly overwhelmed.

But I still score this very highly; that I'm no good with button mashing doesn't mean I can't appreciate there is actually a seemingly complete game here :)

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:47am

Good art, music, and it played smoothly. But you should have called it Cheap Death: The Game, I mean they spawn right on top of you, and there's the one that can inst-kill you! Other than that I have no further complaints. Good Job!

Ibai Aizpurua says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Congratulations! Nice Game!

Biruts says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Very nice project guys, i really love it, please check our game too and if you liked it give us a vote. Look for Road to hell and enjoy.

Finn says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Nice art, music's a bit too excited for simple level music. Enemies respawn too quickly.

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:34am

The art is very impressive!

Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:38am

The art is pretty great´╝ü

Hjalte500 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 4:33am

I like the overall mood and the graphics and judging by the screenshots it looks like there's even more awesome shit later on but unfortunately a ran into a wall. I played multiple times trying to get further but at same point in every playthrough a whole fuckload of enemies spawn at on top of eachother so I cant progress. Looks awesome though wouldve loved to see the boss.

sbarrio says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 5:55am

Really well executed, and that's some kick ass music!

OxyOxspring says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 7:03am

Glorious...

theshadowteam says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 8:32am

not bad, the red guy killed me , good game

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:40am

Great graphics and smooth movement, but the music doesn't match the look and feel well. As far as player attack go - I don't see why anyone would use the short range one since its very unsafe compared to the strong attack which really has no trade off. The spawning is bad too - not really much of a point fighting until you reach the boss, and sometimes the red guy spawns on you if you fight and just kills you. I think the enemies need a longer windup animation. Also the boss kills you instantly without much of a warning forcing you to restart and maybe try again, this time expecting it - step up on the platform and boom 0.5 seconds later a giant rock hits me.

A game with good presentation and potential, but falls short in a couple of important game design aspects - most importantly, fairness.

ChrisFagan says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 11:59am

Loved this! The visuals were great, the music was awesome. It was really hard though, the enemies spawned very quickly.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 1:04pm

WOW THAT'S GREAT!
You created this with construct2, I'm impressed! Well done!
Graphic is amazing! The music is GREAT! I loved them!
The gameplay is smooth and enjoyable! A little bit challenging some time!
You made a great work! Well done guys! :D

cbstegeman says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Love the look of the game. I pretty much just sped through it without bothering to fight most of the enemies.

Sep 2, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Great graphics and mood. Could not figure out how to consistently jump high enough to reach many of the platforms.

pirate_shell says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:24pm

The graphics were delightful and the atmosphere of the underwater setting worked well, in my opinion. The music was some classic hard rock to get you pumped. The gameplay was simple, but functional. I like the game overall, but I feel some things could have been done better. Mostly the combat. The enemies being semi-transparent was a cool visual choice but I feel threats in your game should be the most noticable visual elements so you can avoid them better. The second issue is the way the enemies spawned. Often I would find myself getting blind-sided by them since they were so abundant and spawned so close to me. The final problem I have is the fact that without any limit on the magic attack the melee is sort of useless. That said, just a bit of constructive feedback. Take it or leave it, I still think this was a good entry~

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 6:43pm

ammmmaaaaaazing art totally in the theme. the gameplay is original and fun. very good job :)

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Wow! Just Wow! Graphics are top notch! Good C2 game!

Sparrow says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Awesome game, hard but rewarding! :)

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Great game it was very nice looking and the controls were quite good too! The dodge mechanic was especially good. It would've been more fair if you didn't have to restart from the very beginning whenever you died.

Eldan_Knight says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Great graphics! Also I liked the Castlevania gameplay, specially the dodge movement. I find the enemy spawn a bit fast, if you don't run from your enemies you can't advance!

Techblogogy says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Nice little cute game! Loved it!

6DownStudios says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 9:33am

Great entry! Outstanding pixelart with some very neat graphical effects, especially that title screen, that's incredible! Gameplay's a bit tricky at first but quite fun once you get the hang of using the Dodge boost (which looks fantastic)

Sep 4, 2015 @ 10:28am

Great work! Looks fantastic! Great touch with achievements ;)

MFEP says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Nice game, awesome graphics, cool music, but some checkpoints would be great, it is a little annoying to have to start again from the beginning when I die.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Great art and music! Controls felt a bit off, especially when you are surrounded by shadows. It's a great concept, hopefully you continue to work on it now that the jam is over.

Sep 4, 2015 @ 1:52pm

So metal! Great visual accompanied with a metal soundtrack makes for a great mood. Good job with this! I couldn't get far before dying.

Cheers,
Loi LeMix

RobotMeal says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Cool entry, great graphics. Achievements are a nice touch.

Drauthius says ...
Sep 4, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Nice game. Very hard, especially if you like to explore. :)

kikaz says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Good job but too hard for me...

Sep 6, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Really neat game! Love the graphics and music! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/WVNLcoTqal4

xvw says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 4:43am

A verry polished and beautyfull game ! Thanks a lot !

Patomkin says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 11:00am

A good game, reminds me of Risk of Rain. Most of the enemies should be skipped, though, otherwise it is quite easy to get overwhelmed while fighting.

Tanton-H2X says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 2:55pm

have seen this game so many times in homepage
finally have chance to play it today. Really wonderful game!
very difficult!~~
the Dodge made me running very frequently~
love the artstyle and the mainmenu so much!
hope it more great!well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]