Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Collateral Choice

by avultima - Compo Entry

Play as a simple robot tasked with the job of destroying drones in a nearby space station. You always have a choice though! Easily stroll through the game by killing the drones, or complete the puzzles as they were intended and leave the station with clean hands. Who is the true monster here? Play how you want!

Created completely by Alex Shepard for LD33

This is my second time creating for LD, but first time for the compo. 48 hours is no joke!

For those that must see the puzzle solutions. Check the "Puzzle Walkthrough" Link below.

Controls:
WASD - Move
SPACE - Jump
R - reset to checkpoint
N - Skip to next checkpoint
B - Return to last checkpoint

=== Known Bugs ===
FIXED: Teleporter will sometimes fall through the trap door in room 5.
FIXED: Objects will get stuck in between closing trap doors.
=== Q&A ========
Q: How do the teleporters work?
A: A teleporter must be horizontal to one another to work.
=== Fixes =======
Significantly improved collisions. Blocks/Teleporters and enemies should be completely stable now. - 8/25/15 11:00PM
Added a check before trap doors close. Objects will not get stuck. - 8/26/15 1:00AM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#423Innovation3.06
#536Fun2.92
#723Overall2.83
#807Theme2.69

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:12am

Interesting ideas, but the puzzle elements are not sufficiently explained. I stopped playing after I got stuck in the moving trap door around the 4th screen.

VampyVampire says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:26am

I encountered some bugs pretty early on which hindered me from playing (teleporting blocks) but interesting idea.

Artefale says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:41am

im stack, in 3 room, it's funny

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:40am

Great job! It was entertaining being presented with all these seemingly random behaviors and decipher the solutions to everything. As I slowly gathered how everything behaved I was impressed at how well you designed each puzzle. Great job!

Dizzyman572 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:03am

Pretty interesting game. I think the puzzle mechanics were pretty good and took a bit of thought to complete.

bodsey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:49am

No way to play on Mac :/

Modoc73 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 8:56am

I liked the teleporting mechanic. But I had to watch the walk through to figure it out. well done!

Chronodrax says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:33pm

After ~10 tries in the room with 1 laser, finally made it without killing :) Too bad you have to take bugs into account when making your moves (especially the teleporter block falling through the trap when thrown too slow or too fast)
With better collisions and more polish this could be a nice puzzle platformer :)

rogual says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 12:48pm

I got to the part with the trapdoor that you can cause the drone or the pointy block thing to fall into.

It kept glitching out and would let the block fall straight through the closed trapdoor, which got too frustrating in the end.

I wasn't entirely sure what to do in that room, anyway. I couldn't seem to get the blocks to work as teleporters.

I couldn't quite figure out the role of the drones either. Was the YES/NO room trying to tell me something?

I think this game could be good with a bit of polish, but as it stands it was too glitchy and confusing for me.

mrjorts says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:09am

Clever puzzle idea, but a lot of things weren't clear without watching the video, like how the teleporters work.

avultima says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:39am

DEV HERE:

Yeah, that bug on room 5 is odd. I am sure it has to do with falling speed. The game definitely needs more rooms to acclimate the player to all the puzzles. As you can probably tell, the "narative" or "black letters on screen" was the last thing I did.

I expect to update this! Thanks for all the feedback! Keep it coming! ;)

Kalkatos says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:11am

Need more hints on teleporters, I think. I couldn't figure it out by myself. Watching the walkthrough it all made sense...

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:27am

Interesting puzzle design. Definitely needs more explanation. I like how you left the choice to just kill the drones.

gnuwilliam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

That was fun

bwafflecone says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Interesting puzzles! I think some more in-game explanation of what the objects did would have helped.

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:11am

Interesting puzzles! I didn't get all of it until I watched the video though xp (how buttons work or when drones "attacked")
I guess I'm biased by my own game, but I think there could be consequences to which path you choose, killing drones or doing the puzzles... But still great job!

avultima says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:21pm

DEV HERE:

Thanks for playing and rating everyone! It means a lot!

I fixed the collision bugs, so the game should run stable now. Please comment if you run into any problems.

nihilaleph says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Sorry to bother you (still wishing for PM), but I tried to fix the shader bug and physics simulation slo-mo in my game! Would you like to try it again?

reheated says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Clever puzzle mechanic - I like the way it means we can set our own difficulty!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]