Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Vale of Embers

by quadtree - Compo Entry

Note: The HTML5 version is somewhat experimental. I recommend the Windows version if possible. If you do use the HTML5 version I recommend using Firefox 64 bit for best performance.

Vale of Embers is a game where you play as outdoor raid boss Lord Flamenar. You must destroy as many raiders as possible before they claim your loot!

Controls:
LMB - Move
RMB - Cone of Flames
1 - Drain Soul
2 - Meteor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#330Theme3.60
#412Graphics3.19
#435Innovation3.05
#457Humor2.71
#550Mood2.89
#568Audio2.47
#572Overall3.00
#648Fun2.75
#1713Coolness37%

Comments

shawn42 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Looks and plays nice. It was really hard for me! Lots of content and a cool play mechanic. Nice job in 48 hours.

madameberry says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:01pm

If you're going to have the keyboard do something, put movement on the keyboard (wasd or arrow keys). moving with mouse is frustrating.

Phoenix Smith says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:48pm

This game is a lot of fun. I really like the idea of playing an MMO raid boss. The controls are a little frustrating though, it's sometimes hard to tell if you can move to a spot or not.

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Cool compo entry !

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 29, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Not too bad, I thought the movement was frustrating with the mouse.

peecestudios says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 12:39am

didn't seem to finish loading. I ran it on firefox. i have a win8.1 64x lenovo

Aug 30, 2015 @ 1:33am

Liked the environment, and it was fun shooting meteors
Glow was cool

cirpig29 says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:44am

I really like the concept, but the GUI was confusing. I didn't really understand how much mana and life I had or how much damage the attacks do. Still, with some improvements, this could be great game. Well done!

Sep 6, 2015 @ 5:20am

Not sure if the meteors were working in the web version, hard to tell...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]