Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

A cup of tea with my Aunti MICROPHONE REQUIRED

by Team Klappermann - Jam Entry

MICROPHONE REQUIRED

I would be happy if you leave a comment with your 5 cents!

Another crazy game for you guys!

After playing imagine how developing this thing was.
Weirdest developing process ever xD

This time no original Art and Sound Assets.

But:
Procedural Levels
Reactive grass
Crazy stupid gameplay
+-3 Minutes of fun
Hell I am tired

Edit: Fixed a bug in the level generator (some parts would never appear)
Edit2: Added a helper to unstuck you if you did not move for a while

How the levels are generated:
https://youtu.be/XSnwxLNRjdo

Credits:
Jannes Nagel @JannesNagel everything (except Sprites&Sounds&Mdl)

Brainstorming help:
Tina Hirt & Achim Wache

Tools:
Paint.Net
Unity3d
Visual Studio

MICROPHONE REQUIRED

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Innovation(Jam)4.28
#159Mood(Jam)3.68
#174Overall(Jam)3.67
#204Humor(Jam)3.47
#217Fun(Jam)3.50
#393Theme(Jam)3.62

Comments

folex70 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:39pm

please fix the link, a get access deny , or disponibilize via dropbox/googledriver ;)

Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Added dropbox link!

Electron says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Still link not working

Linkigi says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Both links work for me. I think I confused my dog win all the growling =P The game looks and feels great as far as atmosphere goes and the 'being the monster' helps with that too. If there was a bit more variety with what you could do as the monster the game could be even better. But yeah, very innovative, good game ^^

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Good game

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Not played to the end, so sorry :s
but a really nice conept and loved the particles effects.

crucknuk says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Original idea. I was playing in a room full of friend and they looked at me like I was dumb xD

jofra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:03pm

hi again :)
i only not played to the end because i dont have a microhpone and the one in my laaptop is kind of wanky so the controls for me where a bit off.
but like i said before loved the all conecpt

echokain says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Haha brilliant idea. Had fun playing that game :)

Looks great too.

cirpig29 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:43pm

What a great game! I wish I could have played it properly, but instead I had to set the threshold low and blow into the microphone instead of shouting. Still, a fun experience and a novel idea. I wouldn't be surprised if this ends up high in the end results.

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:07am

Nice concept and it was funny hearing my voice like that!

folex70 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:16am

very impressive. Congratulations for this work! 5/5

AntonyBaasan says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:35am

Best nature art so far

Lancelot Gao says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:51am

Like game mood!

saucygames says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:02am

Awesome game, well done.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Effects made this very pleasing :)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Chrome does work (for now), if you right click it's complaint and click 'run this plugin' :)

With regards to the game, I loved it. Good thing my family are out of the house, because I really went all out. I like to think I was actually not the Mimic, but like his coach, so I would shout really loud encouragements!

Quite niche, but I really liked it.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:26pm

I think the real way you should explain the control scheme is "play your laptop like bongo drums". Graphics were pretty cool, but it was getting tedious playing after a while.

I eventually got stuck in a chasm with no way to get out, some time after the charge section.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Beautiful art and an innovative concept. I got stuck at the end of the tunnel trying to get past the bright white rock; big jumps and small jumps couldn't get me past it. :(

Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Outrageously pretty graphics and a very original concept! You did an awesome job, thanks for making this game :)

Xanjos says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Absolutely loved the idea of using your voice to control your character plus I loved the assets you found for the game (fits the theme very well).

Jod says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Wow. I was very impressed, this is the kind of experimental thing that I love to see in LD! Keep on going!

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:07pm

shit that was really fun, I always dreamed about making a game using a micro input :D

Sparrow says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:20pm

A little gem, you can be proud of yourself. Too bad the others decided not to enter.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:28pm

My family thinks I'm crazy with the noises coming out of my office. I had fun just playing around with my "monster" voice. Most unique/original experience so far.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:54am

Really cool idea. Reminds me of Gnilley (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QYPwYfbi8jA). I ended up gettings suck in the first deep pit and couldn't get out. As much as I try to complete all the games rate in Ludum Dare, I was light-head from screaming and had to stop. I'll try to come back later after a lie down. Other than that, the game is beautiful; and while you didn't make the art assets, the randomly generated terrain on the level is really well done.

Waterman7 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 2:42pm

That was fun. :)
Sadly, I couldn't make it to the end (supposing there is one), because I got stuck in front of a wall at some point.
Great mood though, good job!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I don't think I've ever felt more like a monstrous box in my life. And I'm pretty sure my neighbours think I'm a monster now, so good job!

bigbuggames says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 10:43pm

That's a really innovative idea! I'm eager to see more cool ideas from you!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 11:28pm

dsauhdusahsda I finished it! Awesome graphics and crazy gameplay, It was funny!
Good entry =)

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:15am

That was a thoroughly entertaining experience! I will show many of my friends this game. I was delighted when I discovered the mechanic. Very innovative. I looooved this!

Aug 28, 2015 @ 1:18am

There's nothing quite like powering something that looks like the Monster book had a deranged stepchild with a chest with your laughter.

Great mechanic.

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 7:11am

Wow! It's must be most original game in jam for sure! Great job with the voice recon

Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:01am

Pretty neat! I have no idea if I was controlling it correctly, but I was certainly making a lot of noise. I got stuck on the big hill climb and couldn't figure out how to jump high or fast enough.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Nice Game.

TheZiggy says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very innovative idea. Really hope my mic isn't broken. Lol, good job!

Tanton-H2X says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 7:14am

woooo! the most impressive game in these days~~
I found that you have hiden our hero in these Show cover~ ≥▽≤ hahhaha!~~~ that really amazing me so much when i come in to the game's scene ~~~ XD~~
there are some delicate emotion were held in the sharp and Highly stylized Art-style~ I love the subtle flow of it~~
wonderful modle and design and effect(boom-effect really cool!!)~~ Fighting with these obstacle really gave so many dramatic tension to this game!
ending is great and warm~~ Not strange at first! although they are look not like a human~~ i am not sure is it your intention~~ but i like it so much !
if there are a jump back to mianmenu it must be more good~~(maybe add something like credits at there?)
all in all ,super Cool Game~~ i will take my nephew to play it again this afternoon~~
wish good luck and build more cool games in future~~☆゚

superfreak says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Flatmates came to check that I was ok after they heard screaming. Laughed so hard I almost exploded. 10/10 best control scheme for #LD33. goddam.

cowboycolor says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:18pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Saltesar's stream was great, this was great, I can't stop laughing well done 5/5

Druid says ...
Sep 3, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Well.... All 5 for this! And thanks to you, my neighbours hate me now... (is 23:18 here now :D)

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 8:04pm

What a cool and innovative controlling system. Congrats, this is a very cool entry!

peterthehe says ...
Sep 7, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Interesting Mechanic. Really cool.

HotBoxGames says ...
Sep 10, 2015 @ 12:27am

Haha that was great, had me shouting at my screens for a good 10 minutes, its 1:20am here ^_^ Especially when you had to scream loooooong and then short and loud... I hope you don't save these sounds :p So yeah, interesting mechanic, certainly was amusing and got to have a nice cuppa at the end which is always nice!

OadT says ...
Sep 11, 2015 @ 10:15am

Cool idea! The game was a bit too dark, but I think this is because of my display :D Anyway great entry!

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 10:27am

Pretty cool and I'm always a fan of unique control methods. Good work :)

Oct 13, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Really interesting game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Ee0UBhVOJOc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]