Ludum Dare 33 — August 21st-24th, 2015 — Theme: You are the Monster

Back to Browse Entries

Well I'm Not A Monster

by RhythmLynx - Compo Entry

===== Description =====
4-player local multiplayer game of secrets and lies. Pretend not to be trying to kill your friends.
(inspired by board games such as The Resistance: Avalon and One Night Ultimate Werewolf)

Rules and tips for how to play are on the itch.io page with the game.

===== Changelog =====
24/08/2015 15:00 - Fixed the problems with player and monster kills not correctly rewarding points at the end of a round.
26/08/2015 01:00 - Upgraded to Unity 5 to change from Unity Web Player to Unity WebGL (HTML5). Also fixed the wording on the end score screen to say 'Humans' instead of 'Players' in several places.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#108Innovation3.67
#358Theme3.55
#436Fun3.07
#453Overall3.14
#500Humor2.63
#563Mood2.85
#776Graphics2.44

Comments

Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:29am

Amazing sound!

KingGames says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Couldn't run on Edge or Chrome (Expected chrome since it ony runs flash)

Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Interesting concept.

NikinCZ says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Can't try, don't have 3 friends home to play with.

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 4:53pm

@KingGames thanks for letting me know. Apparently browsers are dropping support for plugins, meaning Unity Web Player is being phased out (to be replaced with WebGL). It works on Chrome for me though, I've got Windows 7 but I don't know if that matters

lanestp says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 5:02pm

I wish I had 4 people to play with. But single player multitasking was actually kinda fun. I think in a group it's a really nice idea. Pretty dead on to the theme as well.

Jod says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Loved the concept, although I'm afraid getting ratings for multiplayer game will always be hard in Ludum Dare. :(

scriptorum says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Good concept.

Zammalad says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Not a bad effort. Couldn't get it running in Chrome but I think that was expected. Would have been nice to have a single player mode.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Cool idea, nice work!

Gamepopper says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Neat idea, but I would really recommend gamepad support!

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 24, 2015 @ 10:48pm

@Gamepopper There already is gamepad support (up to 4 Xbox 360 controllers, it's the recommended way to play). If the controller isn't already plugged in when the game starts it usually won't find it though.

Thanks for feedback so far everyone!

colinn says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 5:56pm

If only I had friends. Nice though

raducumiczzz says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:03pm

i played it with 2 friends. Really fun to play with more people. You should continue with this concept. Should be a great party game. Congrats

BSODDevTeam says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Nice game.

gingerBill says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 6:52pm

I could not get this to run on Chrome nor Firefox (Window 8.1 x64).

Aglavra says ...
Aug 25, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Really liked the concept, but don't have enough people to play with. I think this cab grow to a nice party game.

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 26, 2015 @ 12:16am

Ok, I've updated to Unity 5 so I could do a WebGL build. Seems to all be working but I've not been able to test more than 1 Xbox 360 controller with the HTML5 version, in theory it should work with up to 4 as it did before. Hopefully it'll all run fine in Chrome now :)

Vereos says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Dynamics are simple but clever. I really liked it, so bad I can't play it with my friends now. :( I'm going to bookmark it ;)

boardtobits says ...
Aug 28, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Interesting multiplayer concept. Tough to keep information hidden on a shared screen.

cjke.7777 says ...
Aug 31, 2015 @ 3:54pm

What an interesting concept. Sound didn't work for me, but good on you for using unity webgl.

I think this has the potential to be extend into something bigger. Like a party game or similar.

PoV says ...
Feb 10, 2017 @ 12:55am

Wow, what a neat concept.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]