Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Memory of Psychopath

by gv1351 - Jam Entry

Is there a monster in us? Is there someone who can fix your mental health? Dr. Ann a psychiatrist that found a guy that killed his parents. She puts him under hypnosis and found a shocking discovery. Everything plays of in his memories so it is not real world physics. Join in on the fun in this psychological horror platformer. Find out who is really the monster?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#119Audio(Jam)3.71
#441Mood(Jam)3.25
#656Theme(Jam)3.28
#870Overall(Jam)2.81
#906Humor(Jam)1.92
#947Innovation(Jam)2.37
#962Graphics(Jam)2.27
#1068Fun(Jam)2.11

Comments

A_K_ says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:23am

PLease OS X/web version :(

DruhinM says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:27am

Web version would help

valid4life says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:33am

I love the background which moves with mouse
Also enjoyed the tutorial and intro with voice acting

Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:38am

The voiceover is nice and pretty high quality, but the overall platforming controls are pretty terrible. I got as far as the red spikes level (if you die there you restart at the checkpoint at the last level, which is annoying).

I think the game is interesting, but the controls kept me from wanting to finish it. Good mood and music though.

gv1351 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:46am

A web version will be available soon. There are checkpoints in the game. And the controls are physics based. But thanx a lot for the comments.

philomory says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:16am

The standout here is the excellent audio. It's a rare LD entry that has voice acting, that's for sure. I also really liked the background effect.

Unfortunately, the gameplay was somewhat marred by somewhat 'floaty' controls and really unforgiving collision detection on the spikes. Also, the fact that the audio restarts when you die is a big no-no in my opinion. At some parts of the last level, I would hear the same two seconds of audio ten, twenty times in a row.

That said, I did like it enough to stick through it. I can't emphasize enough how much I liked the audio in particular.

ViliX64 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:39am

Linux or web version? :/

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:40am

I Wanna Be The Guy, psychiatric ward edition.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:51am

The voiceovers were so good!
As for the platformer parts - they're solid. I'm generally not good at them so I wouldn't blame the controls ^^

While the graphics were readable I strongly felt that the game deserved better graphics.

Good job!

Selzier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:54am

If only Robert would have joined the NBA!

Vycerys says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:58am

I really like the idea, and the theme was set up nicely. It has an interesting concept and an interesting way of addressing the monster theme.

AzureAspect says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:15am

Had to try to finish game to see if there was some "glory" after the last level.
Either the last room was bugging for me or the ending was kind of uninteresting.

Nice idea for a game though!

ArchonMode says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:42am

It started out brilliant: badass voice acting, fitting soundtrack... but it quickly becomes frustrating because of unresponsive controls, huge (HUGE) hitboxes on spikes on the walls, etc.

ChaosCult says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:51am

Interesting idea. The platformer physics feel bad though - I understand that you were going for that floaty out-of-this-world feeling, but it's still too frustrating.
The voice acting starts intriguing when the tutorial segues into some dark things... but the effect is spoiled when the same 4 phrases begin repeating over and over. Still, the voice and sound is the best part of this game. A little more work and it could create wonderful horror atmosphere.

MiniBobbo says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 1:48pm

I enjoyed this until the spikes. I played the last level dozens of times and couldn't make the jump over the second set of huge spikes after the second checkpoint.

Great audio and the mood was wonderful. The way the music and background changed when the story changed was a great touch. I would have liked to see how it ended.

Rongefilet says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:55pm

The floaty controls and the harsh difficulty curve make it very difficult to progress.

jrhee says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Interesting take on the theme! Really liked the voice acting, feel like the art and mechanics could've done more to support the game overall.

TaleEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 4:43pm

"No, Robert, pleas- No, Robert, plea- No, Rob-"

Having dialog repeat every time a level is loaded on such a difficult game can get quite annoying after a while.

The controls were a bit floaty, although I got used to that. My biggest complaint is that I am quite certain the hitbox for the spikes is a larger than the spikes themselves, or are possibly actual boxes instead of spike-shaped.

gv1351 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:19pm

I am working on the sound that gets spawned every time a checkpoint reloads. A web edition has been added. And I am working on the spikes.

Infininete says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:45pm

gah even though I beat the level it brings me back to the last checkpoint on that level. Intentional? the changing gravity each level is not a feature I like that much. The hitboxes on the spikes need some work as well. The audio replaying every time I die is also not good.

The graphics, audio and storytelling are very memorable though. I can't get through the second set of spikes after the second checkpoint though.

Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:00pm

The obvious plus side here is the great audio-- suitably traumatic, and it's rare you find an LD with good voice acting.

The obvious negative here is that the game is stupid hard once the spikes come in-- I think you have Robert set to die on collision with the rectangle that contains the spike rather than the spike itself. The dream physics are interesting, and I liked how the spike room felt weightier than everything else, especially in tandem with the way you jump on them to "kill your parents." If you focused on syncing Robert's emotions with the physics this could be a very, very cool game.

KodingNights says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Web version does not load for me. Windows 7/Chrome.

theBobcatte says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:07pm

the spikes were incredibly difficult, I couldn't finish that section. Other than that, it is very moody and the voiceover adds a lot

gv1351 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Hallo KodingNights Chrome doesn't support any "online game feature" try using mozilla firefox or internet explorer. If you are on windows 10 edge also works great.

Serch says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Web version does not load anything...

vividhelix says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:31am

Can't rate - I only get a black (dark grey)screen both on this page and the web version page.

gv1351 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 5:16am

Hello people for one weird reason my web version of this game doesn't have sound. I am working on it ASAP.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:31am

Nice interpretation of theme in dis game! Gj!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:06pm

I also was not able to finish the game. Which is sad. but those last parts are waaaaayyy too hard. One rule of thumb is: "If the difficulty is just right for you it is probably way to hard"

Apart from that solid gameplay, hq voice overs. I would have liked to finish it - but after 40 trials for the long jump then making it and then another 50 on the next one I simply had to give up xD

Keep up the good work and I think it might be okay if you make those hard parts a bit easier so people can actually finish your game. Because apart from that I think it is really good!

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:39pm

The thing i like about this game is the audio, the controls were very frustrating if you ask me. I have died a lot of times for hitting invisible colliders :I Good job though. It was a solid game.

DarkwindMedia says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Dark as heck! Good mood, voice overs were really odd I think. I didn't so much feel like I was a monster but someone who needed rehabilitation.

Aug 26, 2015 @ 6:08pm

I really like how you worked out the theme!

wicht says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Interesting mood you set there. Couldn't get past the level with the spikes though.

parsia says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 7:34pm

nice idea. well done.

NoWandStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 11:11am

Great mood! I love narrator's voice

mubox says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 10:18pm

I liked the using of audio, graphics and theme. Sometimes some blocks get invisible and the controls could be better.

Louspirit says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Good athmosphere with actor voices. But I expiremented glitches and I couldn't finish the final stage. Spike hitbox is really frustrating.

Finn says ...
Sep 8, 2015 @ 8:12pm

This is pretty dire. Gravity and terminal velocity are not high enough, the jump button flat out refuses to work sometimes, collision detection with the spikes is appalling, there should be checkpoints when you enter the next room, the mother and father sprites don't even flip when they change directions, and to be honest, I'm not even that impressed with the background effect, since that's just parallax scrolling.

crucknuk says ...
Sep 9, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Nice entry and voice acting! However, it is really hard because the spike colliders do not fit the spike rendered... Anyway, good job ;)

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 9:23am

Bit finnicky but I think you put in a great effort, so well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]