Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Is It In You?

by imdigitaljim - Compo Entry

Can you find them all in under 3 minutes?! Try not to get shot!

ENTER: Begin
ESCAPE: Quit
WASD: Move
SHIFT: Run
MOUSE: Look
LCLICK: Use Item

- Made using Unity5
- All assets are primitive, opensource, or autogenerated (i.e. music)

WEB version users - FIREFOX recommended due to UnityPlugin support.

----Note
Roof
Construction Yard
Water Tower
Cat Walk
Billboard
Wanderers

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#266Fun3.32
#455Theme3.42
#470Graphics3.09
#493Humor2.65
#532Audio2.57
#558Overall3.03
#665Mood2.67
#870Innovation2.12

Comments

namrog84 says ...
Aug 23, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Great game! I finished it! I found them all

Andrey says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:48am

Wilhelm scream!

Cynapse says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 3:59am

The shooting was a little awkward since the gun's rotation was based not on viewing direction, but I liked it nonetheless :)

markoburzan27 says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:00am

awesome I found them all.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:03am

IT's hard to tell your aim since the gun fire aboves the camera and there's no targeting ret. Additionally since you move so fast the officers don't really pose a threat - you and just keep running and shooting to win.

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:04am

I found them all except 4. I couldn't figure out how to get inside the big building with the stars. I suspect that are hiding up there...

cerity says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:06am

The tiny flowers were a nice touch =3

Resonious says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:00am

The city looks great. Controls are totally smooth. Cop shooting at me freaked me out at first.

Wevel says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Nice idea, bit similar to mine, the people who shoot at you should pose a threat.

Jelinib says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:48am

I feel like I'm shooting bullets from my forehead, haha. I like all the detail you've put throughout the city. Hide-and-seek, but with a murderous twist! :)

Benier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 2:54am

I too love the Wilhelm scream. The visuals were interesting, though it did take me a little bit to figure out which objects were citizens.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:25am

Wilhelm scream is funny, though I'm not sure we're allowed that in the compo unless you recorded it yourself (in which case, great imitation!). :P

Nice use of a simplistic art style for a big city scene. I found everyone! I also really appreciated that I could keep looking after the timer ran out. I was afraid I would have to completely restart.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Really cool level design with a lot of details. I did like exploring, but did rather poorly on finding the people (I still had 14 left when the timer hit zero). I ended up spending too much time trying to get the guy in the jungle-gym-like house in the corner. I would have played longer, but for some reason I got incredible amount of motion sickness from the game.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Kill kill kill. Yes! I am a monster. This is a little but enjoyable FPS. I noticed some bugs with the camera. Nice minimalist aesthetic. As usual, someone here used the Wilhelm scream :)
Thank you ++

Grouflon says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Nice wilhelm scream simulator !

Dizzyman572 says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:39am

Hey, just so you know I tried to give you a trophy! It's nothing fancy, just an image I wanted to share thanking for the comment you made. Send me a message on twitter so that I can send it to you! Also, really awesome game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]