Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

1-800-Monsters

by ponywolf - Jam Entry

Dial up 1-800-Monsters and begin your quest as the hapless Jimmy, ex-pyrotechnician, now birthday party entertainer extraordinaire. Destroy castles, steal the presents and avoid children on your way to victory.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#56Graphics(Jam)4.45
#97Overall(Jam)3.85
#100Humor(Jam)3.76
#130Fun(Jam)3.65
#142Audio(Jam)3.66
#162Innovation(Jam)3.53
#184Mood(Jam)3.60
#270Theme(Jam)3.77

Comments

ponywolf says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Hotkeys:
R - Restarts level
M - Turns music on/off
Esc - Opens menu

Note:
All graphics/sound/music created by the team for the Jam in under 72 hours

Known Issues:
Text is a little blurry on Windows
Joystick support is a flakey at best

Tools:
Lua (lua.org)
Corona (coronalabs.com/) - SDK
Tiled (mapeditor.org/) - Level building
BFXR (bfxr.net/) - Sound Effects
Figure (propellerheads.se/figure) - Music

SeaMonster131 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 12:00am

Interesting idea and nice graphics. Good work.

Selzier says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:16am

Top notch entry here guys!! Really fun game I made it all the way to the end and ready for more :D

Literal Games says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Great entry! The idea and the graphics were fantastic! It was quite hard to push blocks sometimes, so maybe look into a nicer way of doing that?

TaleEngineer says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:01pm

VERY well done game!

Fantastic visuals, nice level design, interesting mechanics.

My only complaint is that there wasn't more of it.

Best game out of the jam I've seen so far. Good job!

mzmiric5 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Music and the very nice graphics go together quite well, the mood is fun, and I always enjoy Sokoban style game. The game crashed for me when I didn't solve the level and a the lose condition should have been triggered.

Lucho9 says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 10:42pm

the visual graphics were very good, nice work. i like the fact it s a boy disguised as a monster and exploits all

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 2:22am

nicely done, the visual style is great.

thegdr says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 4:34am

made it to end! Nice!

Aug 26, 2015 @ 11:09am

Great interpretation of the theme. Loved the visuals. The controls need to be tighter, maybe consider snapping the movable pieces to a grid to allow for easier/predictable sliding/placement .

monetai says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Awesome art and gameplay!!

Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Fantastic idea with wonderful visuals. I found that pushing objects around was a little clumsy and they would get stuck on scenery or not quite fit in gaps, but you made the game forgiving enough to compensate for that. Overall, a really great entry!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Hahahaha the game idea is great!
A little tricky some times to place the pieces, but smooth and enjoyyable gameplay!
Love the visual style! Well done!

plusultra says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 6:20pm

nice job! lots of levels and great art.

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2015 @ 9:02pm

The art style is very cute and some of the puzzles are good.

Why does the game send me to the first level again? This is super disappointing. Just quit the game, show some text, anything!
Still a very good entry.

Ninja Garage says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 5:26am

Great, beautiful, funny game!

RougeRogue says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Really liked the mechanics. Kids were very annoying as they would be to Jimmy.

bossmojoman says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 4:58am

Very polished, fun puzzle game. The Graphics are and sound re top notch. One of the best of the competition hands down. Awesome Job guys!

OnionBlaze says ...
Aug 30, 2015 @ 10:08am

The art looks cute. I wish there was a way to pull blocks sometimes. Funny entry, good job. :)

Wekid says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Awesome game, loved the style. Managed to get blocks stuck a lot haha

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 1, 2015 @ 8:50pm

I love the art of the graphics. Animation of monster are very cool. Without the time the puzzling would be more relaxing. :-) Very good entry!

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 2, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Love your illustration style. And it's a fun little puzzler

Sep 3, 2015 @ 1:58pm

One of the best looking games I've seen so far, loved the whole design and colours. Favourite touch though was that when things exploded you got to see you were actually just a kid in a costume.

spotco says ...
Sep 5, 2015 @ 1:16am

Very nice graphics and polish, gameplay could have used some more mechanics (got repetitive after a while)

randomhuman says ...
Sep 14, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Love it! Great learning curve, very addictive, and cute graphics. The only thing I think it needs is for the blocks to pop around obstacles if they are just one or two pixels off. Or maybe I should just not suck so much :P

Sep 14, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Pretty darn fun! The ability to pull blocks and tweaking the hit detection to not be so pixel perfect would make this even better; I found myself restarting a lot because I pushed a block too close to an obstacle. Love the monster costume design

Oct 18, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Super cute, funny game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 33 Compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/VOSoNttI06o

Dec 1, 2015 @ 4:27am

I also included your game in an article of my favorites from this jam and added a trophy to your Ludum Dare profile!! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-33-part-2-jbncejqm

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]